We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostalito del Lago”
Review of Hostal del Lago

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal del Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Del Lago is easily the most memorable place I have stayed in, in 4+ years of travel throughout Latin America. Bryan, the owner, once told me that he wanted to have the kind of hostel he would have liked to find in his own years of travel, and he's certainly gone to great lengths to create it. With a beautiful balance between community, creativity, big ideas, positive spaces, and exceptionally low costs, it's the kind of place that travellers very often get blissfully lost in (and often come back to again and again,) the relaxed atmosphere and fun community. With it's new cafe (Paul is a genius in the kitchen!), yoga classes (Sarah is one of the most wonderful, attentive, warm teachers I have ever found), live shows (guest participation is hard to resist), early-morning swimming (one of the best spots on the whole lake), chats with the local family that works there (they're happy to teach you a few kaqchikel words, if you're interested!), stunning lakeside views, campfires, movie nights, communal meals, and long, lazy afternoons in the hammocks--it's a nomad's paradise. That said, it's not for everyone--if you want something polished, exclusive, and/or isolated, Del Lago is not for you. But if you're looking for a fun, positive place with a real sense of community, you'd be hard-pressed to find somewhere better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

We got what they called 'the best room in the hostel' and it was dirty. Other than the bed, which was made, there was dirt all over the floor and the bathroom had not been cleaned.

We asked for towels. Were told it was not really something they offered and there were only about 6 towels in the hostel, even though we offered to pay. They said they would get some for us, but they never did.

Big gap under the door led to several scorpians and various other creatures making their way into the room. They need to fill up the gap with something.

It has a pretty big garden but so do many other cheap places in San Marcos. It is cheap at Hostal Del Lago but there are other places for only a little more. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Owner at Hostal del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

this review was a year and a half prior to our taking over of Del Lago...so does not reflect the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank travelotaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenny88blumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Katha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hostal del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Lago

Address: Main Street (Toward Tzununa) | 150 Meters From Center on Left Toward Tzununa, San Marcos 12001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > San Marcos Department > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in San Marcos
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Del Lago is a popular lakeside hotel. A social place with nightly activities, from live music and movies to theater events. We offer simple accommodation with economic pricing. Our hotel is more about the time spent outside of your room. We are known for our friendly staff and family style atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing