We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Located Hotel EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Serenissima
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sacrofano
Reviewed 5 March 2008

This hotel is at the back end of nowhere, NO Rome taxi drivers know how to get there (even with Satnav)

Hotel was dirty & noisey, walls seemed paper thin, we slept with the TV on to drown out the other guests just talking!

Breakfast? What Breakfast, what a joke.

We booked for 5 nights, stayed for 2, and in between spent the day walking in Rome to find new accomodation.

I honestly can't explain how badly located this hotel is, 100Euro taxi to get there from Rome, and in the morning its a walk to the bus stop to get a bus to the trasin station which by the way is the end of the line. If you want a taxi you need to call a Rome taxi, who charges the fee to come from Rome to get you, then the fee to take you where you want to go.

do not, DO not, DO NOT book this hotel for a trip to Rome !

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank desmond_hume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Park Hotel Serenissima
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2007

This is a hotel for which one needs a survival guide!!
As in the other review, most taxi drivers do not know where this hotel is. It is in a very small commuter village called "Sacofano" around 14km outside of Rome. If you stay here you will need to print off a detailed map in order to get there, regardless if you plan to get a shuttle, taxi or drive yourself. It is down a small residential road in Sacofano called Via Rimbomba. The hotel itself presents initially as small, pretty and quiet. The reception staff have good english, even though there is usually only 1 person on the desk. They are also helpful, however, they need to be as guests who are not staying as part of a coach trip will need assistance.
The rooms are very small. The beds are rock hard, and a double bed is an obvious combination of two single beds pushed together, leaving an annoying cleft between sides of the bed that will make your back ache! Sleep isn't easy either, the air conditioning can only be switched on - and no further adjustments. This means you need to wake up in the night and turn it off when it gets too cold. You also need to ask reception for the battered remote to use it. You also have a bathroom - with 4 very small and thin towels provided. The tiles in our shower were also poorly laid leading to a flooded floor each time a shower was had. The hot and cold taps aren't marked and also the shower takes a bit of time to heat up, making it a game of luck and skill to create anything other than a tepid or stone cold shower!
By far the most uncomfortable fact about the rooms was the noise. The walls are paper thin, all the rooms are in one bloc with a shared coridoor. It appears the bulk of the hotels' appeal is its ability to house entire coach parties in rooms right beside each other. They make loads of noise, both in the coridoors and in their rooms, often laugh / joke or argue until very early in the morning and call into each other's rooms. They always get to the hotel at about 11pm and leave very eary in the morning (usually about 6am local time), once again being unbearably noisy and slamming doors. All of this thunders down the communal corridoor. If you want sleep here, forget it!! Coach tours stay for 2 days then depart. They are invariably replaced, however, with yet another coachload of noisy, restless tourists behaving in similar manners. The noise level reaches unbearable levels. You can clearly hear each shower, toilet flush, slamming door and footsteps from every room in the hotel. We tried changing rooms twice to be told that the hotel was fully booked. Cleaners also call to each other frequently. The rooms are clean, however. But very spartan.
At reception we were advised we needed to hire a car simply because to get to rome you take the train - the station is over 1km away and treacharous in the extreme to reach by foot due to the fact that 2 way traffic shares a single lane! And it is full of extreme bends. There is a local privately owned bus (rossi bus) that will take you for 80 cent to the train station. It is usually punctual but can be very late, costing you the train you were aiming for. It also runs erratically on sundays. The main problem with this bus is the fact that it doesn't sync up with the trains' departure times; meaning you'll have a bit of a wait especially outside of early mornings. Trains depart regularly only in the early morning, meaning you have to get up very early (my tip is to leave at 7:30am from the hotel) to catch a train, or else wait till the afternoon. The train journey is about 40mins long and leaves you right to piazza flaminio at the bottom of the via dei corso. Trains back depart around once every hour, if you have a car you can drive it to the montebello stop and get on there, these depart every 10 mins at peak times. We didn't have a car unfortunatley!!
The hotel's restauraunt was closed when we were there, as was the only local shop, meaning you have to stock up in Rome with things to eat and drink. The hotel can sell you some bottles of water - but they do not carry a large stock.
They also have little picnic tables, those furthest away from the hotel were not cleaned during our stay.

In Summary, the place was generally uncomfortable - lot of noisy, raucous guests and lots of local barking dogs, complimented by paper thin walls, a communal coridoor and a difficult to control air con with no minibar. I did not sleep well one night I was there. Added to this is the fact it is not easy to get to from central rome, you'll have a job getting there in the first place (it isn't well signposted) and a huge lack of local amenities means my last word must be:
CAVEAT EMPTOR!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank saytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Although the hotel was clean and the staff friendly. Rome taxi drivers did not know how to get there, only one claimed to know and charged us 130 euros to take us there.
breakfast was non existent, consisting of a bowl of soggy cornflakes (which was covered with a napkin and remained out all day , every day,) which we had to ask for milk for, and a cup of coffee which we also had to ask for.
the hotel is advertised as having a restaurant, pizzzeria and bar, but in fact had none of these.
When I asked for a jug of water, I was told they had none left but they did offer me a can of sprite.
They advertise as having air conditioning but fail to say that they charge 10 euros a day to use this

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Eilmar_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Elena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Giorgio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank rosella m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanuele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacrofano
10.5 mi away
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
20.4 mi away
Villa Vecchia Hotel
Villa Vecchia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monte Porzio Catone
485 reviews
9.0 mi away
Casali Santa Brigida
Casali Santa Brigida
#701 of 1,267 in Rome
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
B&B Acque Lucenti
B&B Acque Lucenti
#2 of 4 in Sacrofano
16 reviews
8.0 mi away
I Pini Family Park
I Pini Family Park
#1 of 4 in Fiano Romano
351 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francalancia Country Resort
Francalancia Country Resort
#3 of 3 in Castelnuovo di Porto
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Serenissima

Address: Via Rimbomba Via Sacrofanese km 1.3, 00060 Sacrofano, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Sacrofano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sacrofano
Price Range: £46 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Serenissima 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Sacrofano
Park Hotel Serenissima Rome/Sacrofano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing