We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island
Nearby Hotels
Aotea Lodge(Tryphena)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthsong Lodge(Tryphena)
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$484
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coromandel Court Motel(Coromandel)(Great Value!)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
37
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfabulous hostsat homegreat barrieramazing placegreat spottrue kiwi hospitalitystayed nightsmade us feelgroup of friendslocal knowledgerental carfrancisvalmealsweekendaccommodationisland
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had a wonderful time staying with our very warm and accomodating hosts. We very much enjoyed their company and the accomodation we stayed in. The location is excellent and the rooms are spacious. My wife and I are rarely too full too finish the food at breakfast and dinner yet we managed to be at Shaol Bay. We would highly recommend this as the best value you are going to get on the Barrier Island and we are certainly going to try and come back before we go.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montyas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Val and Francis are great hosts and made us and our children feel right at home. Francis is especially wonderful with children and took them to collect eggs from the chicken coop and even cast his grandfatherly eye over us as the boys and I kayaked in the bay. Val prepared some wonderful meals and shared interesting stories about life on the Barrier. Thank you for a wonderful stay with many enduring memories. We'd recommend Shoal Bay Estate to all.

Room Tip: Val will assist you with the best option.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stunning spot. Absolutely felt at home the minute I walked in, Val and Francis have something very special here, they are wonderful hosts and have some great stories to share. Rooms are comfy, food is fab and the island itself is just magical. Will be back very soon -and will send friends and family in the meantime!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had such a great time on GBI (locals slang)...or as we say Great Brier Island. Even in the middle of winter (July) the rain came & went only at night, the days were sunny and hot.
The hosts (Val&Francis) became our friends the moment we set foot in their B&B.
The house (B&B) was nice & full and they had no problem organising more than enough food and a comfortable place to sleep for everybody.
The fireplace downstairs was the main attraction for everyone as this made the whole house nice and warm.
I can recommend Shoal Bay Estate to anyone who wants home away from home thanks to the friendly hosts.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own "personality"...:-)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertusBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Firstly what an incredibly beautiful location! During my NZ adventure (I traveled from home in Germany) I stayed in a mixture of accommodation including luxury retreats (eg. Takatu Lodge), chain hotels and more than one B&B. The great thing about B&Bs is that you are welcomed into the private space of your hosts and hear a personal story. Francis and Val are having their own NZ adventure, building a life and business on Great Barrier. My assistant booked for me and said that the correspondence she had with Val was very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was clean and tidy- once again what a great location. The freshly cooked breakfast was really delicious. Go there if you want to meet special people and share in their adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HortTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews