We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel following a last minute change of business plans. It was easy to find from the main roads and check it was easy in a large bright and airy reception area.

I was in room 225 which was lovely other than my open window meaning cigarette smoke from those smoking outside reception drifted up and in my window.

I decided to eat in the bar and I want disappointed, it had a modern yet laid back environment and staff that took the time to talk to their customers. Special mention to Rachel who was very welcoming and great entertainment when attempting to make a fresh coffee (and apparently when dealing with baked potatoes hence her sliced finger!!)

I slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the upstairs restaurant area.

All in all it's hard to fault this hotel, I'd ask the management to give my feedback to the relevant staff and I'm sure I'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddyinnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Noddyinnapa

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a relaxing visit and it's nice to read your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. I hope the coffee you refer to was as well received as the entertainment - I'm sure it was.

Guest feedback from whatever source is constantly reviewed, and I can assure you that your comments - as with all feedback - will be shared across the hotel.

I hope we can welcome you again, and that your next visit will be as good as the first.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    144
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
104
200
8
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are always looking for somewhere to stay in the Alsager area (to visit a growing family). Had never stayed overnight in this hotel although driven by it many a time and poked our heads around the door on more than one occasion. We finally stayed for three nights at the end of April and were delighted to see that recent refurbishment had really improved the look of the public areas. Our room was fine and very quiet (although not much of a view). The en-suite bathroom had clearly been refurbished and looked like a page out of an expensive magazine. The only downside was the small size of the sink. We can recommend room service - a varied menu and delivered at the time we requested. We went to the bar the following evening: we were advised there would be a little delay (which we accepted) but the food when it came was delicious. Breakfast was to die for. Don't need to say any more. We will probably be going back again in June and would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: This hotel accepts Tesco tokens and we had no trouble in getting the dates we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyJohn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear ShirleyJohnG

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay whilst visiting family in the area.

It sounds like you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and I am delighted that you like the results of this year's renovation to the hotel's public areas.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in June.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Nice looking hotel, however was let down by some of the service during my visit - particularly dinner in the Ostler, to the extent of a colleague asking if Basil was around tonight, met by a blank look from the waitress, although she was young. A poor experience from start to finish. Room was ok, bathroom decor was very good, downside was single glazed windows, adjacent to the main road, quite noisy. Dinner in the Stables bar on the last night just about redeemed the stay. As a frequent customer of this chain I expected better.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ColonelSande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Colonelsande

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am disappointed that the evening dinner service failed to meet the high standards normally associated with the restaurant. Unfortunately I cannot give a fuller response as you do not indicate where/how the shortfall in service occurred.

Our "roadside" rooms are set back, however the hotel's countryside location does mean it is more noticeable when cars pass - I am sorry that this impacted on your stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed the Stables Bar and found your room comfortable, and should we have the opportunity to welcome you again we always try to honour any request for a room located elsewhere in the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location and hotel. Ideal for those on business in the Stoke/Manchester area. Food and Bar fantastic as is the breakfast! A great sleep and good facilities throughout the hotel. Fantastic golf course opposite the hotel. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Lee S

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

Our countryside location near Stoke-on-Trent - and within an hour's drive of both Manchester and Birmingham - does make us popular with business travellers.

I am delighted your stay was so comfortable and thank you for recommending us.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very nice hotel, good food as well, the whole place has clearly recently been completely refurbished, very tasteful, a very quaint character hotel. Would strongly recommend for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jonathan F

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay on business at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I' m pleased you like the results of this year's renovation and delighted that your stay was a relaxing and comfortable one.

Thank you too for recommending us.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have visited this hotel on several occasions and also stayed here.. We have had many lunches and also had a 70th birthday party weekend organised with precision and flair by Jayne Chapman, the excellent manager.

Recent renovations to the lobby area has given this hotel a bright modern appearance.

The food was excellent and you are unlikely to be disappointed.

This is a well run hotel and a great stopping off point in the Alsager area.

Room Tip: Check if refurbished room are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMarie186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear JohnandMarie186

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

On behalf of the Team that looked after you during your birthday weekend, I am delighted the weekend went well.

It's nice to know you've enjoyed previous stays with us and thank you for your repeat custom.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Picked this hotel as easily reached from the M6, nicely situated in the village of Alsager with large car park and an inviting frontage. The hotel has recently been renovated and looks good. Check in was dealt with with a smile and we were allocated a large room on the ground floor, nicely decorated, king size bed free wi-fi, small but well fitted bathroom what more did we need, we spent a very comfortable day and night. We dined in Stables Bar that night as the restaurant was closed, the food was okay the chips were a bit soggy and my fish dish would have benefitted from a hot plate, bar prices were reasonable for a hotel. Breakfast was fine with good cold choices and the cooked breakfast was okay, unfortunately my choice of the oatcakes was not available maybe next time!. A very comfortable place to stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebell1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear bluebell 1778

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you found the hotel so comfortable, though disappointed that the homemade chips with your fish course were not as crispy as you would have liked.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back - also that next time you can try the very popular Staffordshire oatcakes at breakfast. (Mention this when you book and we will ensure they're on the menu).

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
4.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,157 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
6.1 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Address: Audley Road, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel is close to Stoke-on-Trent and Crewe and is set in countryside near the M6 motorway on the borders of Staffordshire and Cheshire. Our 57-bedroom hotel was awarded Highly Commended Large Hotel of the Year at both the Staffordshire and Cheshire Tourism Awards in 2014. All bedrooms are recently refurbished and have Apple-device docking station, free Wi-Fi and flat screen digital television with Freeview. The hotel's public areas were stylishly renovated in 2014, including sensitive renovations to the Ostler Restaurant and Stables Bar & Grill both of which are located in the 17th century farmhouse at the heart of the hotel and which provide a choice of dining locations and menus. The heated swimming pool and Sauna is free to use for residents. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and we provide free on-site parking for up to 110 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
Best Western Plus Stoke On Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing