We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place good room”
Review of Domus Caesari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus Caesari
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place good room”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, obviously used as a wedding venue for locals. The grounds are nice and there is plenty of parking. The triple room we had was spacious and clean and had a big bathroom with a fantastic shower. We ate at the restaurant and the food was alright but the service was not good and the meals we were given did not seem to be what we ordered. It isn't cheap either but convenient if you don't want to go out.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    95
    46
    15
    20
See reviews for
78
113
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

booked via internet on way up from Salerno

the place overlooks Rome and is the ideal venue for weddings and conferences etc

Marino is very near and has some lovely places to eat and the place is near to some nice lakes

beware of taxi drivers though and agree price before you get in as they will double or treble it if you seem like a tourist

Room Tip: the hotel was fairly empty when we were there so can't offer any specific room advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days, I personally couldn't fault it. Everything that is on the website is true. The photos of the rooms do not do them justice! Beyond beautiful. The staff didn't speak much English but that is on us (why should they have to speak English? We went to their country so really we should've done more research and made the effort to learn Italian) They were very friendly and helpful. I can't really fault the place (and believe me, I am one fussy lady!) I go for style over practicality when it comes to hotels. We found the train station and we should have got a car but that is nothing to do with this beautiful hotel. The food was amazing, the carbonara was just divine. The waiter was very helpful and very patient. We came down a little late for breakfast one morning but the waitress was very kind and set everything up. The reception staff were wonderful. The lovely lady behind the desk even took us back to the hotel when we were trekking up the busy road and told us about the quieter (and quicker since we used the train) back road to get to the station. The room was always clean and fresh. It was positively gorgeous. All in all it is a great value for money (5 star hotel for like a 2 star price!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenWatson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We had one night because we landed late in Fiumichino, and we wanted to tour the Castelli area on the way to the south.
Only half an hour from the airport. A very quite place.
The rooms are generous (huge!), well furnished, well kept and very clean. Breakfast was generous.
The sevice was very wellcoming.
The whole area is worth at least a two day tour! Next time (and same hotel)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZ1TelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely hotel, with great views out across to Rome. Very handy for Ciampino airport. Had booked a family room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and great value for money. After a long, hot day in Rome ordered drinks for the room, however ended up going to reception to collect when they hadn't appeared after 20 minutes. No other complaints, the breakfast was good and the hotel was a great respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. One tip, if you are travelling into Rome by train it is worth checking with reception what the arrangements are for buying tickets. There is no machine at the station and not worth risking the return journey without a ticket as you may be asked to leave the train and buy a ticket before getting on the next train. Would use the hotel again for a Rome city break.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djdalkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We wanted a hotel close to the Ciampino airport for our 6 am flight the next day and I picked this one. We did get lost getting there, but once we found it, it looked quite beautiful from the outside. It does sit on top of a hill and has a gorgeous view at night. We did eat at the hotel restaurant and loved the food! Our room was the family room on the top, so it was odd with just the sky lights, but it was big and was a clean place to stay for the night, but really dated. The bathroom was really large with newer fixtures. While it was an oddball of a room, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms on the 1st and second floor would be a bit grander than the family room on the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coraletta L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf City USA
Level 6 Contributor
793 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Domus Caesari is in a beautiful location, about 25 kilometers south of downtown Rome, on an ancient hill overlooking the city. In summer months, it is a cool respite from the sweaty, smoky valley below. It is only about five kilometers from Ciampino airport, although a good 25 km from Fiumicino. The property is gorgeous, as is the hotel. The standard rooms can be small and claustrophobic (no windows), but if a nicer room is available - and you ask politely - the very courteous staff seems agreeable to upgrading you at no charge. The furnishings are the highest quality. Wifi is free in the lobby. Parking is free and ample - and you will probably need a car, although there are two train stations (to Rome Termini) within very short walking distance of the property. The ancient cities of Marino and Castel Gandolfo are nearby, with excellent restaurants, shops and services. The restaurant on the property is very good, in our experience, and reasonably priced. There's no pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window; any direction it may face will afford a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marino
1.7 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
2.1 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tenuta Cusmano
Tenuta Cusmano
#1 of 4 in Grottaferrata
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
1.5 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Caesari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Caesari

Property: Domus Caesari
Address: Via Romana 23, Marino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Caesari 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Caesari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Caesari Hotel Marino
Domus Caesari Marino
Domus Caesari Rome, Italy - Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing