We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Excel Ciampino - good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Originally disappointed when we realised hotel was 20km outside of Rome centre and bus services not that reliable however hotel was immaculately clean, staff very helpful and continental breakfast excellent. We asked staff for a local map, as we had hired a car, so we could tour the local area as well as Rome city. Just a few kilometres away we found the most beautiful lake called Lago Albano well worth a visit as are all the small villages in the area. Shuttle bus from hotel to airport only does 3 trips a day 8am, 10am & 12noon so if your flight is at any other time you need to contact the hotel to see they can organise the bus for you. Our room was very spacious with a patio area to sit out, maid service every day with clean towels and new toiletries provided, air conditioning and wifi both free. We found parking at Ciampino train station and taking the train into to Rome was far easier than driving in. Trains are regular (1.50 euro) and very clean.

Room Tip: Toilet door is a sliding door which in our case had slid that far back we didn't know we had a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Jill S,

Great :)
Hugely happy that you enjoyed our Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino to the full! Your experience will provide useful suggestions to our future guests, thanks you very much.
We will be glad to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

what a shame it could be a very nice, useful place to stay near to the airport. we booked it because it was close to the airport we were arriving late, needed to leave early and there is a free shuttle to the airport (only 5km away) read the small print the shuttle is only free to the airport but 36 euro to pick us up !! more than a taxi and the free shuttle is only 8, 10, and 12 noon, but guess what the only 1 we could use the 8am was full, so my question was, if its only a 5km 10 minute drive away from the airport and the shuttle belongs to the hotel what is the driver doing between 8.20 am and10 am that is so important he cant do another trip ? we shared a taxi with another couple who could not get on the 8am free shuttle. the receptions answer was 3 free shuttles was the rule so tough.

the whole hotel needs a really good clean you can see the day to day cleaning is being done but its grubby the furniture in our room had holes in it and the bathroom was moldy.

when we arrived it was 9pm not too late to get food in Italy and as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere you would think its a good money making opportunity ? we were told they had no food but there was a bar around 15 minutes walk away. when we explained we were tired and did not want to walk, all of a sudden they had pizza's at 12 euros each. that's quite a lot in Italy as pizza's in st marks sq are only around 8 euro's but needs must and since we were not very hungry we decided to share one. what turned up at our room around 40 minutes later was the smallest, worst cardboard version of a frozen pizza I have ever seen or tasted. it was terrible and inedible. save your money stay in Rome and pay 8 euro's more than it cost us to get our taxi to the airport from 5km away

Room Tip: make sure you chose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billiewhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our room was not located in the main building, but in an annex.
Although probably not at the level of a "4 stars" hotel, the room (superior double) was very large (sleeping room + living room) and clean. The breakfast had a reasonable choice. Great value for money, but a car is absolutely needed to travel around autonomously (avoiding Rome's rush hour, the center can be reached in approx 30/40 mins by car).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear andt3,

Thanks for your positive review; we are happy you enjoyed your stay and grateful for your right suggestions: car is needed to easily visit Castelli Romani or Rome and, if it is missing, you can trust in our free round-trip transfer by shuttle to/from the close train station!

Hope to seeing you soon, best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nothing fancy but it works if you want to visit Rome on the budget. We spent 4 nights there and didn't have any problems. Breakfast was decent, no hot items, but tons of other choices. As noted in other review, if you comming from the South you have to drive down to the next light make a right turn, then a u turn and go back via appia towards the hotel. Overall parking is pretty safe safeand the train station is about 10 min drive. The noise from the airplanes was not bad and there were no flyovers after 10pm. We got the 2 room suite for less than 90 euros. Wifi worked everywhere but on the balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyb2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear tommyb2111,

Thank you very much for your nice review; it was a pleasure welcoming you.
We are happy that you appreciated rooms and services of our Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino and that you highlighted the convenience of our quiet location, ideal for visiting Rome on the budget, by car or by train; we hope next time you will also enjoy Castelli Romani area with its breath-taking panoramas and popular wine and food tours. We will be glad to suggest you the best itineraries.

Looking forward to seeing from you soon, best wishes,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Overall this hotel is very nice, however location isn't great, to get in to Central Rome you have to catch a bus to the local metro station (25 mins, Anangina) and then use the metro to get to different destinations (one line, not difficult, 25 mins average). There are different buildings to the hotel, and as a family of five we were put in 2 rooms in different buildings, which after 2 days of asking we finally got moved to the same building. The staff are generally friendly, it is a clean hotel, our room was cleaned to a good standard every morning. While I didn't actually use the fitness room, it looked pretty decent, and the breakfast was good, continental, with plenty of choice. I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind travelling by bus and metro in to Central, or if your just staying for the airport, which isn't far at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDee232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear KDee232323,

Many thanks for your favourable comment; we are glad you enjoyed the choice of our Breakfast, the work of our Cleaning team and the reception of our Staff. We are sorry we could not move you to the same building the day of arrival but we had not any remark about this requirement and we were completely full; it was a pleasure accomodating you at our earliest opportunity.
We are sure next time you will try our free shuttle to appreciate in full our location too: instead of bus + metro and 40 minutes journey, you can use our complimentary transfer to the station and take the train reaching Rome in just 15 minutes! Let us indicate you :)

We look forward to welcoming you soon, best wishes,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were with a group when we stayed at this hotel. Our room was clean and the air conditioner was working (not so for some). The breakfasts were good with a choice of breads and cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit, meat and cheese as well as juice and coffee or cappuccino. We also had lunch catered one day and it was very good. The WiFi worked well in our room, but we did need to get assistance from the front desk when logging in the first time. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive. Our only reason for not choosing this hotel again is the location. It is a long bus ride to the centre of Rome and access to public transportation was not great. Fortunately, we had a bus picking us up each day so we did not have to take cabs or other transportation. If you have a rental car or looking for an overnight near the Ciampino Airport then this would be the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowflake25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Snowflake25,

Thanks for the satisfaction you expressed, your delight is our delight and your approval is our mission.
Shame you had not the opportunity to enjoy Castelli Romani area! You are right when you describe the links to Rome and we gladly support our guests in this: in fact, our hotel/station/hotel transfers are free so you can take the morning train reaching Rome in just 15 minutes and come back in the late afternoon by our complimentary station pick-up!
If you look for a relaxing stay in Castelli Romani nature, a unique wine and food experience and a drop-in at Rome patrimony, this is the Hotel for you :)

We hope seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Titled as pointless because I really don't understand the reason people would stay here. The main reason for this is the terrible location! Don't be fooled by the name, the hotel isn't even near ciampino so not useful for the airport or train station and is significantly far from Rome. Don't get me wrong we were aware that would have to travel to get into Rome but we weren't prepared for the awful transport links. The hotel will tell you that they run a shuttle to the airport and the train station, this is only on the hotel's terms. It runs at 8, 10 and 12 in the morning but was getting full quickly when we stayed which was supposedly a quiet time. They also will only take you to the train station at ciampino from which you have to get yourself into Rome. The other option is a bus and a metro which I would not advise due to the incredible lack of signage for bus stops. Coming back to the hotel was even worse! There us one train that you can get at 1928 and you have to ring the hotel to be picked up. All sounds ok in principle but not when the phone lines go down and you can't get in contact with them! Fortunately we met another couple who had been in contact with the hotel less than 30 minutes before, unfortunately the hotel still told them to ring when they got off the train! The other couple emailed twice but still no reply. There are no passing taxis around this area and it was very hard to find out how to contact one. A local shop owner contacted a taxi who wanted €35. If it was just me and my friend I would be very concerned to get in this taxi. Fortunately the hotel eventually picked up after an hour and we were collected. The man on reception was not very helpful and kept saying he would check the phones which we knew were now working! He admitted that he had the emails but hadn't read them! I can only agree with previous reviews regarding rude staff especially on reception, the only way I can describe it is that they seemed inconvenienced that we were there.
I do not feel that there's any point on leaving a long review regarding the actual hotel as as I've stated I really can't see what the purpose of this hotel is. There is nothing around the hotel so we were back every night by 8 due to the train times. We did have a broken fridge and a 1970s hairdryer and the hotel has no restaurant so not much else to write home about. Unless you want to get taxis everywhere stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k11ytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear dublin3469,

Many thanks for your review: we are grateful when our guests offer constructive sparks that our future guests can exploit. Of course, it is easier arguing when awareness about the matter is in both sides but, in any way, our aim is precisely this and we are glad to make you achieve.
As you surely read before booking, our rooms do not offer minibar and our restaurant is available for events and meetings; in the neighbourhood you can find a good choice of typical meals served at agreed restaurants.

Apart from our deep apologies about one of our 2 phone lines that were temporarily out of order, we take this opportunity to explain - also by Tripadvisor - the reason people stay in this location: contact with the silent nature, benefit of the vicinity to Ciampino airport and possibility to reach Rome in 30min taking advantage of our free shuttle. What we tell to our clients is true, as you can double check by our official website, by the flyers at the front desk, by our Reception Staff; of course our shuttle is on our hotel’s terms... A recap will be useful for you:

- free transfer hotel>Ciampino airport at 8am – 10am – 12midday, bookable 24hr in advance and rides until all the expected clients have been led to the airport;
- free round trip transfer hotel/station/hotel to take the train reaching Rome in 15min: hotel>station at 8am – 10am – 12midday and station>hotel at 20pm, you just ring us to be picked up at the time you wish.

The “purpose” (in your words) of our position is a convenient location in the heart of the Castelli Romani landscapes, 5km from Ciampino airport, 20km from Rome. Perfect if you are looking for a relaxing stay and a quick visit of the movida in the Capital, not if you are looking for the movida and a quick visit of a relaxing site; where to stay can only be decided by you, beforehand.

We hope next time you will feel like enjoying our area but also our comfortable rooms, our free amenities, our welcome; we are always at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marino
2.3 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
15.2 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
3.6 mi away
CiampinoHotel
CiampinoHotel
#3 of 6 in Ciampino
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
352 reviews
4 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#2 of 4 in Grottaferrata
563 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#1 of 3 in Ariccia
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino

Address: Via Appia Nuova 160 | Km 20.300, 00040, Marino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Price Range: £30 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino is a welcoming 4 stars First Class in the heart of the famous Castelli Romani, with a strategic location near Rome Ciampino airport. Rome is only 20km away and is well connected by the G.R.A. motorway. At guests' disposal: 76 comfortable rooms, fitness room at no extra charge, free parking, free wi-fi, shuttle from Hotel to Ciampino airport for departures in the morning, a stylish lounge bar, a modern business centre and lovely gardens for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Hotel
Dei Consoli Rome
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino Rome, Italy - Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing