We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad-bad-bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gold

Hotel Gold
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gold
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Terchova
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“bad-bad-bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Terrible experience. Never more. We booked a room for 5 nights to go with a little girl of 2,5. The web presentation is very good and catching, so we went. Good parking possibility and a nice garden and play ground was the only positive point. After we decided to have a lunch which was promissed to be at cca 3€/person while standing in the hotel. We ended up at 12€ for food of very poor quality. After we went up to the room. What a surprise! 3 x 3 m place where 2 beds and a little bed for a kid was squeezed. No room to move around. The ceiling in the tiny and dirty bathroom was "rotten", pitrid, smelly, awful.
We realy run away, cancelled the booking and find a different place.
Even the hall and the restaurant look bad and dirty, like the old socialist age.
I put one point only because the system does not allow to submit the review with zero.

Room Tip: Do not vaste your money here.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Nela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hotel and the staff are realy nice and gentle.The food is very good thanks to the chief. The room had fantastic view to Janosik and the mountain. The General manager and most of the staff speak good english.One of the best hotels that I've tried in Slovakia.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to Janosik and The Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimitarsSofiisk... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

first day - good experience. second day - poor food quality, extremely high prices, plastic cups for drinks. all happened because of a festival happening in the village. they dump their customers because of one time event. never more...

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Nice and pretty hotel -three star.Nice nature for tourist,walking,trip and skiing.there are spa ,tennis court,pool,sauna...It is in Slovak national park in Karpaty.In middle europe.Only 30 minutes with car to the capital middle slovakia big town Zilina.Currency is euro,now is in good price.Nice trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sege6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

We (4 hikers) did stay @ hotel Gold for 3 nights in oct 2007. We did book our two rooms (bckfst only) by email. The reservation was easy and the conversation was friendly. Upon arrival - owing to low season - the hotel was close to emtpty. So we dared to ask whether we could change to 2 appartments that were offered at low rate. It was not possible. The only thing we were told was that the apps. don't have a balcony. This indicated that our rooms DO have a balcony - which they didn't. It must be stressed that a language problem might have led to all this - so not all their fault.

The whole hotel was sort of dingy (dirty would be too strong). The upper floor of the hotel bar did look like a room after a party with a bunch of teenagers. In the Restaurant, the tablecloths were full of stains and over the whole stay we felt sort of bothersome to the staff. The rooms were ok and the fair wooden balks do create a cosy atmosphere. The bathrooms were ok but it was also evident, that they would need a more intense cleaning from time to time. The fridge was not plugged in in both rooms. Room cleaning did not happen at all, despite there acutally was a cleaner in the house. They did not provide new toilett rolls - not talking of doing beds or something. No mayor problem. But it added to our feeling of not being wellcommed. And there was that thing with the garden. The webpage does praise the "world famous" hotel garden to be one of the region's main attractions. Well - we did not choose the hotel for it's garden. But it is worth to mention that this 8th world wonder is nothing but a few huts beyond their best days, next to the littered hotel parking.

The hotel might do better in high season. I even would return for a short stay. The landscape is great and one can not expect a 5 star service for the low price they charge. But the village provides a number of small + cosy pensions. I would rather stay in one of those. The small + friendly tourist office in Terchova can provide good information.

  • Liked — The price was, in general, reasonable - although small, more personal pensions in the village probably charge less. Good and frequent connection with public transport (Busses) to all places of interest and to trailheads.
  • Disliked — Cleanlyness, friendlyness, hotel surroundings (Parking lot, garden), no interest from staff to create an ambience of good and honest hospitality, which is very unusual in SK.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regenkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Terchova hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Terchova hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Boboty
Hotel Boboty
#2 of 4 in Terchova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diery
Hotel Diery
#1 of 4 in Terchova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.1 mi away
Penzion Sagan
Penzion Sagan
#1 of 23 in Terchova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Rozsutec
Hotel & Spa Rozsutec
#3 of 4 in Terchova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pod Sokolim
Hotel Pod Sokolim
#20 of 23 in Terchova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
2.1 mi away
Penzion Muran
Penzion Muran
#10 of 23 in Terchova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gold

Property: Hotel Gold
Address: Vratnanska 287, Terchova 013 06, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Terchova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Terchova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gold 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing