We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation from my vacation”
Review of Gocta Andes Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gocta Andes Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Chachapoyas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our trip to Gocta Lodge was intended to be a little break from our hectic journey around Peru. Fairly off the beaten track (we took a painful 10 hour bus ride from Tarapoto) Gocta was certainly a vacation from our vacation. The room was comfy, clean and modern. The view was ridiculous (in a good way). The staff were beyond helpful. And the food was perfect.

One word of warning however - be careful what bus company you choose if you decide to take a bus from Tarapoto. Consider even taking a taxi to Nueva Cajamarca - Pedro Ruiz - Gocta lodge. The entire journey back in taxi took around 5 hours and cost only £25 and was easy to coordinate with taxi companies. Our journey there took 10 hours with the bus company Ejetur - it was long,hot, dirty, uncomfortable.

Go to Gocta Lodge. Don't use Ejetur.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank hkirky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Once you pass the rustic village, Gotac Lodge just feels like an oasis. It has the best view of Gocta Falls and the surrounding mountains. There is a small pool, plenty of lounge chairs and even a family of illamas in the garden. It felt so relaxing, peaceful to getaway, no internet at the hotel, no TV and phone in the room too.

The room is very spacious. I had the ground floor room with sliding doors to the garden and view towards the falls. There is a queen bed and a single bed which also double up as a sofa. The bed is really comfortable with soft duvet. Spacious bathroom too with good hot water.

Breakfast was buffet, in addition to the usual fare, they have whole grain bread, local breakfast food of rice dumpling with beans and chicken. Dinner was good too. Overall, very polite and attentive service.

It was a great 2.5 hour hike to the base of the falls through farmland and cloud forest too.

Would love to be back if it is not so tedious to get to.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank chezkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This lodge was voted one of the five hotels in Peru with the best views, and it certainly deserves it. It is a beautiful oasis in the boondocks, on a hill about 5 kilometres from the 3rd highest waterfall in the world. Every room has a perfect view of the waterfall.
Considering its isolation, it is remarkably good quality and well-appointed, with maybe the only slight negative being the brownish water coming out of the taps.
The rooms (there are only 8, plus 2 suites) are all very comfortable, if basic. There is no TV in the room (there is a shared one near the lobby, but no one seemed interested in it.) There is no Wifi in the hotel at all, and cellphone service is patchy at best, depending on the carrier.
This is an excellent place to relax and use as a base to visit the waterfall, or Chachapoyas, or Kuelap.
Service was excellent and very friendly throughout.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but probably Rooms 2 and 6 have a slight edge on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank safergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gocta Andes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Safergus, we are so proud of that acomplishment!! people even thinks pictures of the waterfall are photoshoped, but you can certainly say they are not.
Hope you get back, we will be so glad to take care of you and make you feel home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we would have liked to stay a little longer !!!
what a gorgeous view......................... we were treated royally.
the dinners were delicious; everything so fresh and tasty.
the most refreshing part was that there was no WiFi or TV. so people would actually have time to talk to each other. Highly recommended, COBY and SJOERD

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gocta Andes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Coby and Sjoerd:
Isn't it just wonderful? you should come back! we will be so glad to have you again!
It really is a relaxing place, the landscape is absolutelly amazing and there is also us, who work for your pleasure. Hope you can come back soon with family and friends so you can share all you experienced last time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our couple of days of luxury at the lodge. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are huge and nicely decorated and the food was great. It was very peaceful to enjoy the surroundings and the walk to the waterfall was easy and quite dramatic to see it up close.

No wifi or tv but you really don't need them with the view.

The showers are powerful to the point of pain and the water is not very hot. But the pool is great.

Special thanks also to the staff who provided a nice surprise birthday cake for our meal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gocta Andes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Cliff, we are so glad that you spent such great days at the lodge!! Hope you come back soon or tell your family and closest friends so they can enjoy the same you did.
Thanks for your suggestions, it is quite important for us in order to improve our service and accomodations and ge better every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The lodge by itself is excellent, but the mountains that surround it are truly one of the most beautiful landscapes I have ever seen. With a direct view of the Gocta waterfall, world's third tallest waterfall. The restaurant is also amazingly good, every dish we tasted was wonderful.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Alazam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Just a speechless view. The hotel is Amazingly built in the middle of the mountains. Ask for a room in the second floor with a view of the Gocta falls
Comfortable rooms. Good food. Friendly staff. Very nice tours of the surroundings. Amazing hotel
Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank 1971GGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chachapoyas hotels
12.1 mi away
Casa Hacienda Achamaqui
Casa Hacienda Achamaqui
#2 of 12 in Chachapoyas
37 reviews
12.1 mi away
Posada del Arriero
Posada del Arriero
#6 of 12 in Chachapoyas
43 reviews
12.8 mi away
Villa de Paris
Villa de Paris
#4 of 12 in Chachapoyas
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Revash
Hostal Revash
#5 of 12 in Chachapoyas
94 reviews
45.5 mi away
La Casona de Leymebamba
La Casona de Leymebamba
#7 of 12 in Chachapoyas
43 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Ekokuelap
#10 of 12 in Chachapoyas
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gocta Andes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gocta Andes Lodge

Address: Caserio Cocachimba S/N, Chachapoyas, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Amazonas Region > Chachapoyas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Chachapoyas
Price Range: £70 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gocta Andes Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Gocta Andes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing