We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Vecchia Hotel
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed for 5 days in a double room. Hotel is located in a beautiful area of Castelli Romani, only 15 min walk to the centre of Frascati, amongst the pine forest, with many fruit trees and an olive grove on its territory. Interior is not bad either - sunlit lobby, atmospheric restaurant at the basement level.
after all this, why isn't it a 5* rating? Well, first and foremost - the cleanliness, i.e. the carpets were stained and the shower had mould, which is extremely off-putting. While the room itself and the bathroom were good-sized, the shower was tiny - to an extent you'd hit the wall with pretty much every move. Having said that, a colleague was staying in a single room and the situation was the opposite - shower was over a bathtub, however the room was tiny and darkish. On top of that, half the lamps in my room didn't work.
Finally, while the staff was generally OK, on one occasion I was patronised in a very annoying way by the restaurant hostess, and they managed to mess up my taxi booking.
The breakfast was fine but nothing special, I'd say below our expectations. The wifi was slow and the signal was very weak in some parts of the hotel.
Overall, it's an OK choice for a short stay, coupled with a conference (as was mine) or a wedding (there were two held during my stay), but I'd recommend somewhere in town (Frascati or Monteporzio Catone) for a more atmospheric & relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anya_Ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was a little nervous about the place by some of the reviews but once we arrived I thought to myself, these people must have never been to Europe before!!! Room was nice, no compaints what so ever!! We spent two night here and can't say anything negative about it!! Really enjoyed talking with the bartender and our attempt to communicate with him not know a lot of English and me not knowing much Italian. Good thing for Google translator!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBGBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed in Villa Vecchia for 2 nights on a coach tour from Uk . Check in was good as we had porterage and our tour manager sorted out rooms . Porterage was good with cases arriving within 10 minutes of unloading from coach.
Our room was good overlooking back garden and was very quiet . Beds comfortable and shower and toilet all clean and worked well . Hotel was clean as were room and bathroom , towels changed daily . No tea making facilities but that is sadly quite normal in many europe mainland hotels. However for the short stay room was good , dinner and breakfast good . Overall a pleasant stay short stay .
It is easy access to room by train or if your brave driving , we had our coach to take us in and return .
i would stay again even if i was a independent traveler very nice place .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easyrider39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of a coach tour. I agree with others that the hotel is out of town but this did not worry us as the coach took us into Frascati. We also went to Rome on the train. The hotel is really nice and the staff were great. We were able to borrow an adapter from reception at no charge. The wifi in our room was fantastic, we had no trouble accessing it and the speed was good. The food was good at dinner and breakfast. The yogurt was dispensed from a machine and you could top it with jam also dispensed from small containers. All in all we had a lovely stay

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived at our hotel 3 hours before check in hoping to get in our room early so we could venture off to Rome. We were the only ones there and asked for early check in. The reception staff was very rude and basically ignored us. I went to the desk several times and asked but to no avail. At 2:00 we were given our keys and not a minute early. (Check in was at 2:00) Breakfast which was $8 euro was terrible, very little variety. The service for both breakfast and lunch lacked something to be desired. On a better note dinner was out of this world and service was great. Hotel is in desperate need of updating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in the Rome suburbs, about a five minute drive from the train station, a twenty minute ride to the city centre. The room was clean and the grounds are nice. Don't pay an extra 30 for a room with a view. We got a room without a view and woke up to Olive Groves. The breakfast buffet was good for eating a lot of just okay food to keep you going until noon. The blonde chick at the front desk was not very professional, but the rest were very professional, so I'm thinking the blonde isn't there anymore. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

At the moment of this review,may-21st-2014,I am staying in room 1014 which unfortunately I could not leave early because it was paid in full and have an itinerary that can not be changed.When we arrived 2 days ago we noticed that our room carpet was particularly dirty and requested a room change.Rude,unfriendly, badly trained staff at the reception,specially a lady named Sara ,initially tried to sell a higher rate room,then told that there weren't any more rooms available to finally say that all rooms were at the same condition.In room tv is an old fashion 13'' which is barely impossible to watch from your bed.Comfort is missing,as an example if you want to take a shower,the space between the faucet and door is no more than 40cm(16 inc),air conditioner is not working.No in room internet,only in public areas.There is a so called "sala villa vecchia" where almost every hotel guest is during evenings trying to use the 0.50 mbps internet service and you'll be lucky if find an space to seat down.Breakfast is poor,no fresh juices,dispensers for everything,do not expect something like an Italian coffee or a real orange juice.I have been many times in Frascati area because I use it as my initial point to explore the country and have been in other properties but this time I made a big mistake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Porzio Catone
0.7 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
539 reviews
1 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#2 of 4 in Grottaferrata
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colonna
Hotel Colonna
#3 of 14 in Frascati
283 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castel Vecchio
Castel Vecchio
#2 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vecchia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vecchia Hotel

Address: Via Frascati, 49, 00040 Monte Porzio Catone, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Monte Porzio Catone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monte Porzio Catone
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Vecchia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Vecchia, a 4 star historical monastery/hotel based in the outskirts of Frascati town. Offers 96 rooms, a big extensive park with 500 olive groves and outdoor swimming pool, conference facilities and restaurant Il Vignola which serves traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Vecchia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vecchia Hotel Rome, Italy - Monte Porzio Catone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing