We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Dining”
Review of Earthsong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Earthsong Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Tryphena B&B and Inns
Tauranga
Level Contributor
183 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a review of the dining experience, not the Lodge accommodation.
Bookings need to be made ahead for casual dining but this is well worth the experience. A 5 course pre-set menu is elegantly served with accompanying wines and a description of the dishes from Trevor, a very good chef. Carol kept us plied with wine and the conversation never waned. Canapes, wine and some of their very own cured olives started a memorable dinner. Carol had uplifted us from our car at the head of their driveway (on Medland Rd) and I don't think I would have liked to have driven that driveway with any wine in my system! It is designated 4 wheel drive and they are not kidding!
The house and dining area were cosy warm, the adobe walls being constructed from very thick straw bales for perfect insulation. The meals dishes offered a host of balanced flavours. As night time dining is extremely limited on Great Barrier Island during the winter months (like only one restaurant open at night), do consider a casual dining experience with Earthsong. You will not regret it. Not cheap, but no 5 course meal ever is and certainly for the quality and ambience this was excellent.
We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthsong_12, Owner at Earthsong Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We really appreciate this review and feed back, being the first review for the Earthsong Restaurant. We aim to create a unique dining experience and menus are carefully designed so that each course flows into the next. Thank you for your thoughtfulness and taking time to share your impressions. We look forward to your next dinner reservation.
Carol and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

What an absolute gem. Hard to believe you can find such world class sophistication, in such a remote location.
We booked in at the last minute so always try your luck.
We had the place to ourselves and were thoroughly spoilt, so can recommend still coming here in the winter months!
Port and warm baking greeted us in our beautiful room...WOW.
Drinks, canapés, 5 course dinner and superb breakfast all world class.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPaget33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthsong_12, Owner at Earthsong Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your Earthsong experience. We sincerely appreciate your comments.
Carol
Earthsong Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our NZ visit took us most unexpectedly to Great Barrier, where Carol picked us up at Tryphena beach. Only then we dicovered where we were so lucky to have come to! Wonderful hosts, beautiful room with the best view, lovely tea, every detail so thoughtfully arranged. We felt very spoiled, all through the day and evening including great company, five course dinner & introduction, wine and music! Not to mention the lovely breakfast! Coming all the way from Europe was worth it. Heidi&Matthias

Room Tip: all equally located with best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthsong_12, Owner at Earthsong Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Earthsong Lodge on Tripadvisor. It's great to know we are getting the balance right between anticipating your needs as guests, exceeding your expectations and yet ensuring you have 'space' to absorb the peace and tranquility of this very special place.
Warm wishes
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A fantastic "getaway" with wonderful hosts, namely Trevor and Carol. A new piece of NZ for us Mainlanders to explore. On top of that, great accommodation in a very comfortable bedroom/lounge, huge bathroom (complete with bidet!) great views. Met at the airport by Trevor who drove us to the door, via a spectacular driveway which is definitely 4WD only, and treated to superior dining experiences. Five course evening meals, with each course described by the chef (Trevor) in person and accompanied by a choice of premium NZ wines, and a few foreigners. Go there!

Room Tip: There's only three, no difference between them as far as we know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at Earthsong 1 night for our 20 year Anniversary. Trevor and Carol are fantastic hosts. They made us feel very special indeed. Stunning views from our room of Tryphena bay.
Trevor gave us a memorable experience with his culinary talents matched with great company.
We highly recommend Earthsong lodge to anyone looking for a tranquil break away in a beautiful setting with wonderful hosts.
Terry & Miriam

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Earthsong for 3 nights in February and didn't want to leave. Carol and Trevor are the most wonderful hosts and the Lodge is a beautiful retreat overlooking the glorious Tryphena Bay. Their attention to guests needs and genuine interest in ensuring your stay is all you want it to be is exceptional. Beautifully created food matched with good company made for some lovely evenings. We recommend Earthsong Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway and we will return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthsong_12, Owner at Earthsong Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your review to Tripadvisor, and thank you for your positive feedback, I have passed this onto the Earthsong team.
Excellent customer service is of paramount importance to us at Earthsong and I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Once again, your feedback is much appreciated and it is only through feedback we can improve our product and service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was amazing, the location was incredible and the hosts couldn't have been nicer. Have already recommended Earthsong to our friends

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earthsong_12, Owner at Earthsong Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your positive feedback. I have passed this onto the Earthsong team.
Excellent customer service is of paramount importance to us at Earthsong and it's good to know we are doing well. Once again, your feedback is much appreciated and it is only through feedback we can improve our product and service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
kind regards
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryphena
2.9 mi away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.2 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#5 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthsong Lodge

Property: Earthsong Lodge
Address: 38 Medland Road | Auckland, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tryphena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Earthsong Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthsong Lodge is a luxury lodge hideaway on Great Barrier Island, just a 30 minute flight from Auckland. The 3 Ocean View Suites all enjoy breathtaking sea views and private sunny courtyards. Earthsong offers dinner included packages as well as B&B rates. Earthsong has a far-reaching reputation for its elegant cuisine. At sundown guests gather to recount their adventures over cocktails and to dine in timeless tradition savoring the finest taste sensations of Earthsong's contemporary cuisine. Great Barrier Island, just 30 minutes from Auckland, offers rugged landscapes, breathtaking views and unspoilt white sandy beaches - an island world that soothes the spirit and challenges the adventurous. Your hosts Trevor and Carol offer genuine kiwi hospitality with exceptional and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Earthsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthsong Lodge Great Barrier Island/Tryphena, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing