We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vikings say yay!”
Review of El Batan del Tayta

El Batan del Tayta
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Chachapoyas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vikings say yay!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Very funky place with good food and attentive service. Menu with good variety and English explanations. Worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbolini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    89
    26
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must-see in Chachapoyas”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

For top-quality regional cuisine, great service and comfortable atmosphere, Batan de Tayta is a top choice. The chaufa de cecina is the best I've ever had in Peru. Definitely don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lencois, BA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really, really disappointing - inedible food!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I took the recommendation of the waitress and ordered the Duck with Green Rice. I also asked for a plain pineapple juice with no added sugar (it was offered with something else mixed in), but what appeared tasted funny, and had something (I found out it was a local sweet honey like substance) striping the neck of the jug.
The duck was presented nicely, on a roof tile, but I tried the "creamy" rice first and it was stodgy, rather than creamy, and didn't taste very pleasant ... but the duck? The menu translation said "tender farm duck", but I have never come across a tougher piece of meat in my life! I tried two small pieces from different parts of the serving, but struggled to cut them with the provided knife, and as they were tasteless decided to abandon the meal.
I told the waitress I couldn't eat that meal, nor drink the pineapple juice, which was not as ordered, and asked for the bill - and was presented with full cost for a meal that was inedible. For Chachapoyas the prices were not cheap, so comments of "reasonable" prices I find very misleading.
Reading other comments here where everyone is praising the "excellence" of the food, I guess I must have caught them on a bad day - but I would advise everyone to avoid the restaurant like the plague!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BahiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food & Service”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Excelent food and very good and friendly service!!!
Low prices and BIG portions!
Nice food presentation and nice atmosphere!
Absolutely MUST if you visit Chachapoyas!!

Helpful?
Thank Turtle0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, presentation, service, atmosphere.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Liliana is a fantastic waitress! The food is wonderful, the cocktails and juices unique and tasty, the atmosphere is very special, and the prices are reasonable. Must visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Merkincrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Batan del Tayta also viewed

Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 

Been to El Batan del Tayta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing