We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Alsager B&B and Inns
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went to a family Christening here and it was beautiful, I would definitely come here again for a family meal or to stay. The staff are wonderful and so is the place itself. There is not much i can fault on this place... Everything was great and the day went smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    48
    14
    15
    12
See reviews for
45
43
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I attended The Old Mill which is surrounded by beautiful countryside and was greeted by fantastic staff who were attentive and very pleasant. The food was outstanding and the restaurant was a perfect place to eat in. I will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We found the mill just by chance and are we glad we did .The staff were very attentive and pleasant .The food was lovely and freshly prepared .We ate in the restaurant which was very nicely done .We will definitely return with a view to stay for a night or two .The surroundings are gorgeous .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Had an evening meal at the pub last night.

Yet again, we found the food 1st class, the service attentive and the atmosphere excellent.

I've noticed the other - less complementary reviews (can't comment on the accommodation), but quite honestly, where people have criticised the food, I think they must have eaten at another pub !

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night as we were working at the gun dog game fair.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful - went out of their way to help as it was such warm weather they even let us put loads of bottles of water in their freezers for the next day! They attended to every need when we were in the bar drinking anf eating food. All the bar maids were gorgeous which is an added bonus!

The room itself was ok but they are currently refurbing whic to be fair is needed as there are bits of wallpaper flaking off, missing bathroom shelves, wonky plug sockets but it didnt hinder my night sleep the bed was very comfy and the shower was amazingly powerful! It was very very hot but two fans were provided so I had no trouble getting comfy.

We had dinner in the hotel I had duck and it was beautiful! Large good quality portions - I tried some of everything our group had and it was all good quality and good value.

We also had breakfast and again, every need tendered to and it was delicious, will definatley stay again if working their next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alk3ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

On a lovely hot summer afternoon (13-07-13 ) we thought we would have a meal and sit outside big mistake the decking area down stairs was very dirty the chairs had bird mess on them ,after we found 3 chairs that looked cleanish we sat on them but found that we got dirt on our clothes, ash tays were not emptied ,we moved upstairs to the balcony area and ordered 3 meals again should have thought time to go as we looked around there were no ash trays but ash and cigarette buts on the floor .food arrived and looked very well presented but the fish and chips were awful they where swimming in grease, we were offered 1 free desert for the awful fish and chips has compansation I declined wanted to leave did not feel comfortable,we also observed the owner rearranging the chairs on the decking but not once did he clean anything we will not be dinning there again even though we live 100metres away the the Old mill

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MELVIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

As usual food !! poor beer poor food !!in all another experience at a very poor restaurant never again ! Chips soggy fish poor my wife's gammon average etc etc etc staff friendly but a very below average establishment

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentonhackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.3 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Property: The Old Mill Hotel
Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, The Old Mill is a magnificent 17th Century building set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views of the original mill pond, complete with resident geese, large shoals of friendly carp and abundant other wildlife. The Mill retains many of its original features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. This hidden gem of Cheshire is a real must if you want to enjoy a warm welcome, good food & drink and a good night's sleep. For private, corporate, or wedding events the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor results in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. The property is approached by its own private lane off the main Crewe Road and although only 2 minutes from the main road, 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M6 and a short distance from the bustling towns of Crewe and Alsager you will feel as though you are right in the middle of the Cheshire countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Alsager, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing