We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Scaletta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Scaletta
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my wife decided to stay close to the airport due to early flight and the decision was very good. It is a small and cosy hotel near the center of Lido di Ostia. Everything happens nearby. It has a McDonalds bellow for those who like 'fast-junk food.
The room was clean and cosy. We got a room with astonished sea view.
The staff was helpful and friendly.
A good value for money!

Room Tip: Room with a view, definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    185
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
152
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

After coming back from a 7 day Mediterranean cruise aboard the msc lirica where we were spoiled like a grandparent would spoil their only grAndkid. We stayed at hotel la Caravella for 3 days, from 9 May to 12 may. And guess what? We continued to be spoiled! The hotel was An exceptional value for the price and there were NO hidden charges whatsoever! Breakfast was sufficient, wifi worked like a charm, staff was exceptional, room was very clean, shuttle service to the airport was only 15 euros for my wife and I (compared to 60 euros last time we were in ostia lido last year), and it was extremely convenient to get into downtown rome on the local train. My wife and I will definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel with exceptional value and amenities!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Tyrrhenian Sea, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msgmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

La Scaletta is right across the street from the boardwalk at Lido di Ostia and our room had a lovely little balcony with a table and chairs and a view of the sea. This property is quite near Fiumicino airport, but not so close it is at all noisy, the perfect place to stay when staying overnight before or after a flight. there are many restaurants nearby to choose from. Our room was inexpensive, clean and nicely appointed. A substantial breakfast was served in the morning. The staff friendly and very helpful, managing to print off a boarding pass for one person in our party. Will chose this hotel again next time I either arrive late or need to leave early from Rome...no complaints at all!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Mediterranean. We were in 202. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

If u are looking for good clean accomodation which is not too expensive (not easy around Rome!) this is the place for you
Just 30 mins outside the city by train it is well worth it as it by the seaside and close to fiumincino airport
The staff are friendly and speak great English. There were also little touches like 2 small Easter eggs on both our pillow for Easter Sunday!
It is spacious as Rome accomodation goes and excellent value. I will stay again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nors83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I really enjoyed staying in La Scaletta. I was not the ordinary traveller (?), spending 4 days out of season to write (in the room, mostly). For me, the few guesys and the out of season-period was perfect. The room was properly cleaned every day and the breakfast was not a big splash-out buffet, but good and adequate (+ nice service!). The reception staff was more than helpful, a big plus. Some construction work in the next house or so during the day, - but very peaceful and quiet during the night.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are have morning sun and are quiet during most of the day + night. The room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was an overnight stay before a flight the next morning. Great walking area with many shops and cafes with beach across the street. Good value and very friendly and helpful staff. We will stay here again when traveling through Rome to and from the airport

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Overnight stay for a flight the next day, so what else do you need? March being very off-season here, they have cultivated their niche. Good value, heating and hot water functioning, good beds. Again, it fits the bill!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanKnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Ostia
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 6 in Lido di Ostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 6 in Lido di Ostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Belvedere Century
#3 of 6 in Lido di Ostia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Barcelo Aran Blu
Barcelo Aran Blu
#413 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Hotel Ping Pong
#5 of 6 in Lido di Ostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Ostia Antica Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ostia Antica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Scaletta

Property: Hotel La Scaletta
Address: Lungomare Paolo Toscanelli 130, 00121 Lido di Ostia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Lido di Ostia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Scaletta 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scaletta Lazio
La Scaletta Hotel Lazio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing