We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raw chicken and awful service from owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Alsager B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Raw chicken and awful service from owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had our daughters christening party here on Sunday and we chose the venue because of the great food and atmosphere it used to have. Unfortunately the place changed ownership between us booking and the date of our party. I have two massive issues. The first is raw chicken. We had chicken served at our buffet which was a 'KFC' style chicken. The medium and larger pieces were raw, not undercooked but absolutely raw with blood everywhere. We paid a lot of money for a buffet for 30 people and we're served raw chicken. Our second problem is the owner. Once we complained about the raw chicken she had an awful attitude and in the whole conversation she never once apologised or admitted they had done anything wrong. Her answer to the chicken was.... "Different size chicken cooks at different times, the small pieces are ok" this was her answer. It was like a 5 year old was trying to explain something. How can someone own a restaurant and not know how to cook chicken and the implications of giving adults and children raw poultry. I was insulted by her answer. She then took away the chicken and replaced with sandwiches 15 minutes later once everyone had eaten so they were all gone to waste.

I am absolutely disgusted with the owner and her attitude and lack of knowledge on food hygiene.
All meat should have its temperature checked before being served.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    52
    14
    15
    13
See reviews for
49
47
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Old Mill on several occasions over recent years, and have found it to be a charming, friendly, easily accessible place in which to have a nice meal and a good night's sleep.
I have posted to this effect previously, mentioning particularly the friendly welcome from the owner.
This time it has been totally different.
The check-in was brusque, the service at dinner was perfunctory, and when I came to check out, I was told that cards are no longer accepted. Fortunately I had cash with me; I would not have been amused to have to drive into the village to access the ATM.
All these irritations pale into insignificance in comparison to my disturbed night. I lay awake while loud, thumping dance music was blaring through the floorboards. I 'phoned (from my mobile) on three occasions to point out that I was a guest and that sleep was impossible. I was told that it was the staff's belated Christmas party, which they deserved, that there was a licence till 1am, and that no, they could not turn the volume down. On the third phone call, I was offered a different room, which I declined as it would have been pointless. Once the music stopped, it was replaced by loud voices and laughter till about 2am, when I managed to nod off.
When I checked out, I was not asked how my stay was; I would have explained about the disturbed sleep if given the opportunity.
I felt like an irrelevance in an organisation which existed for the benefit of its employees.
I discovered that the inn has changed hands, which is, of course, the explanation for my totally different experience on this occasion from previously.
So, my advice to the new owner is: do as your predecessor did: greet the customers, make them feel welcome, and make sure you know what your staff are up to at all times of day and night. The survival of your business depends on it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank birgitta_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel for one night.Food was excellent with a very fine breakfast in the morning.Room was clean and comfortable with a view of the pond and ducks very nice.We enjoyed our drinks at night served by a very energetic bar maid who appeared to be running the place,very talkative and friendly.We would have liked to have stayed another night but duty calls.We will be back.
Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackLAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for 0ne night in room 6 the four poster bedroom....the staff were very helpfull and freindly and service was brillant ..but have to say that the room was not up to the expectations of an £85 pound a night room even if this did include breakfast...the bathroom was dissapointing at best with a big split in the side of the fibreglass panel along the bath which could be a bit of a hazard to the unwary and alsothe bath as not very clean at all.to add to this the cups provided for tea and coffee making were dirty.The whole room was tired and allthought they did have a sign stating that the hotel was undergoing refubishment,was hard to see where this was taking place.
the food in the restaurant was good for pub grub in the evening but the beer had a funny taste to it ,breakfast was ok but again cups and cutlery dirty.over all for the money not sure i wouod ever stay again.....bad impresstion.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 cant recomend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivHowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemnay, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the welcome and service was faultless, staff were so friendly you rarely get such brilliant service anywhere these days. While our room could have done with a little updating ( there was a notice about on going renovations) it was clean and restored to original standard every day. The food was home cooked and breakfast was brilliant, can tell its local produce and really is a brilliant standard. Extremely quiet, beautiful location with amp parking onlooking a farm and duck pond. Would recommend it for stay to anyone who is in the area. While a little pricey, once renovations have been done it will be one of a kind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gushet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

its the 6th time i have stopped there the rooms are spot on the food is just what you look for in a hotel ,its down a quiet lane with a duck pond ,big car park,more like the comforts of home ,
i truly cannot fault it ,at breakfast its like having a meal with the family 100% ile give them every time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went to a family Christening here and it was beautiful, I would definitely come here again for a family meal or to stay. The staff are wonderful and so is the place itself. There is not much i can fault on this place... Everything was great and the day went smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
24.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Property: The Old Mill Hotel
Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, The Old Mill is a magnificent 17th Century building set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views of the original mill pond, complete with resident geese, large shoals of friendly carp and abundant other wildlife. The Mill retains many of its original features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. This hidden gem of Cheshire is a real must if you want to enjoy a warm welcome, good food & drink and a good night's sleep. For private, corporate, or wedding events the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor results in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. The property is approached by its own private lane off the main Crewe Road and although only 2 minutes from the main road, 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M6 and a short distance from the bustling towns of Crewe and Alsager you will feel as though you are right in the middle of the Cheshire countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Alsager, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing