We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge in lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangapara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Barrier Lodge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed with a group at the lodge; It was very comfortable, with spacious rooms, and overlooks a beautiful bay.
It's a good place to stay if there's a number of you going to Great Barrier Island. Meals served are not fancy, but adequate. Nice walk from here to the wharf.
The place looks wonderful from the sea. Remains of the old whaling station, which closed in 1963, are located some distance across the bay from the lodge. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hello Ruth,

Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for your comments and opinion, we are continually trying to improve. Hopefully you will choose us for your next visit to the Barrier and we can exceed your expectations.

Regards Archie, Erica and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Great Barrier Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were first time visitors to The Barrier. Archie and Erica welcomed us and went out of their was to accomodate us and our fishing gear. We had beautifully cooked steak dinners. We had a nice time socializing with the locals in the Bar and the location is sensational with the waterfront right infront of you. I highly recommend The Great Barrier Lodge. The backpacker accommodation was very tasteful and we will definitely be coming back.

Regards
Terry, Josh and Wayne

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Gidday Terry, Josh and Wayne,

Thanks for your comments on us here at the Lodge, it was great fun having you guys here and hope you'll be back for some more fishing and cold beers !

Cheers Archie,Erica and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It was our first time here and cannot understand what all the negative hype is about! May have been the previous hosts that were the problem as the new hosts were SO SO welcoming and professional.

Archie and Erica (the new hosts) are doing a great job turning this place around and are a credit to the lodge. They accomadated us when we asked to have breakfast at 10 when it usually finishes at 9, let us cook our crayfish on the BBQ and happily provided the tools we needed to do this and even let us take a towel to the beach after we had checked out on the basis we returned it at the end of the day. These are the reasons why we would return to the lodge again without hesitation.

The lodge looks like it has recently been refurbished. Our room and bathroom was very clean and well equipped. The beds super comfy and the linen was good quality. The resturant doubles as a dining hall and bar and provides good meals for a decent price and a well stocked bar to boot.

The lodge is positioned right on the waterfront with amazing views, it's not only beautiful and peaceful but it's also located close to the airport and Claris township.

I have stayed at many a luxury hotel as I travel a lot for work and yes that can be nice but the thing I love about this place is that is quiet, waterfront and really down to earth.
If you want luxury hotel your in the wrong place but if you want honest friendly and helpful hosts in a comfortable lodge where you don't have to be uptight and poncy throughout your stay then this lodge is for you.

Carissa and Leon Vaudrey

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livesinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us, we are so happy to have helped you have a relaxing time here on the Barrier ! And thanks for sharing your catch with all the others guests.
Regards Archie and Erica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Upon arriving (late and hungry because of flight delays) we were welcomed warmly. The restaurant accommodated us and delivered delicious meals. The location in the bay is amazing, and at night we loved sitting on the deck watching the sun go down and the gannets diving. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had our family reunion here-Our hosts Shane and Ange were more then welcome without being intrusive-one feature was the excellent food,another the outstanding location and most importantly they personlised our stay to fit in with our reunion. Highly recommended especially due to their personal touch!

Room Tip: Most rooms have stunning views-The cottage we stayed in were ideal for small groups or families.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

What an amazing place to stay. The lodge is overlooks the harbour and is so peaceful. Shane and Ange were great hosts. The room was very clean and had a small kitchen which was a bonus. The beds are amazing! Breakfast was included and was more than adequate with cereal and toast. The restaurant offered a set menu dinner which was varied each night and lovely food. We rented a car from there which was no trouble at all. We stayed 4 nights and were pleased we had as we could explore the island for 2 days and have 2 to just relax around the lodge. Lots of short or long walks, amazing bush and wonderful beaches. The island contains NZ bush at its best. We had a look at other accommodation while we were there and decided we had picked the best place on the island. A place that should be on everyone’s bucket list!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneneKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband Viv and I went to Gt barrier on a 2 day internet deal which included flights and accommodation at the lodge. We had a ball, Shane and Ange were great hosts, very friendly and helpful. Ange made us awesome meals. We enjoyed their company over a drink or two in the evenings along with the other guests, it was refreshing to sit at one big table with everyone for dinner.
The room was clean and warm.
Breakfast is a self-help basic pack with cereal and toast options - it is perfectly adequate given that we are staying in a remote area.
Whangaparapara is a beautiful remote location. We had a wonderful time - very relaxing.
I have to mention the 2 cool dogs Charlie and Nina that live there - they are delightful and always up for a walk.
Carolyn and Viv Green, Akl.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynandvivgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangapara
6.3 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
26 reviews
6.5 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barrier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barrier Lodge

Address: 735 Whangaparapara Road | RD 1, Whangapara, Auckland, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Great Barrier Island > Whangapara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whangapara
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barrier Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Barrier Lodge sits amongst the trees on the waters edge of Whangaparapara Harbour - Great Barrier Island, just 30 minutes flight away from Auckland. Surrounded by natural beauty, the lodge caters to travelers seeking rest and relaxation on the pristine beaches or thrill seekers looking to traverse the islands many walking/mountain bike treks. Whatever your preference, our friendly staff will ensure you enjoy your stay in this natural paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing