We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ducking good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Alsager B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ducking good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night as we were working at the gun dog game fair.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful - went out of their way to help as it was such warm weather they even let us put loads of bottles of water in their freezers for the next day! They attended to every need when we were in the bar drinking anf eating food. All the bar maids were gorgeous which is an added bonus!

The room itself was ok but they are currently refurbing whic to be fair is needed as there are bits of wallpaper flaking off, missing bathroom shelves, wonky plug sockets but it didnt hinder my night sleep the bed was very comfy and the shower was amazingly powerful! It was very very hot but two fans were provided so I had no trouble getting comfy.

We had dinner in the hotel I had duck and it was beautiful! Large good quality portions - I tried some of everything our group had and it was all good quality and good value.

We also had breakfast and again, every need tendered to and it was delicious, will definatley stay again if working their next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alk3ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    52
    14
    15
    14
See reviews for
49
47
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

On a lovely hot summer afternoon (13-07-13 ) we thought we would have a meal and sit outside big mistake the decking area down stairs was very dirty the chairs had bird mess on them ,after we found 3 chairs that looked cleanish we sat on them but found that we got dirt on our clothes, ash tays were not emptied ,we moved upstairs to the balcony area and ordered 3 meals again should have thought time to go as we looked around there were no ash trays but ash and cigarette buts on the floor .food arrived and looked very well presented but the fish and chips were awful they where swimming in grease, we were offered 1 free desert for the awful fish and chips has compansation I declined wanted to leave did not feel comfortable,we also observed the owner rearranging the chairs on the decking but not once did he clean anything we will not be dinning there again even though we live 100metres away the the Old mill

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MELVIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

As usual food !! poor beer poor food !!in all another experience at a very poor restaurant never again ! Chips soggy fish poor my wife's gammon average etc etc etc staff friendly but a very below average establishment

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentonhackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The room we were in had a sense of catering for a few too many stag parties with damaged decor and stains all over the walls. A general lack of cleanliness from badly cleaned carpets to stained bed covers to dirty tea cups made our stay unpleasant. Underneath the grime it did look recently refurbished but it was all pretty badly finished. A shame as it's a nice building in a nice location but they are missing some basics here. The only saving grace was that the breakfast was pretty good, however we shall not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilseybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Thank you so very much to all the staff at the above, you have made our wedding weekend so very comfortable,an s[pecial. It felt like you were all involved with making our daughters wedding the best it could be. Our relations,friends and the wedding couple stayed with you, and all rooms were spot on! Nothing was too much trouble. You were able to accommodate all the quirky requests and believe me there were many! The food and dietary requirements were all catered for and excellent. The staff worked so very hard until the very end and were back on shift again early the next day with still the smile in place. A very relaxed and homely weekend. We were able to taylor it all, which made our special weekend even more so. A BIG BIG thank you to all the staff from chef,kitchen to housekeeping, bar and DJ. A very big thank you would recommend this venue to anyone!!

Room Tip: Go for a meal, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Called at The Old Mill for a drink and meal and were met by a miserable bar maid...outside having a fag in the doorway...the yound lady inside was lovely and smiley...and served us with a drink! The miserable barmaid returned from her fag break and was so sour faced she could make milk curdle! The place seemed dirty and unwelcoming...not a good selection of beers and limited menu.....which is a shame as this used to be a really nice place to eat. We decided not to order food and left after one drink. Bring back the old style Mill...Alsager needs a decent pub/restaurant! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TUBBSONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Bedroom very cold and cramped.Stayed here in January 2012 and froze to death. All heating turned off in room at 9pm and when we complained was turned back on again for only 1 hour. Temperature outside was zero, windows did not shut so room temperature was the same inside as outside. Corridors also freezing, only heated room was the bar.......

Room Tip: Choose a room with heating, apparently there are some with heating at night and some without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
24.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Property: The Old Mill Hotel
Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, The Old Mill is a magnificent 17th Century building set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views of the original mill pond, complete with resident geese, large shoals of friendly carp and abundant other wildlife. The Mill retains many of its original features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. This hidden gem of Cheshire is a real must if you want to enjoy a warm welcome, good food & drink and a good night's sleep. For private, corporate, or wedding events the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor results in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. The property is approached by its own private lane off the main Crewe Road and although only 2 minutes from the main road, 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M6 and a short distance from the bustling towns of Crewe and Alsager you will feel as though you are right in the middle of the Cheshire countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Alsager, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing