We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Holly Trees Hotel

Holly Trees Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Trees Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Alsager B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and had a double room for single occupancy and was very happy with the stay and the value for money. The room had an ensuite bathroom and was clean with enough towels. Breakfast in the morning was well cooked and there was a good selection available. There is a major road outside but this didn't spoil my sleep as with the window closed you couldn't really hear the traffic.
I would describe this place as more of a B&B than hotel.
The only complaint I had is that the curtains are very thin so the rooms were very bright so you might want to take an eye mask if this is a problem for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Holly Trees Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, accommodation is very basic but clean and comfortable. Few niggly problems with bathroom light,grubby light cord no pull knob attached, nowhere convenient to plug hairdrier in and loose draw knobs.
Good breakfast but again not a huge choice or variety.Disappointed that we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay on leaving just a business like request for the key and nothing else.
Overall a shame really because it was clean and comfortable but all looks a bit dated and tired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Conveniently situated near the M6, this is more than a bed and breakfast but doesn't have the impersonal feel of a hotel. It is run by Henry and Sarah. This was my second stay and on each occasion I have been checked in very pleasantly by Sarah and offered a choice of rooms but Henry seems to do most of the front of house stuff as well as the cooking and he is very chatty and friendly.
The rooms do seem to be a little chilly at times but not enough to put me off going; the decor is a little old fashioned but the rooms are clean, and well appointed.
An evening meal is available as long as Henry is at home; the menu is not restaurant standard but it is good honest home cooked food which I found very acceptable and preferable to the food at The Plough which is within walking distance for those who like basic pub foods, served in a friendly atmosphere. There is a very good Indian and an Italian in the village just a few minutes further down the road.
Breakfast is very good. There is not a huge choice of fruit etc but the usual cooked breakfast items are all available and from my experience good poached eggs are hard to come by and Henry cooks them perfectly!
This is becoming my first choice to stay whenever I am in the Stoke area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray_Joybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Had a nice single room , was met with good service , Quiet , good food ( need bigger dinner plates !!) Clean if dated decor , Would stay there again . Close to M6 so very convienient , Hard to find fault with this place

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silver843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had to visit Alsager for the funeral or a friend and booked to stay at the Holly Trees. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet and pleasantly decorated and everything worked. If we have to stay in Alsager again, we shall certainly book there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Warm welcome, Henry was helpful, friendly and able to assist with what was required. Room clean and tidy with all you would expect and need.

I stayed there for several weeks and enjoyed my stay, would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Hotel states having a bar, which there was but it was not open when we arrived. No food available, we had to go to a pub downs the road.Had to wait to get checked in as the reception desk was not manned. Arrived mid afternoon in snow showers, no heating on in rooms although the radiatiors were on in the corridors but this was not much good as the fire door at the end of the building was propped open. We closed it, to try and get warm but later found it propped open again. Room was clean but very tired looking. No nets at the window which overlooked the car park and main road so you had to draw the curtains to get dressed making the room dark. Wash basin had a major crack in it which was sealed with a yellow sealer. Our friends staying at the same time went to have a shower but there was no hot water when they arrived. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. Whole place needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEZ222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,207 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
4.4 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Trees Hotel

Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alsager
Price Range: £54 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holly Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Trees Hotel Alsager, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing