We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover after arriving at Ciampino airport. It was clean, the room was spacious, and the staff were really great.

For the price we paid, this hotel is excellent value.

Its location meanings it's an airport hotel, not one to stay in to see the sights, but as an airport hotel, it was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJFC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear HJFC2014,

Many thanks for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Our location is perfect to see the sights instead! 30 minutes from Rome by our free shuttle and local train, and few minutes driving from all the major attractions of Castelli Romani: landscapes, parks, monuments and wine&food… never heard?

We look forward to welcoming soon,

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    208
    154
    79
    77
See reviews for
179
183
25
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carluke
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had stayed at this Hotel a couple of years ago while sightseeing in Rome and found its location good for travelling by car from the airport and into Rome and surrounding areas. We had no hesitation returning when touring to Sorrento and returning to Rome this year. However on this occasion we found the hotel to be a little tired and the restaurant closed to residents unless there was a bus party of a size that you could join! The transient nature of the hotel was confirmed by the arrival of buses of American teenagers who tended to stay for just one overnight and breakfasted early - so avoid sharp start in the morning. We would recommend the superior rooms which are in an annex to the Hotel. The rooms are large with separate bedroom and a kitchen and dining area (please note use of kitchen area attracts additional cost of 20 euros per night). Also with the restaurant being closed at night finding food can be difficult unless you have a car. We hired a car from Gold Car at Ciampino and as very experienced travellers we would say DO NOT USE THEM.

Room Tip: superior double rooms offer more space with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southlanarksire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear southlana,

Thanks for your preference; it was a pleasure welcoming you again.
If you wish to stay at hotel for dinner, let’s try one of our Excel Menus: pizza, pasta, meat and vegetables in the soft atmosphere of our Lounge Bar. You will be not be forced to hiring a car.

We wait for your next visit :)

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

To start off, we got to our room and I just wanted to have a shower. The drain wasn't working as it should be. We asked to change rooms (by the way, they don't look like the pictures) and they said to us that the whole hotel was fully booked at the moment but next morning they would change us. Ok. Next morning, another member of their staff said to us that the hotel was still fully booked and he could send someone to fix the drain and to change the mattress for a double mattress (there was two single mattresses connected as one double bed, which would disconnect during the night, not comfortable at all). They changed the mattress but drain was still not working properly.
Internet didn't work in our room either. When asked to the staff about it, they said they would fix it. Never called us back. We called them a few other times when the lady said she couldn't do anything about it and internet should work downstairs. O.o
Breakfast was very poor. In fact, my husband got sick after one breakfast. We can't ensure it's related but the things tasted very old.
Except for one staff member I can't remember the name, all staff were rude and not helpful at all.
Very bad location, horrible surroundings, kind of ghetto area. Wouldn't go back there or recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebride2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear anniebrid,

Again, we are afraid for all the inconveniences. We were fully booked indeed; we did our best to move you to an alternative room but it was not possible, extremely sorry.
We hope you will give us a second chance, we are sure we will make you change your mind.

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marino hotels

Collierville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

About 30 minutes outside of Rome. I found it clean, quiet and friendly! The elevators were a bit slow, but I was on the third floor, so it wan't a problem for me. The beds were comfortable and sleep came easily.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PackYourBaguios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel is located in the proximity of Ciampino Airport in Rome. Not the ideal location for tourists of the Italian Capital, however, for business travellers that do not need to be in Rome city centre, I can highly recommend the hotel: cheap, easy to get to and with really large rooms. The hotel offers free breakfast with a great buffet choice, a gym and ample car park. The only down side is that the rooms, require some small improvements to bring the establishment up to the 4 star level.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisites81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Chrisites,

We are really happy to read your positive review and grateful you gave useful information to our future guests about location, services and free amenities at our Excel Roma Ciampino.
We hope you will come back soon, it will be a pleasure welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Room was lovely, clean and a nice size. However, the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The shuttle bus was very handy to get to the train station in the morning as the hotel is quite far away from there. It would have been nicer if the shuttle bus ran more frequently and allowed us to get the airport in the evening. The service was very helpful, especially Luigi who spoke excellent English. The food was quite a standard cold spread, with not much variety.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear BethanyHo,

Many thanks for your review and lovely words about service, room and staff of our Excel Roma Ciampino.
Your suggestions are always helpful: we are going to evaluate some transfers more during our peak periods, when the clients’ requests for our shuttle is high. And the sofa bed: we prioritised check and possibly replacement.

We look forward to seeing you soon, kind wishes,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Good hotel, very small shower. Nice breakfast buffet. Adequate meeting room. There are two buildings on the premisis. It is at least a 40 minute drive to the center of Rome in traffic. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Susan M,

We are glad you enjoyed our Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, thanks for the kind words about our Staff and our buffet Breakfast :)

We look forward to seeing you soon, best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marino
15.2 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
3.6 mi away
CiampinoHotel
CiampinoHotel
#3 of 6 in Ciampino
672 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#439 of 1,261 in Rome
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
7.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
7.6 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#391 of 1,261 in Rome
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino

Property: Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Address: Via Appia Nuova 160 | Km 20.300, 00040, Marino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino is a welcoming 4 stars First Class in the heart of the famous Castelli Romani, with a strategic location near Rome Ciampino airport. Rome is only 20km away and is well connected by the G.R.A. motorway. At guests' disposal: 76 comfortable rooms, fitness room at no extra charge, free parking, free wi-fi, shuttle from Hotel to Ciampino airport for departures in the morning, a stylish lounge bar, a modern business centre and lovely gardens for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Hotel
Dei Consoli Rome
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino Rome, Italy - Marino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing