We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for a weekend. We came up for a short beak and to visit the Bidulph Grange gardens. We booked this thinking it would be your average Best Western hotel but from the moment we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard, there is a lovely light spacious reception with a glass domed ceiling that makes you feel warm and welcome as soon as you arrive as did the staff on reception.
All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the Ostler restaurant on Saturday evening which was very enjoyable. It has a lovely ambiance.The food was good and the service was excellent. We were very comfortable and not rushed which all added to a most enjoyable experience.
The added bonus was a swim in the pool on Saturday afternoon!
Our room was clean and comfortable bathroom particularly good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sally B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of ypur stay here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you found the staff so welcoming and friendly, and also that you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance in our Ostler Restaurant.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Biddulph Grange and Gardens; one of the many attractions in our part of Staffordshire and Cheshire.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

After searching Best Western Hotels in the area our party of two couples decided upon this hotel and were so pleased we did.
We were well greeted in the impressive reception area and then equally impressed by our superior rooms for the price we had paid.
The bar area was very modern and the staff very willing to please. Although we did not use the pool it looked very inviting.
We fortunately had booked for an evening meal prior to arrival as that night (Saturday) was full.
We were shown to the bar for a pre-dinner drink where we ordered from a menu with a very good choice that would accommodate most requirements. The staff were excellent, being well dressed, polite and attentive.
The standard of the food could not be faulted that night and the breakfast was equally appealing.
We all felt that this was an Hotel that was real value for money.
The only downside is if you are over 6 feet tall watch your head on the beams in the restaurant!!!!
Joking apart we would certainly recommend this Hotel and certainly go back there if we were in the area.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DavidAlan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear DavidAlan22

Thank you for writing such a lovely review following your recent stay here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed the hotel as well as the food and service in the restaurant. The beams in the restaurant reflect the age of the 17th century farmhouse from which the hotel extends, and which now houses our Ostler Restaurant and the downstairs Stables Bar and Grill. Yes, you're right, you do have to mind your head! All part of the charm.

It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and I hope we can welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having paid an all-in rate which included the evening meal and breakfast we were surprised to be advised when booking in that the restaurant was closed on Sundays. Fortunately, the bar had a good restaurant standard, menu ( although some of the items had run out ) and severed very good quality food, in nice Spacious surroundings, so it did not turn out to be a problem. However, this should be made clear in the booking process on line to avoid confusion. The restaurant did serve an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.
This is a very nice hotel. Although, the room decor was a little bland and the furniture rather old fashion it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very stylish and appeared to have been recently refurbished. The reception area and all the public areas were nicely decorated and carpeted and the outside area well maintained. All the staff made you feel welcome and were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Mal033

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I apologise that you were not informed that the restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings. On our website we state that he restaurant opens Monday to Saturday evenings and for Sunday Lunch. Thanks to your feedback we will add this information to the booking page of our site.

I am delighted you enjoyed your meal in our Stables Bar and Grill and also your breakfast in our Ostler Restaurant. It's also very pleasing to know that you received the friendly welcome and service for which the hotel is renowned.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for one night, reception check in quick, staff ok. Rooms very clean, bathrooms excellent, bed comfortable and spotlessly clean. The public rooms, reception, bar etc are all excellent, the hotel is modern and very well decorated. We had a very quiet night.

We had a serious problem at breakfast, being questioned about what we had paid for, in front of other people we were humiliated. We are a widely travelled couple and have never been made to feel so uncomfortable in any hotel in the world. Customer service score nil!!!!! We would NEVER go in for a meal if we had not paid!!!!!!! Complained at reception, manager has no idea how to deal with people, not interested. ADVICE to managers at this hotel, listen to your guests problems, if they have a problem so DO YOU!!!!!!!! We have today, received an apology and a beautiful bouquet of flowers from Head Office at Best Western, shame the managers at the hotel could nt sort things out for us, just a simple apology, or the simple truth!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluesky35oadby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear bluesky35oadby

In response to your comments I refer you to the emails and communication we had prior to posting your review onto TripAdvisor.

Although we were unable to establish the course of events at breakfast, I trust the flowers we arranged to be sent from the hotel via Best Western central office were well received.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were on way to Alton Towers the next day, beautiful hotel entrance and room were immaculate, couldn't believe it for the price paid! room was hot but windows could be opened fully better that than too cold! staff were very friendly, the bar next door was lovely and served great food til late, hotel also has a swimming pool not very deep but great for a relaxing swim, there is also a sauna and could probably do with a hot tub! Great stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Scott R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I'm delighted you found the hotel and staff so welcoming, and also that you made the most of the heated pool which as you found is free to use for residents.

I hope you enjoyed Alton Towers and that the queues weren't too long.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked this for one night on way north to break journey with young kids. Entire place is immaculate. Local area, pool, food and rooms very good. Only 5 mins from M6 would definitely recommend. It was no dearer than poorer M6 hotels I have stayed in, probably due to it being 20 mins further up the motorway from the Alton towers trap that exists around Stoke area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kevbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Kevbrd

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your family's recent stay here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

Given our proximity to the M6 many customers stay with us to break up long journeys and I am delighted we proved a good stopping-off point for you.

As you say, our hotel is close to Stoke and for that reason a popular base for people visiting Staffordshire for Alton Towers - just 25 miles and a very straight-forward drive from the hotel.

Thank you also for recommending the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a very pleasant mid - week stay at this hotel. Very quiet location, quiet and comfortable room, great breakfast, superb central location for visiting locations such as Stoke, Chester, Tatton Park and Alton Towers (if that's what floats your boat!). Only downside to this trip was the level of service and food availability in the Stables bar. Arrived on Monday to be told that they had no pies which we assumed was because they had had a busy weekend. By our last night, Thursday, there were still no pies but they had also run out of chicken liver parfait, salmon fishcakes and one of the beers was off. On two nights we had to leave the bar and pay for the meal in reception as the card machine in the bar was out of action. The staff that were on duty during the evenings we stayed also seemed incapable of operating the audio visual equipment. The bar was running a food and drink world cup promotion but we, and other guests, had to request that the football was shown on the tv and then ask if we could hear the commentary rather than the, discordant, music coming from the speakers. We returned home having had an extremely relaxing break and enjoyed the history of the area and put the shortage of available refreshment down to a catering glitch. However, having now read a variety of reviews it would appear that this "glitch" appears on quite a number of reviews so is obviously an issue that needs addressing. Don't be put off by this fact, just be prepared. It also doesn't help the situation that Alsager is lacking in eateries, unless you want a takeaway, so the hotel is really the only place to eat. Having said all of the above the food we did select was reasonably priced and always well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scs1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMH, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear SCS1956

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay here at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel - I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and our food.

Our Stables Bar and Grill serves food from 12 PM and it is unfortunate that some bar food items were not available in the evenings. The reason for this has been resolved and I am pleased you enjoyed the meals you did have whilst in the hotel.

We showed all the World Cup matches - due to how busy the bar got we brought in a second television - but only switched the speakers to the television commentary once games commenced. We did however continue to play music through the speakers in the bar's dedicated dining area for guests that did not want to watch the football. I apologise if at times this caused a clash.

I am delighted that you chose to use us as a base to explore the area. There is certainly lots to do in Staffordshire and Cheshire and I hope that if you visit again you will enjoy the full extent of our bar food menu.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
4.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,294 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 10 in Crewe
304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
Travelodge Crewe Barthomley
#1 of 1 in Barthomley
93 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel

Address: Audley Road, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Price Range: £43 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel is a 4 star hotel close to Stoke-on-Trent and Crewe and is set in countryside near the M6 motorway on the borders of Staffordshire and Cheshire. Our 57-bedroom hotel was awarded Highly Commended Large Hotel of the Year at both the Staffordshire and Cheshire Tourism Awards in 2014. All bedrooms are recently refurbished and have Apple-device docking station, free Wi-Fi and flat screen digital television with Freeview. The hotel's public areas were stylishly renovated in 2014, including sensitive renovations to the Ostler Restaurant and Stables Bar & Grill both of which are located in the 17th century farmhouse at the heart of the hotel and which provide a choice of dining locations and menus. The heated swimming pool and Sauna is free to use for residents. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and we provide free on-site parking for up to 110 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
Best Western Plus Stoke On Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing