We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Hotel(Stokenchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Peacock(Henton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Oxford Belfry(Milton Common)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
262
244
115
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
244
115
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomblenheim palacefew issuesred kitescream teashort breaktwo night staymain buildingcooked breakfastboth nightsroom was largecomfy bedan evening mealvisit oxfordroad noiseshower headboth mornings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed at this convenient hotel on two separate occasions, one our way to visit family. Our first visit was very good, a sizeable comfortable room in a new building. Well furnished with a spacious bathroom it provided a very comfortable and refreshing night's sleep.

Making the same journey several weeks later we again booked the Lambert, using the same on-line website as before, and paying much the same amount of money. This time we were shown to a room in the main building. We were very disappointed with this second room. Its appearance was nothing like the previous room we had occupied, the carpet was heavily marked, the quality of its fittings and furnishings were poor and its position overlooked a busy cross roads. In the bathroom there were panes of glass missing from the leaded window in the bathroom, providing constant ventilation. The bathroom was, we were told, painted that week, the quality of work was extremely poor with considerable paint marks on the carpet.

To be honest we were looking to leave the hotel as we were so disappointed with our accommodation. Contacting reception regarding our room we were initially told that a change of room was impossible as the hotel was full. We were packing our bag to leave when the manager sorted a move for us to the same block as our first stay. The room we were moved to was much better. The move was handled very professionally and we appreciated the consideration given to us by the manager.

I can't comment on the food as we have never eaten at the hotel. We have found the beds to be very comfortable on both nights and the rooms to be very clean, however in both bathrooms the toilet seats have been broken. We would stay at the Lambert again but we would ensure what type of room we had booked.

Room Tip: Check where you will be staying when booking a room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertarms, General Manager at Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review,I am pleased that we managed to change your room to avoid disappointment, We have several room types at the hotel and on checking your reservations on both occasions you booked a standard room, which are our original rooms in the coaching Inn side of the building. These rooms do have more features than our newer rooms and they are due to be decorated shortly. We advertise these rooms as standard rooms at a more preferential rate, because of the fact that they are in the original Inn and do not feature views over the Chilterns air conditioning and a lot more space. Once again I am pleased that on this occasion we managed to move you too a superior room at no extra upgrade cost, If you do decide to visit in the future and would like a room in the newer wing these rooms are available on both our website and our partner websites for an additional cost.
Thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Edwards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in the Lambert Arms a few years back and were very impressed. We recently stayed there with our son and family and felt rather embarassed that we had receommeded this hotel as it had changed so much from our last visit. My son and wife had to ask for a room change since the TV didn't work and a fitting in the bathroom was broken which was potentially unsafe for their toddler. We also had to ask for a room change as we had booked a double room but were given a twin. There were areas that were in desperate need of redecoration throughout and the exterior window sills of the restuarant were almost down to bare wood. Generally the hotel gave the appearance of being very run down.

The hotel was very busy and it seemed the staff were having difficulty coping. Our paper did not arrive Saturday morning and we were told that the person dealing with this had not put our order on the list. It was very busy when we arrived for breakfast, yet 3 tables had been set and reserved for dinner that evening so we were put on a very cramped table and when we asked if we could move to one of the tables set for dinner, we were told by the waitress that this would not be possible. After complaining about this we were allowed to move. Once reading the breakfast menu we realised that the payment for breakfast was ambiguous. Once again we complained about this and to the hotel's credit we were told by a manager that breakfast would not be charged in spite of us booking through booking .com where we had overlooked the small print that had indeed said we paid for room only. We strongly recommend, however that the hotel change their payment system for breakfast - we were not the only guests who were confused by this. Then when ordering the breakfast (mushrooms on toast) we were told guests nomally do their own toast. When we pointed out that this would involve waiting for the mushrooms to arrive and then making the toast ourselves by which time the mushrooms would be cold, the waitress agreed to bring toast with the mushrooms!

So many small niggles that in total added up to quite a negative feeling about the place. The last time we stayed it was an entirely different experience - far more professional. The impression we were left with after our weekend was that the staff had not been properly trained. In addition the general appearance of the hotel needs higher standards of house keeping and general maintenance. We really do not enjoy complaining and the stress this involves but it seemed the only way to deal with the number of hurdles we came across.

Altogether a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My friends and I stayed here for two nights on an Amazon deal. We upgraded to twin rooms. The rooms/bathrooms were spacious and the beds (even though they were singles) were comfortable. The housekeeping could, perhaps, be improved. There was a little mould around the bath in both my room and that of my friend's, and the staff did not replace the toiletries that were used. But this is a minor quibble. The hotel staff were, without exception, friendly, helpful and professional and very willing to help us Londoners who seemed to make a habit of getting lost in the area...!!

The restaurant was good value for money and we all thought the breakfast selection was excellent.

My main quibble, is that this hotel is in quite a remote location with no signposting. We drove around for ages before we found the place. Some good sign posts, and a bit of street lighting, would go a long way to helping their guests find their way back to the hotel after a long day of exploring the local area...!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCara68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertarms, General Manager at Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that my team managed to look after you Londoner's so well. Unfortunately I cannot do a lot about the street lighting as we are in such a lovely rural location and yet so close to the motorway. Hope fully you will visit us again in the near future. Maybe when the nights are a little lighter.
Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked a one night Romance Break. The hotel website advertises a bottle of Champagne on arrival, but it is sparkling wine. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The evening meal was good and well-presented, though the wine list was overpriced - well-known supermarket bottles at over 300% mark up. Breakfast was disappointing. It was busy, but service was slow. No spreads available apart from butter. Self-service tea was cold and never refreshed. When we came to pay we would have been charged extra for the sparkling wine that was part of the package if we had not noticed this. We enjoyed the break, but this Hotel should pay more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights primarily to explore the area. It is a little isolated in terms of restaurants/pubs nearby but is excellently located for getting round and about. Having said that the food in the restaurant was good, reasonably priced, well presented and varied and we ate there twice. We ventured into Thame by taxi on one of the nights which was quite an expensive soiree as the driver quoted us "around £12" when in reality it was £15 and we felt ripped off. The room (201) we had was excellent and worth paying the extra for. All the staff were extremely pleasant and went out of their way to make sure our stay was as good as it could have been Special mention to Sarah on reception who was most welcoming and did all she could to help - not only with us but we witnessed this high standard with everyone who came to stay. There were minor issues (eg we do not like coffee out of flasks at breakfast !) but these were outweighed by all the positive points.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews