We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet weekend on Gt Barrier”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangapara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Barrier Lodge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Shane and Ange made us very welcome. I would agree the rooms are not luxury but the deal was cheap and it is a remote island location so wasn't expecting 5*. As they have only taken over this year there were some teething problems such as matches but that was easily remedied by asking for some. The breakfast was basic but the dinner was delicious as was the hospitality after when we were introduced to some yummy cocktails on the house. Good luck Shane and Ange with your Lodge and thanks again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeabo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

My partner and I stayed at Great Barrier Lodge in July this year. We bought an internet deal for 2 nights which incuded return flights from Auckland Airport, two nights accommodation at Great Barrier Lodge including breakfast both mornings and dinner on the Saturday night. We were staying Friday Saturday nights. We arrived in the morning and were told that the studio rooms which we had paid for in our deal were fully booked but we would be comfortable in a backpacker room. Our backpacker room was filthy, damp and cold and the beds were wet with moisture, especially the queen bed which of course we wanted to share but couldn't as it had roll together syndrome. The whole room smelt damp and musty. There was covered but outdoor kitchen facilities outside our room for us to use...no matches for the gas stove, filthy benches, dirty concrete floor, unemptied rubbish bins, dirty noisy fridge, dirty showers and toilets outside our room with umemptied rubbish bins again, threadbare damp towels. Unfortunately we were also located very close to the noisy belching diesel generator which of course is a necessity on the Island as there is no electricity. The hosts were less than helpful, bordering on rude. We asked for a heater for our room but were given a seized up old gas heater and no gas bottle, when we got a gas bottle it was empty anyway.Needless to say the first night's sleep was very unpleasant which was more disruptive due to the family of rats nesting in the ceiling.
The next morning I explained to Shane the host that the room was damp and there were rats, he replied that there was nothing you could do about rats on the Barrier. Then I was given our "Breakfast Pack" four slices white bread, a few jam, peanut butter and margarine sachets, two one serve packets of cornflakes, two one serve packets of weetbix and 125mls of UHT milk and this was for two days, we couldn't make toast as we couldn't light the gas and there was no toaster. We saw the Hostess, Ange in the afternoon and she asked us if we would lke to move to a studio room as some people had failed to arrive, yes we would, and we did.
This was a great deal more comfortable but the standard of cleanliness was borderline.
Saturday nights dinner was an event, we were served "homemade" Mushroom soup.. homemade with a packet, no mushrooms, hardly anyone ate it, we then had roast chicken, garlic mash and salad, not too bad but a teenager could make it. Dessert was fruit crumble which was pretty unedible as the crumble topping was sludgy with tinned fruit underneath, hardly a great meal, although we enjoyed the wine and great company of the other guests about 14 couples, alll on the same deal. We all left the following day which was a Sunday and due to the weather were unable to fly or sail off the Island because of the weather. All of us who had booked for the two days left the Lodge, no one stayed on, as it was we had to stay another three nights on the Island as the planes couldn't fly due the the rainy and coudy weather. Most of us went to Tryphena and stayed at Bob and Tippys where we had a very nice time despite the changes to our travel plans.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jo1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane N, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

What sort of a person blatantly lies in a review?
Is it the sort of person who sneaks around peoples private property and even goes in their chiller?
Is it the sort of person who sneaks wine into a restaurant, when they have been repeatedly asked not to?
Is it the sort of person who loses her underwear in a packed restaurant?
Is it the sort of person who lies about the underwear being hers, but then can't bare the thought of leaving them behind, so admits that they are hers?

Shall we tell the truth now?
It was explained to you when you made your booking that the only room available was the backpackers, but you were adamant that you had to have that weekend as it was Mark's birthday. You knew exactly what you were in for.
Our property is in the bush, on an island, and unfortunately, along with all the beautiful bird-life, we have Kiore.
I'm not going to dignify your lies about the food, I ate that exact same meal and it was delicious.
You paid $499 for a package, where your flights would normally be $418 on there own. Our standard off peak room rate is $185 per night. Then you have meals on top of that.
You can please all the people...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed two nights at the lodge and had a wonderful and relaxing time. We hired a car for the time we were on the Island and went for some lovely drives. Didn't do a lot of walking as I am pregnant and tired! lol!
Ange and Shane were wonderful hosts and doing so well for being at the lodge for such a short time. The atmosphere was friendly & relaxed and the food was great! Ange is not a trained Chef but it appeared as though she was as the food was delicious & well presented!
We hope to visit again once we have kids big enough and will definitely visit the lodge again.
Bad weather delayed out flight out, Ange kept us informed with updates from the airport and we had a delicious lunch together.
Thank you to Ange and Shane, we had a wonderful time! Excellent and friendly hosts! Will definitely recommend your lodge to others. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaveetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We visited Great Barrier Lodge with a coupon deal with another couple. We were collected from the airport and taken to the Lodge, shown to our rooms and then plonked ourselves on the deck to enjoy the view and soak up the rays between the wind! I really think we had the best window of weather - never rained once, but it did threaten it. Location is just primo. We ordered dinner the Friday night which was a group sit-down meal. Barbecued scotch fillet, seafood chowder, scallops and a lovely dessert. Very simple, but very tasty. Saturday we had our meal that was included in the package - once again, very simple, but delicious meal - everyone ate it, didn't hear any complaints and the dessert - sticky date pudding with butterscotch sauce and ice cream was divine (in fact, we even had a second one the following day). Breakfast was delivered in a brown paper bag - effective I thought! Bread, spreads, cereal and milk for the two days. We opted to have a cooked breakfast each of the days we were there - they were very substantial and good quality, with whatever we ordered being no problem.

Hired a car on the Saturday for a tootle around the island. This was great - and all done through the Lodge.

The boys fished from the wharf and also borrowed the kayaks from the Lodge (free of charge) and kayaked around the harbour fishing.

The Spirit of Adventure ship moored in the Harbour which was quite spectacular - as well as the dolphins that swim in with them - truly spectacular and exciting to watch.

Our rooms were quite sufficient. Yes they might be a little dated, but ours was clean, no issues with hot water or anything like that.

The bar is well-stocked and very reasonably priced - surprisingly so! We certainly frequented it often enough and Shane was very good at suggesting different brands of beer etc, which our guys made the most of.

Ang and Shane were great hosts and you wouldn't know that they had only been running the Lodge a short time. I think in time they'll do some wonderful things with the place. On our travels around the island we heard many comments about great Shane and Ang were going - I'd imagine that would be high praise from the long-time locals.

The boys are keen to arrange a fishing trip and bring a boat and vehicle over early next year and Shane was keen to do what he could to accommodate them, advising the best way to do this and advising of the rooms available etc.

We didn't do any of the walks that are available in the area - purely from lack of time (and a little bit of laziness), but there are plenty in the area to do.

We had a marvelous time, and the most strenuous thing I did that weekend was throw the ball, stick, frisbee or buoy out to Nina the dog (she was lovely). She loved to swim behind the kayaks and retrieve her ball from the ocean.

Last comment would be to make sure you ask if you are after something - if you want food, just ask, if you want information, just ask!

We had a blast and thank Shane and Ang for all their help.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExcitedTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were given our 2 night stay as an gift by our sons, and were so excited, flight over was a breeze, we were picked up by local taxi van and taken out to the lodge, the driver was very informative. the lodge over looks an beautiful harbour, awesome views,the evening meal was lovely, excellent wine list. what let the place down was the accomodation, our cabin was dirty, there was flour on floor under the dinning room table, we had no dishwashing liquid or dish cloth ,spider webs in most corners, and we had no hot water, when we complain about this the host said you had to turn the tap on cold to get hot water, well im a mind reader, an note in the bathroom to say so would of help. the following morning we had an shower with no problems, but it was short live, after a day out sightseeing and tramping around the island, we were so looking forward to an nice hot shower, so we told Shane who came and had a look and couldnt fix,he said he had to go help someone out with an generrater and would come back and see what the problem was, whats more inportant your guess or someone down the road.Anyway he couldnt fix the hot water, so we ask if there was use of another shower, which there was, not sure whose shower it was,but it certinly hadnt been cleaned in awhile.so i didnt use it again and opted for an cold shower our last morning there.We did did leave our charger in the room which Shane sent to us at no cost so thanks for that Shane.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane N, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thanks Linda.
Plumber (Max) was in first thing Monday morning to fix the shower and has even shown me what to do in case it happens again. The trouble with having a stream fed water system is that when you have all the rain that we've had, you get blockages in your system.
Although I'm rather fond of spiders myself, we pointed out the cobwebs to the person responsible for the vacuuming. Not sure about the flour though.
The shower you used was actually mine and it is cleaned twice a week. I know a lot of what the lodge has to offer is dated, but we have only been here a very short while and are doing things in small steps. Next winter will show a marked improvement.
Pleased you enjoyed the food and the wine list, that's our specialty. Accommodation is new to us.
Oh, and the man down the road (John), he hadn't had any power, whatsoever, for three weeks, and as he is one of our best customers, I had no hesitation in helping him out.
Apologies for the inconvenience.

Shane & Ang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We got a package on line, and wow we had the best time. The food was amazing all freshly made. The set menu in the evening was perfect each time (we advised of a food allergy on arrival and it was never an issue) Shane and Ange are the type of hosts we would like to have everywhere we travel !!!! The wine list is a definate star as are the Jam Doughnuts !!
Yes the Lodge is slightly run down but is a work in progress. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The Island its self has truely specatular scenery and DOC is to be commended on the walks and trails.
Staying at Great Barrier Lodge offers a quiet getaway with fabulous food and wine without any airs and graces. We meet some interesting people from a variety of different lifestyles and with hosts like Shane and Ange we all had a great time. Take the time to go and enjoy a unique New Zealand break away !!! Ivan and Susan de Spa

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a view of the Harbour !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane N, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thanks Guys, we do our best, but ultimately it is down to our guests themselves, and for the most part, we have enjoyed meeting every one of you.
We feel so lucky to live in such a wonderful place and get to meet such lovely and interesting people every weekend.
Those of you who feel compelled to review us, have actually contributed to the success of your weekend.
Here's to many more.

Cheers!
Shane & Ang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed three nights at the lodge. The lodge had a relaxing and tranquil surround. We went down the drive and fed the Stingrays in the harbour which came right to the edge of the water. We arrived around lunch time and ordered bacon & egg pie made by Ange which was terrific. I knew then the food was going to be superb from then on and it sure was for the rest of the stay. Shane and Ang are friendly and make you feel welcome and we would reccomend a stay here if you want to have a nice relaxing break away form the hussle and bustle.

Thanks guys for the magic long weekend.

Alan & Jenine (Hamilton

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane N, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you Guys too,
We enjoyed your company just as much.
Stingrays are still hanging around and the dolphins were in again this week, some of the hardy souls even got to swim with them.
Next time you need to escape, you know where we are.

Cheers!
Shane & Ang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Great Barrier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barrier Lodge

Address: 735 Whangaparapara Road, Whangapara, Auckland, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Great Barrier Island > Whangapara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whangapara
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barrier Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Barrier Lodge is under new ownership and has re-opened on 1 December 2017 with owners with a true love and passion for this fabulous piece of paradise and making sure their guests take home wonderful memories and can't wait to come back. Book now - you will love it! Great Barrier Lodge sits amongst the trees on the waters edge of Whangaparapara Harbour - Great Barrier Island, just 30 minutes flight away from Auckland. Surrounded by natural beauty, the lodge caters to travelers seeking rest and relaxation on the pristine beaches or thrill seekers looking to traverse the islands many walking/mountain bike treks. Whatever your preference, our friendly staff will ensure you enjoy your stay in this natural paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing