We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Good Service, Good Value”
Review of Hotel La Scaletta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Scaletta
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Service, Good Value”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Really good value for the price. We got the first floor seaside room. There was some mixup with the booking but they sorted it out and made sure we got what we expect. They do have some arrangements with some of the local businesses to get there guests some discounts. The room was clean and true to the pictures. Free towels for the beach. Only negative for us was that the WiFi was weak at times.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    202
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
93
167
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very clean modern rooms. Lovely very helpful staff and an excellent location made our stay very pleasant. A Small draw back was a pay-after-24 hours internet. But overall we had a great time at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaVasyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
298 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very sweet, reasonably price hotel across the street from the beech. It's a quick trip by car to the archeological site - Ostia Antica - a place well worth the visit.
The room I had was comfortable and easy to reach by way of the phone booth sized elevator. Desk extremely helpful with directions. Good shower,, wifi, and SKY TV.
What you don't see in pictures is that the ground floor house a McDonald's.. The only parking is on the street and a bit tricky at high food times. The breakfast is quite limited - breads for toast, sweet rolls, coffee or cappuccino, yogurt cups, and cold cereal. Breakfast room is clean and appealing and well maintained.
About the wifi. There are hotspots in many locations. If you are using more than one device, ask for as many user names and passwords as you have devices. Access is free and there was no problem getting multiple access codes.
All the staff are extremely helpful and eager to make the stay enjoyable. Mine was. Were I to return, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my wife decided to stay close to the airport due to early flight and the decision was very good. It is a small and cosy hotel near the center of Lido di Ostia. Everything happens nearby. It has a McDonalds bellow for those who like 'fast-junk food.
The room was clean and cosy. We got a room with astonished sea view.
The staff was helpful and friendly.
A good value for money!

Room Tip: Room with a view, definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After coming back from a 7 day Mediterranean cruise aboard the msc lirica where we were spoiled like a grandparent would spoil their only grAndkid. We stayed at hotel la Caravella for 3 days, from 9 May to 12 may. And guess what? We continued to be spoiled! The hotel was An exceptional value for the price and there were NO hidden charges whatsoever! Breakfast was sufficient, wifi worked like a charm, staff was exceptional, room was very clean, shuttle service to the airport was only 15 euros for my wife and I (compared to 60 euros last time we were in ostia lido last year), and it was extremely convenient to get into downtown rome on the local train. My wife and I will definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel with exceptional value and amenities!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Tyrrhenian Sea, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

La Scaletta is right across the street from the boardwalk at Lido di Ostia and our room had a lovely little balcony with a table and chairs and a view of the sea. This property is quite near Fiumicino airport, but not so close it is at all noisy, the perfect place to stay when staying overnight before or after a flight. there are many restaurants nearby to choose from. Our room was inexpensive, clean and nicely appointed. A substantial breakfast was served in the morning. The staff friendly and very helpful, managing to print off a boarding pass for one person in our party. Will chose this hotel again next time I either arrive late or need to leave early from Rome...no complaints at all!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Mediterranean. We were in 202. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

If u are looking for good clean accomodation which is not too expensive (not easy around Rome!) this is the place for you
Just 30 mins outside the city by train it is well worth it as it by the seaside and close to fiumincino airport
The staff are friendly and speak great English. There were also little touches like 2 small Easter eggs on both our pillow for Easter Sunday!
It is spacious as Rome accomodation goes and excellent value. I will stay again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nors83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Ostia
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Belvedere Century
#3 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Barcelo Aran Blu
Barcelo Aran Blu
#404 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Hotel Ping Pong
#4 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Hotel La Riva
#6 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Scaletta

Property: Hotel La Scaletta
Address: Lungomare Paolo Toscanelli 130, 00121 Lido di Ostia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Lido di Ostia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Scaletta 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scaletta Lazio
La Scaletta Hotel Lazio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing