We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter weekend on the Barrier - great house, hosts and food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tryphena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island
Ranked #3 of 5 Tryphena B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Winter weekend on the Barrier - great house, hosts and food!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Took the opportunity to have a 3 day weekend explore on the Barrier with a deal done by Sealink and Shoal Bay. Although it was winter we had a fantastic weekend. Great weather (lucky us!) all weekend. Dolphin escort on the way to the Barrier in flat calm sea. Shoal bay is a skip away from the Ferry so no chance of getting lost. Confess we were not sure what to expect aware the Barrier is 'off the grid' so to speak. Val and Francis welcomed us three (2 adults one 13yr old) into their lovely and very large house - cosy fire going and everything nice and toasty. We had upstairs (3 bedrooms + bathroom + lounging area + flat screen tv + big deck, all almost new or newly painted) pretty much to ourselves and we quickly unwound and very quickly were made to feel part of the house. We drove/explored around the island and got in a lot of snorkelling - excellent visibility, up to 30 metres on the east coast. Had two mighty breakfasts - seriously delicious food ! and dinner one night as well. Dinner as with breakfast was at a communal table - if you wanted to be at the table and this made the trip even more enjoyable. The second day we were late for breakfast, having been out snorkelling in Tryphena bay (last minute stuff) - 5 minute drive from the house - and come back expecting toast and tea - have got a nice crayfish, instead Val and Francis had kindly kept things hot and we feasted on pancakes and delicious farm bacon. We'd come back just for the food alone (can still taste the farm bacon and banana snacks!). Highly recommended place to stay, made our trip, planning a return trip sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougandAnnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
the hague
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Shoal Bay Estate B&B is a great option for those who want to connect to the local community in Great Barrier Island. Val, who runs the B&B with her partner, is an incredibly helpful and generous host. She looks after everyone (even those who are not staying at her place!). The B&B is in a great location looking out to sea on one side and the native bush on the other. The B&B is a large, warm, rambling farm house that has been well restored. It is very comfortable. The best room is the large double bedroom upstairs. Breakfasts involve hearty home cooked food that keeps you running on "local" energy all day. Val rents cars which is very handy as they can help out if you need it, like the time my wife left in the car and I needed to be somewhere, Val kindly said just take the other car outside (at no extra charge). If you do not want to rent a house or camp then this B&B is a superb option. Val gave us very helpful advice on anything we asked about, from fishing to restaurants to places for walking. We had a fantastic time in Great Barrier and hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Large double bedroom upstairs, on right of the building facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narkuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We spent 8 days here with Val and Francis, they are the most welcoming friendly hosts you will ever find! We took our two children aged 9 and 12 and by the time we left the kids wanted to adopt Val and Francis as grand parents! They B&B is very clean and tidy, the food is AMAZING! It's the best place to eat on the whole island! Ask for a pizza night while your there! Hire cars are available, and kayaks which we used almost everyday! Val and Francis have a wealth of knowledge on the history of the island and local attractions. It's the best family holiday we have had, and we will most certainly be returning annually! Beautiful location and close to calm beaches perfect for the kids. I could go on but ill leave it at that.. Highly recommend Shoal bay estate for your next stay on the island.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best views of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxxtinakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We really recommend this bed and breakfast situated in a peaceful bush clad bay right by the sea .Val and Francis have renovated their house to a very high standard and we especially loved the upstairs deck with sea views and another sheltered deck off the dining room which was ideal for just chilling in the shade Val and Francis are friendly and low key hosts who enjoy making guests feel part of the" family"which adds to the overall holiday atmosphere of the accommodation. Val and Francis keen to advise guests on places to go and things to do and we appreciated their input Be prepared for a less than formal atmosphere regarding meals and general housekeeping but for us this added to the whole holiday feel . Keep it up Val and Francis !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathdunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My wife and me stayed 3 nights in this B&B and had a nice dinner on the first night. The hosts Francis and Val Foreman were friendly. There is very good wifi provided. We stayed upstairs where it was more private.

Room Tip: Upstairs for more privacy. Bathroom is not en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidleehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Lovely place and very friendly and helpful hosts. We were the only visitors on this occasion and were treated to superb hospitality which even included a Island Tour. Even in winter this place has something to offer, I would certainly recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of life on the mainland and experience something different. The house is lovely, the food great and the atmosphere even better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I really enjoyed GBI stay for two nights.Sunny bed room and beautiful view from the window.Val and Francis were very friendly and I could feel like doing home stay.I really spent great time with beautiful beaches,bushes,local small animals and PEOPLE!! Over there life style is very simple but it's actually very rich,because I could feel more closer to nature and people.I definitely want to back to GBI and I will choose Shoal Bay Estate again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyoko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryphena
3.5 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#6 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island

Property: Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island
Address: Shoal Bay, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tryphena
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island Tryphena, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing