We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucca will treat you like family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lido di Ostia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stella Maris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Lido di Ostia B&B and Inns
Sierra Madre, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lucca will treat you like family”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I arrived in Rome around 10:30 pm at FCO and wanted to stay in the seaside town of Lido di Ostia. The owner Lucca arranged to pick me up and drive me in his large van back to the B&B which is located in a clean, friendly neighborhood 2 blocks from the beach. The apartment sits on the 2nd floor and offers good views and a cheery atmosphere. Breakfast is a generous undertaking and all the groceries, danish pastries, fruits, yoghurts, warm breads and cheeses are high quality and presented beautifully in a breakfast salon shared by other guests.

The owners are most courteous and speak English and other languages very well. I would happily return to this location and appreciate their extra assistance with my musical instruments which I rented for a concert near Rome. When I needed to head back to the airport and meet my band, Lucca asked me if I needed additional help and was so accommodating. I felt I was able to meet a special Italian couple who really enjoys the art of hospitality. The wifi service is free, rooms are good and the bathrooms are clean. There is excellent transportation into Rome by taking either the bus or train from the Lido di Ostia main train station. Plenty of good restaurants are walking distance from this little B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for private room with bathroom and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Brady_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abeokuta, Ogun, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My flight from Fiumicino was 6:30 am and I was coming from Trieste (about 6 1/2 hrs train ride from Rome) so I decided to sleep over in Rome and near the Fiumicino airport in order to make the flight. I searched for a cheap bed & breakfast and got Stella Maris after reading reviews of other search results. The place lived up to the review I had read. Cheap, neat, and the owner was very nice and hospitable. I felt very safe too. The owner even dropped me off at a nearby restaurant when I told him I had to eat and he was closing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adedamola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles, WV
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My brother was flying out from Rome so he needed an overnight accommodation that was nice but close enough to the airport. I booked and paid for him and we were not disappointed. The owners and managers are so nice and supportive. My brother arrived way past the check in time and they still waited for him. They offered to pick him up at the metro and even dropped him off at a restaurant to eat. Very nice and accommodating folks. Their accommodation, according to my brother, is a place I need to stay when I go to visit Rome.Very nice an classy. I definitely plan on staying with them and recommending them to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Simply stunning!
The resort itself was average but the accommodation made the break amazing! The walk from the Metro station to the B&B in the midday heat was exhausting but as soon as we arrived we were offered cold drinks and ice cream before we even checked ourselves in!
Our hosts were simply lovely, the breakfast was great quality and they made something fresh for us everyday.
One day during our stay, both me and my friend didn't feel very well but the apartment had enough to keep us occupied the whole time. I don't know if all of the rooms had a balcony but we did and it was invaluable: a lovely private spot to sit and read and soak up the sounds and smells of coastal Italy!
The main door to the B&B was a bit stiff which made it difficult to obey the "silence in public areas after 10pm" rule but apart from that, the facilities and service were second to none.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Sonderjylland, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, great breakfast, clean and very nice rooms, we loved the fridge in the room, the host is very kind, we even got picked up by the metro :-) +++
if you stay at this b&b you feel welcome from first day.
if we come around Rom again, we gonna stay here again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Family-feeling! We enjoyed very much our stay at Stella Maris in Ostia! Very near the beach and free entrance to beach. The host Ilaria is so very nice! The rooms were very nice, like home! We went back after a week. We will return next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerstin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This marvelous BB is situated in front of the sea, just 1 minute to the beach, The hosts are great! The were so hospitable as you only can imagine. They take too litle money for being so kind and nice to you. Every room is being cleaned every day and the breakfast is great! Want to recommend to my friend to go there just to get to know, how the real hospitality looks like.
For sure will come back with lots of friends.
With all the sincere feelings to the owners. Irina

Room Tip: Every room is great! But the one with breakfast is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrinaAlex222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Ostia
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
265 reviews
Hotel La Scaletta
#1 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
442 reviews
Belvedere Century
#6 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Barcelo Aran Blu
Barcelo Aran Blu
#399 of 1,261 in Rome
541 reviews
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
136 reviews
Hotel La Riva
#5 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stella Maris Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Umberto Cagni 21, 00121 Lido di Ostia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Lido di Ostia
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lido di Ostia
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing