We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
335
352
202
99
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
352
202
99
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkey bardolphin feedingboughshed restaurantbeach view roombeach frontsunset cruisemain restaurantshark baydolphin resortshared bathroomsaw dolphinslong drivenational parkeach morningremote locationpowered sitecamper van
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from a 14 day stay in the camping area. Our kids have declared it the best holiday ever. We have no complaints at all, the site was large, bins were emptied daily, ablution blocks were cleaned regularly and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We loved getting our meals delivered from the Monkey Bar - go the Angus burger or ribs! - and happy hour at the Boughshed meant a fantastic way to end the day with a relaxing Pina Colada. In between trips on Shotover, camel rides, hiring canoes and just chilling at the beach you can visit nearby Little Lagoon, Eagle Bluff or indulge in a fabbo counter meal at the pub in Denham. If you are after an upmarket caravan park then look elsewhere. If you want a well managed, family friendly holiday, that may include an emu or two wandering through your campsite, then we highly recommend Monkey Mia.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsdubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenResorts, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Our staff take great pride in their resort and we are happy to hear you appreciate their efforts and enjoyed the facilities and our beautiful location.

We would love to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent one night camping in Monket Mia Resort: great campsite for $32/night, amenities new and clean, campers kitchen not tested but looked well.
Great restaurant, food&drinks not expensive. Happy hours on tapas and cocktails from 5-6pm. The perfect moment to see a beautiful sunset and spot some dolphins!
! Monkey Mia is only the resort, nothing else around (you could find everything you need though)

It's handy to sleep there as the dolphins' feeding as at 7:45am. You can be sure to see dolphins from really close and maybe be picked to give them a fish (about 15 persons picked).
Great experience, but it doesn't worth the way if you don't want to see the dolphins.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank coolgirl_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, we are pleased to receive feedback from out guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us and enjoyed our dining facilities. We are lucky to be located in a beautiful and unique part of Australia and it was lovely to hear you enjoyed the amazing sunsets and the dolphin encounter.

We hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

A great experience particularly when a dolphin came so close to the shore while my son was on his rental stand up board...all captured on film. Accommodation was as expected. Food & drink surprisingly well priced with choice to eat in the restaurant or at the Monkey bar. Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooplew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenParks, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, we are glad to hear you were happy with your stay at the Resort and enjoyed the Dolphin Encounter.
We are very lucky to have such a unique experience on our door step.
We hope you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The kids and I love dolphins and have always dreamt of a trip to Monkey Mia. As the Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort is the only place to stay at Monkey Mia we booked in. In hindsight, I would have stayed in Denham.

Monkey Mia Resort is OK, but for the price it is really only OK. We stayed in the Limestone Garden Villa's. I wouldn't call them Villa's, it is one big room with the beds, kitchen and dinning and a small separate bathroom. I think for the price, no sleeping with a fridge 1 meter from your bed would be nicer.

But the rooms were clean and although old and tired still OK (couldn't work out the electric stove top). Everything just seemed old and well used, even the towels were old and faded.

The restaurant was great, we had one dinner and two breakfasts there. Reasonably priced and nice food. Don't bother ordering the over-priced coffee at breakfast at $5 for a very small cup it wasn't nice at all. And when you have just paid $10 for a kids full breakfast (great price) seemed a joke. They could either do with some more staff at breakfast or put a rocket up the ones that were there. Takes ages to get plates cleared off your table so we started stacking them on a spare table next to us.

In saying all that, the kids had a great time. We didn't really enjoy the Dolphins and that wasn't the Dolphins or the Resorts fault. It's great they are protected, but we found it all a bit boring and way too many people. If you are after something fun, visit Henk and his Camel Safari we had a ball and would highly recommend the 1/2 hour ride. Lovely man and drop dead gorgeous Camels.

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for, I am just not keen on my bed being in the same room as a noisy fridge.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After growing up in Australia, my childhood dream has been to visit Monkey Mia and "swim with" the dolphins. My partner and I (plus puppy) booked a powered campsite for 2nights, which being a first time visitor made me apprehensive as I would usually opt for a self contained room for comfort .
To my surprise the stay was most enjoyable as our camp area was overlooking the ocean where we could see the sunset and dolphins frolic. It was the additional amenities of: shared kitchen (with microwave, urn, stove cooker, kettle, toaster and fridge), tennis court, bar, slightly 'fancy' restaurant, mini mart, numerous clean barbecues, many serviced bins and clean communal bathrooms that made the visit all the more relaxing and reasons to go again!

Denham is a small town, a short drive from MM. We went to see the 'Shark Bay Discovery centre' and got supplies from the bakery. :)
The Boughshed is the 'fancy' restaurant which is equally casual. Mains average $38, but portions are decent. I had a delicious barramundi meal with sweet potatoes. The barramundi was crusted with macadamia nuts. The Monkey Bar has more casual dining and very well priced. The ribs, chips and coleslaw was $19...Bargain!

Back to the dolphins (that's reason most of us go there) - it's a 7:45am start time to hear the rules etc. needless to say a flock of tourists and children were present. Then the dolphins arrived and everyone is silenced by the beauty of these creatures. While waiting for the feeding time to start a grown female dolphin started play and jump out of the water, which was to the delight of the spectators. Unfortunately my dream of swimming with these amazing creatures did not come true, as only a few people are selected to feed a fish to the dolphins and I was not one of them on either of the two mornings. A second feeding time occurred around 10am and not as many people seemed to be present. I would like to think maybe a non-payment ticket system might be better for the selection of dolphin feeders, just an idea. Also there is reserve fees at resort gate that we did not know of prior to arrival.

It was worth the detour from the main highway. We had a wonderful time and will definitely go there soon!

Room Tip: Check the site map if you want waterfront, close to dolphins etc.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Missf_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenResorts, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort we appreciate our guests feedback.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our camp ground and enjoyed all the facilities including our restaurants. We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful and unique area of Australia.
We will pass your comments onto DPAW Department of Parks and Wildlife who manage the Dolphin experience. I am sure they will appreciate your feedback.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews