We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed there for a wedding at the opposite golf club.Wow it was lovely very clean,very helpful staff and beautiful surroundings and pool. Will definitely stay again xx
Also great bar food and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Michelle T

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with family here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel so much. Your comments about the staff are much appreciated and it's nice to know you plan to stay again.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    143
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
103
194
7
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is decorated beautifully and the breakfast was fantastic as were the staff in the very lovely stables bar. However, reception staff could have been a lot more welcoming and lacked customer care when we reported a slip in the swimming pool area caused by uneven slippy tiles which were not identified as a risk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Marianne T

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I'm pleased that you received such friendly service in our Stables Bar. After a recent Quality in Tourism hotel inspection Visit Britain awarded us a Breakfast Award for the choice we offer, so I'm pleased you enjoyed your breakfast too.

Your comments regarding the reporting of the slip are noted. We did follow up on the slip you reported but could not find its cause so please, if you are able to, email the hotel with the location of the tiles.

Thank you once again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have been staying at this hotel regularly over the past few months, during which it has been in refurbishment. I was finding it difficult to find decent hotels in the area and figured I'd give this a try. I'm glad I did.
Whilst the refurbishment has been on-going it's been surprisingly peaceful. The decor has transformed from quite nice to really good. Each of the rooms I've stayed in (from the smallest of doubles to a large kingsize 'suite') have been well-appointed, very clean and comfortable.
The menus change reasonably regularly in both the bar and restaurant and the food is generally very good (with the odd over-cooked item).
The reception is welcoming, the service staff, respectful and helpful, and the catering team really do a good job (despite being understaffed at times).
I'm yet to try the spa and fitness centre. But, no doubt, they're of an equal standard.
I recommend this place for the price, location, quality, food and, most importantly (to me), the comfort. A+!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Martyn P

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stays here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I'm delighted you find the hotel so comfortable and welcoming, and also that you like the results of the major renovation we completed in April.

On your next visit I hope you have time to use the heated swimming pool and Sauna . It's free to use for residents and opens from 7AM to 9PM. No need to pack a towel as pool towels can be collected from reception.

Thank you for your comments and feedback and also for the comfort rating! It really is much appreciated.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am remiss for not reviewing this hotel when I stayed here last month, so my second trip here in a just over a month. That should tell you that this is good place to stay. The location is straight off the main road with large car park, no road noise to worry about.
The rooms are clean, bright and look fresh, the bathroom looks good and has a feel of quality about the tiles and fittings, I could have spent longer under the shower, it was so good.
Usual tea,coffee and chocolate on the tray, room for two sitting chairs as well as the desk.
Restaurant not used as I used the bar area to get dinner, food was very good and reasonable price. The bar has a guest beer which it would have been rude not to try it!
Breakfast is in the main restaurant, very good spread of self service and main breakfast cooked to order, served hot and fresh.
All of the staff very friendly, polite and very keen to help, never saw an unhappy face and all genuinely seemed to enjoy being there.
There was a coach party of 40+ staying whilst I was here the second time! I only know because the staff told me, so they cope very well.
I would highly recommend this, worth the short detour off the M6.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear TWA1

Thank you for taking the time to write such a full and glowing review of your stays here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

The polite and friendly manner of the staff is something the hotel is known for, but is nonethelsess always nice to see mentioned in reviews.

As you say, our countryside location just 3 miles from the M6 does make us well located for anyone visiting the area and, like you, travelling on business.

Thank you for recommending the hotel and I hope we see you next time you're in the area.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday night having attended a wedding at the Golf Club. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very enjoyable. We did not have the chance of using the pool but would use it if we had longer to stay. The rooms have apparently just been renovated and were very adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StokeonTrentAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear StokeonTrentAnne

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

The bedrooms have indeed been refurbished and I am delighted you had such a comfortable stay.

Following a recent Quality in Tourism hotel inspection we received a Visit Britain Breakfast Award so I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast too.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We used the hotel for three nights whilst visiting an elderly relative. It has been extensively refurbished since our last stay and the public areas are very attractive and welcoming. I asked for a room with a walk-in shower and the one allocated was very spacious, well equipped and immaculately decorated. The room was unusually well lit and nicely furnished. The queen size bed was supremely comfortable. Breakfasts on the two days when orders were taken were excellent but on the day when a buffet was used to cope with large numbers after a wedding was rather less so. The staff were all extremely friendly and very professional. On this occasion, we did not use the bar, restaurant or pool and cannot comment on them. However, we can recommend the Manor House Hotel to anyone looking to stay in South Cheshire.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Bernard W

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your most recent stay here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you had a relaxing stay and also that you like the results of our recently completed renovation.

On your next visit I hope you have time for a swim and also for a meal in either our Ostler Restaurant or Stables Bar and Grill.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you are expecting an old-fashioned "slightly better than school dinner" menu, then you will not be disappointed. Slightly chaotic with restaurant reception/pre-dinner drinks (e.g. couldn't understand what an Amontillado sherry was, but G&T was fine).
Starters were average (except very poor mushrooms provencale). Soup (which came anyway) was bland and unexciting. Roast beef was well-done, machine sliced and coated in a tasty gravy, but presumably OK as long as you avoid the potatoes. By this point FIVE different people had come over and asked if everything was all right !!
A trolley of what appeared to be mass-produced puddings was followed by a pot of hotel coffee.
This could easily be so much better. I just hope the manager takes this in the positive spirit in which it is intended as it has so much potential.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Driver_in_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Driver in Europe

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sunday Lunch in our Ostler Restaurant.

I am disappointed the starters and soup course were not to your taste, and, also, that our restaurant manager and staff did not to have had the opportunity to resolve your concerns on check backs with your table. Your feedback is nonetheless welcome, and I assure you is considered in the positive spirit intended

That said our Sunday lunches are renowned - and have been for many years - for the five-course menu we offer (includes soup course), attentive waiting on staff and silver service, and puddings served tableside from our dessert trolley.

I hope you have Sunday lunch here again - you will have seen how very popular the restaurant is - and that next time you experience the quality traditionally associated with our chef brigade's food and ingredients.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
8.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Address: Audley Road, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel is close to Stoke-on-Trent and Crewe and is set in countryside near the M6 motorway on the borders of Staffordshire and Cheshire. Our 57-bedroom hotel was awarded Highly Commended Large Hotel of the Year at both the Staffordshire and Cheshire Tourism Awards in 2014. All bedrooms are recently refurbished and have Apple-device docking station, free Wi-Fi and flat screen digital television with Freeview. The hotel's public areas were stylishly renovated in 2014, including sensitive renovations to the Ostler Restaurant and Stables Bar & Grill both of which are located in the 17th century farmhouse at the heart of the hotel and which provide a choice of dining locations and menus. The heated swimming pool and Sauna is free to use for residents. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and we provide free on-site parking for up to 110 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
Best Western Plus Stoke On Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing