We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Burslem)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hanley)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
38
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomat homethe ownerfamily weddingstayed hereone nighthost grahammakes you feelbiddulph grange gardensfull english breakfastenjoyed our stayno tea making facilitiesdouble bedbaconfirst ratesense of humourhis wife
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night at Garden Cottage after finding reviews on Trip Advisor. We were greeted by Graham the host who is absolutely wonderful. The B&B is his home and he welcomes you as if you are family come for a visit. There was only 2 of us but he put us in the family room which we could highly recommend especially if you are travelling with kids.

Breakfast is a relaxed affair with Graham cooking everything to order (eggs from his daughters chickens - can't get fresher than that) and no time restrictions as mentioned in previous reviews.

If you are keen walkers/cyclist the situation is brilliant for getting about. We had our bikes and Graham pointed us in the right direction to get spectacular views right over to Liverpool and Manchester.

We stayed over as we were meeting friends in the town and found that it was approx 15-20 min steady stroll into the centre. We did pop into the Biddulph Arms which is 1 minute walk from the B&B and had a drink. Really lovely pub and the food that was coming from the kitchen looked great. Would definitely consider eating there.

Graham had not heard of Trip Advisor so we suggested that he take a look to see the lovely reviews that guests have been writing about him and his lovely B&B.

We only live 45 mins away from Biddulph but would not think twice about staying at Garden Cottage. Graham made our stay very enjoyable and hope to see him again in the future. Sharon & Bob

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shabob20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Visiting in Stoke for just one night and stayed at this beautiful B & B in Biddulph with the most interesting, charming and accommodating host that anyone could wish to meet. The welcome was so warm and friendly you would have thought we were old friends or at least returning regular visitors. He has a great sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble. He even phoned the local pub (which is only a few steps away) for a table reservation. This is Grahams home that he opens up to visitors and he took us on a tour of the property pointing out all the facilities. This B & B is like home from home. It is clean, tidy, well kept inside and out. Lovely traditional rooms that would please anyone. There is an adorable pond and water feature running under a little bridge in the garden, with rose covered arches and I'm sure on a sunny day would be a delight to sit in. We unfortunately chose weather not so good but it did not detract from the wonderful setting. We had traditional English breakfast that was locally sourced (no supermarket fodder here!) that set us up for our onward journey. It was a shame we had only stayed for one night, we would have been happy staying for many and sincerely hope to return again. Thanks Graham, you are a very memorable man. Remember us when you come south. Richard and Barbara xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for four nights, visiting the area for a family wedding.
We were a little worried as we usually opt for an 'accessable room' at a hotel (my husband is disabled and has severely restricted mobility).However, we hadn't even considered that a 'home from home' such as Garden Cottage could,or indeed would, exist,- how wrong can you be ?
Better than all the short stay accomodation previously visited, a comfortable, clean and well equipped home, with a host, Graham, who solved problems at a stroke, and willingly took on helping my husband get around with charm and and a smile, as well as cooking the best breakfast ever!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regisangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here 1 night for a family wedding reception and had the best b&b/hotel experience ever! Lovely rooms, really clean and a lovely house. Graham the proprietor Is very welcoming and made one of the best breakfasts I've had in ages. Well recommended and will use again! Thanks Graham!..Phil & Liane-Bury lancs

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evh515o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've stayed in many B&B's in the UK (probably hundreds), and many have been very welcoming and agreeable. But I've never had the level of welcome, comfort, or helpfulness that I experienced when I visited Graham at the Garden Cottage. The house, garden and general facilities were very nice. The en suite room was very spacious and well appointed, including a modern shower and spacious soaking tub. But I've experienced things like that in other high standard B&B's. What was unique and made me feel i was at a friend's house rather than a B&B, was how friendly and accommodating Graham was.

For example, the owner at every other B&B I've been in will ask you upon arrival, when you would like breakfast, and then quickly quickly add the hours breakfast is served (ie - between 7:30 and 9). Graham just asks when you would like it. 5:30 am? No problem. 11am? OK. Just mention that you need something or have some sort of a problem you need to attend to, and he will be offering to help. And he means it. And it's all done with humor and modesty. I didn't mention price, which was so low that I was concerned about it before I arrived. But when i left, I felt a little guilty about getting so much for so little. I will visit Graham again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews