We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Beach Location!”
Review of Hotel La Scaletta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Scaletta
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was amazing! Very clean, great breakfast and right across from the beach! My husband and I stayed here for one night before we flew back home. The hotel is only a 20 minute ride to FCO airport in Rome. Lido di Ostia is a great beach town with many restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa2014646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

* Great stay, very affordable price
* Room was modern, clean and very functional (Sound proof windows are great)
* Reception service was great and very resourceful. Good breakfast!
* Great location, 5 minute walk from train station, from there you can go to Rome. The hotel is also close to many restaurants.
* If you stay in Lido di Ostia, you MUST visit Ostia Antica ( take the train). Great archeological site, I enjoyed it better than Pompei

Room Tip: 3rd floor room seemed to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Really good value for the price. We got the first floor seaside room. There was some mixup with the booking but they sorted it out and made sure we got what we expect. They do have some arrangements with some of the local businesses to get there guests some discounts. The room was clean and true to the pictures. Free towels for the beach. Only negative for us was that the WiFi was weak at times.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very clean modern rooms. Lovely very helpful staff and an excellent location made our stay very pleasant. A Small draw back was a pay-after-24 hours internet. But overall we had a great time at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaVasyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very sweet, reasonably price hotel across the street from the beech. It's a quick trip by car to the archeological site - Ostia Antica - a place well worth the visit.
The room I had was comfortable and easy to reach by way of the phone booth sized elevator. Desk extremely helpful with directions. Good shower,, wifi, and SKY TV.
What you don't see in pictures is that the ground floor house a McDonald's.. The only parking is on the street and a bit tricky at high food times. The breakfast is quite limited - breads for toast, sweet rolls, coffee or cappuccino, yogurt cups, and cold cereal. Breakfast room is clean and appealing and well maintained.
About the wifi. There are hotspots in many locations. If you are using more than one device, ask for as many user names and passwords as you have devices. Access is free and there was no problem getting multiple access codes.
All the staff are extremely helpful and eager to make the stay enjoyable. Mine was. Were I to return, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my wife decided to stay close to the airport due to early flight and the decision was very good. It is a small and cosy hotel near the center of Lido di Ostia. Everything happens nearby. It has a McDonalds bellow for those who like 'fast-junk food.
The room was clean and cosy. We got a room with astonished sea view.
The staff was helpful and friendly.
A good value for money!

Room Tip: Room with a view, definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After coming back from a 7 day Mediterranean cruise aboard the msc lirica where we were spoiled like a grandparent would spoil their only grAndkid. We stayed at hotel la Caravella for 3 days, from 9 May to 12 may. And guess what? We continued to be spoiled! The hotel was An exceptional value for the price and there were NO hidden charges whatsoever! Breakfast was sufficient, wifi worked like a charm, staff was exceptional, room was very clean, shuttle service to the airport was only 15 euros for my wife and I (compared to 60 euros last time we were in ostia lido last year), and it was extremely convenient to get into downtown rome on the local train. My wife and I will definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel with exceptional value and amenities!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Tyrrhenian Sea, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Ostia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#3 of 8 in Lido di Ostia
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#7 of 8 in Lido di Ostia
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riva
Hotel La Riva
#5 of 8 in Lido di Ostia
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ping Pong
Hotel Ping Pong
#4 of 8 in Lido di Ostia
250 reviews
0 mi away
Belvedere Century
Belvedere Century
#8 of 8 in Lido di Ostia
223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Scaletta

Address: Lungomare Paolo Toscanelli 130, 00121 Lido di Ostia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Lido di Ostia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Price Range: £31 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Scaletta 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scaletta Lazio
La Scaletta Hotel Lazio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing