We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference to get away from it all...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Barrier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Conference to get away from it all...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

An idyllic spot to escape the pressures of work for our management team to get together. Archie & Erica and the team were brilliant and went out of their way to ensure our conference ran smoothly without any interruptions. The meals were delicious and everyone was well catered for. We booked out the entire lodge for our group to ensure total privacy. The location and view speaks for itself. Mountain biking and kayaking is available. The fishing was also fantastic... True paradise. Will hopefully return one day and try out some of the dive spots?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania_Jackson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Tania, Thank you very much for your review of us :) We really enjoyed your group and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you visit you will have more time enjoy the Island and relax a bit more. Please pass our regards on to the rest of your team !
Cheers Archie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    14
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My family and I spent the Christmas Holidays here at Great Barrier Lodge in 2013. We rented 2 studio units side by side which faced the Harbour. My mother in law organised everything so it was a lovely surprise as we didn’t quite know what to expect.

Overall it was a really great place, that hit much more than it missed, but a few things could be modified to improve the comfort of this place and take it to another level.

Pluses:
- Staff/ the family that run the place were very accommodating and super nice and great to deal with. They really went out of their way to make sure we were happy and enjoyed our stay here.
- You could park in front of your rooms (we were rooms 1 & 2) which made moving things to and from your car easier
- They are owned by SeaLink a ferry operator that can take you to and from Auckland, they can also book the your return ferry for you if you wish, that is how we did it, and it simplified things.
- Beds are Big and comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep - that's a biggie!
- You have access to picnic tables at the front (they will provide you with an umbrella for shade if you ask) as well as at the back (the area at the back is where the bbq's are, and when it rained it was nice that this area was undercover so we could be outside and protected from the winds and weather. We weren't sure what the set up was like so were delighted when we realised this was the case. The BBQ's were good and easy to use.
-They have Sky TV in the main area as there are no tv's in the room, but their philosophy is that you don't need one and when you are there, I agree.
- They had an off license/bar/shop full of basic items that you could start a tab for the week and square up at the end, which was very convenient.
- Food was great one night and just okay on the next, the restaurant is definitely worth a try, You let them know in advance if you are dining with the so they can prepare and everyone eats the same thing. An interesting concept but it worked well for us.
- Kayaks on the property are there to take out for free, they were nice for an hour out on the harbour
- There is a jetty just across the harbour you can walk to. We did and jumped off it several times into the water, it was nice to feel like kids again despite the fact we definitely are in are early 30's :)
- Such a peaceful spot overlooking a quiet harbour and where sunsets could be enjoyed :) Serenity was great
- Location wise, you are also close to to some good walking tracks - where we ran and exercised on our stay. You are not far to a very nice waterfall/pool - you can walk to and a quick drive and some walking to the hot pools everyone likes to check out when visiting here.

Areas to be improved:
The resort has done a lot to improve this place recently and I would have no doubts that these items may already be on their agenda, but just so you know:
- Given the location in a quiet, leafy location there are bound to be mosquitoes. This is fair enough, however, there are not screens on the front or back doors of the rooms, nor are there fans. Making the room quite warm quickly at night time without a means for ventilation without getting eaten alive. Screens or fans need to get added - definitely.
- Bathrooms were fine, practical for our needs but the mirrors above the sink were chest height and below so unless you are pretty short or like to bend down alot, they were difficult to use.
- There are 2 extra power points to use if you aren't using the fridge. We only discovered an extra one on the last day, above the shelves on the wall, where a TV could go if needed. So really we only had 1 the entire time, and given our phones, cameras, etc, it wasn't enough to charge everything. But if you are tall and can make use of the 2nd one noted, you should be alright :)
- We brought a lot of things to cook for our stay, which was great and the BBQ was good. However, there were only 2 of everything in each room. No sharp knives for cutting. Given that you often need to serve up food on plates, cut things to prepare food, there was always a shortage of these. It may be good to bring a few extra items with you when you come.

If you ask me if I'd stay here again, I definitely would. The only major gripe would be the no fan/screen doors. Other than this place is a true gem where I can only see things improving! Enjoy your holidays

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstinDenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you Kirstin for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate the effort of such a detailed review :) We like this as it points out the areas were we can improve what we offer.
You are right in mentioning the mozzie screens ! They were on our "wish list" to be done before xmas but we simply ran out of time, I can assure you we will be having them done in the very near future. Sorry to hear that the lack of power points affected your ability to charge phones/cameras etc., as we run on solar power we have deliberately restricted the amount of sockets in the rooms so we can manage the power usage. This ensures that all essential equipment runs through the night when we are on battery power. We do have extra power points in the main Lodge and are always happy to charge items for our guests and visitors.
Again it was so nice having you stay with us and you review and comments are greatly appreciated. Cheers Archie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

What wonderful hosts. Erica and Archie went out of their way to ensure pour group of seniors were well looked after. The meals were delicious, the rooms have all been updated and the location and views magnificent. We will certainly be bringing more groups to stay at the Lodge.,

Room Tip: A room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 221Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank You Barbara for taking the time to review us, we really enjoyed having you stay with us, your group's are always a great bunch of people. We are always trying to improve so that next time you stay it will be an even better experience. Cheers Archie & Erica and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in the lodge for 3 days labour weekend. We arrived there about 10pm, Archie was still expecting us and friendly show us around the room, gave us extra blankets and the local maps. Very warm welcome! Also one of our friends lost her luggage on the ferry. Erica gave as much help as possible, even lent her some cloths. Great hosts! The Lodge is located right next to Whangaparapara Harbour, stunning view. It also provides free kayaks, nice! Our room was very clean and cosy. I'm a picky person, one of the wine glass was not clean, but other than that my friends and I enjoyed the stay.

Tips for statying on the island: On the island is very safe, becuase everyone knows everyone. Feels like a big family. but before all the resturants open for the season, I recommand take food for your stay as limited general stores and buy food is costly. Also bring a torch, the island is very nature, no street lights. I like it. Have fun!

Room Tip: The Colonial Cottage that we stayed in is the closest room to the beach. Gorgeous View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Ben Y,

Thank you very much for your review of us ! Look forward to your next stay and no problem if you forget your bags, we'll be able to sort something :)
cheers Archie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woombye, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Great Barrier Lodge last weekend for our granddaughter's wedding. The setting for the ceremony on the lawn, with the beautiful harbour as a backdrop, was perfect. In fact the whole weekend experience was perfect. We left Auckland at 0800 hours Friday on the Sealink ferry for a pleasant 4.5 hour trip, and 20 of us (the other 20 had their own cars on the boat) were picked up at Tryphena in a shuttle bus. Driver Steve gave us an interesting insight into island life over the PA during the 50 minutes scenic drive to the Lodge. At the Lodge we were warmly welcomed and our room was clean and comfortable with a view over the harbour and a BBQ on our verandah. Archie and Erica are excellent hosts, as are Marama and the rest of the team, providing delicious meals and always with a smile. Some of our party borrowed kayaks to catch snapper for breakfast, after which we watched the All Blacks (just) beat France 26-19. When we left the Lodge on Sunday it was with a farewell hug rather then a handshake. It's that sort of place. We are now back home in Queensland, but, like Arnie, we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPhyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Gidday Alan,

Thank you so much for your review of us, we really enjoyed the wedding weekend and we are so happy that all went well including the All Blacks beating France ! Lets hope the Wallabies do better next year :)
Look forward to have you stay with us again in the future, when your next in Kin Kin remember to have a cold beer at The Country Life Hotel for me.
Cheers Archie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stopped in to visit the lodge whilst staying on the Barrier - just to grab a quiet beer. The lodge is renowned for fishing trips and in considering a 'boys-only' trip in the near future wanted to have a look around. The lodge itself looks very well appointed and a quick look at the rooms revealed above-average accommodation. What is most appealing is the setting - the views are stunning and the lodge commands a great outlook from a slightly elevated position.
We will be booking at trip here soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulaHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for review of us, so glad to hear you were able to relax and enjoy a beer with our view ! Next time please stay and enjoy the view when you wake up !
Cheers Archie & Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We took advantage of a 'Grab One ' package with Sealink ferry and Great Barrier Lodge. The thought of a four and half hour sailing was daunting but proved to be most enjoyable both ways. The scenery, dolphins and talking to other passengers helped pass the time. The crew were informative and friendly.
The location of the lodge is in a peaceful and scenic location and to be woken by the sound of a large pod of dolphins splashing and blowing in the bay on our second morning was amazing. So pleased to have digital cameras as we took many, many pics of the scenery, dolphins, nesting shags, kereru, weka, but did not quite manage to get a pic of the cheerful kaka.
Our hosts were friendly & helpful. Thanks Marama, Erica and Archie. Unfortunately we missed out on the snapper meal but, by all accounts , it was great.
Our studio room was compact but equipped with all we needed.
We drove from Tryphena to Port Fitzroy and on lots of side roads, most sealed but some very dusty. Narrow winding rooms with lots of OOh moments for a nervous passenger but considerate drivers made for safe sight seeing. Some dusty roads.
One recommendation if visiting before all the restaurants are opened for the season...take food for your stay as to buy on the island is costly.

Room Tip: Studio rooms are comfortable, quiet and the views are incredibly beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian and Erica A, Manager at Great Barrier Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi Val,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, we really enjoy and hope to make everyone's stay a good one. The island has so much to offer. I am also really sorry that you were unable to enjoy the snapper meal, lets make sure when you return on one of our great deals that we do with Grab One and others that we make sure Snapper is on the menu for you :)
Again thanks for reviewing us and look forward to your return to our lovely Island.
Cheers Archie, Erica, Marama and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangapara
6.3 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
5.4 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#4 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.5 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#7 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Barrier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barrier Lodge

Property: Great Barrier Lodge
Address: 735 Whangaparapara Road | RD 1, Whangapara, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Whangapara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whangapara
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barrier Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Barrier Lodge sits amongst the trees on the waters edge of Whangaparapara Harbour - Great Barrier Island, just 30 minutes flight away from Auckland. Surrounded by natural beauty, the lodge caters to travelers seeking rest and relaxation on the pristine beaches or thrill seekers looking to traverse the islands many walking/mountain bike treks. Whatever your preference, our friendly staff will ensure you enjoy your stay in this natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Great Barrier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing