We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite during an Arctic Adventure”
Review of Hotell Riksgransen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotell Riksgransen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riksgransen
Reviewed 19 January 2013

During our trip to see the midnight sun, this is a worthy place to use as a place to rest. This is a clean and functional place, which we reached by bus from Kiruna Airport. The room had a small kitchenette, which was very valuable for preparing a light meal. There is a small shop to buy essentials, but no ATM machine, so remember to bring cash with you. Access to the trains is very convenient, but by aware that trains are infrequent, and so you need to have easy to a timetable.
After a day's hiking, we enjoyed relaxation in the Arctic bar and a local cocktail "Varitas" (which means Wolf's paw) at the local bar at Meterologen.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purpuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hotell Riksgransen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed there for a night after spending a couple of days in Abisko. We were there in September 2011, but that was not the right season I guess. We were the only 2 people staying in this place and hence it appeared quite scary.

Location is quite beautiful and close to railway station as well. We could even walk up to Norway border. As we didnt have too many options, we decided to go to Narvik (Norway) for a day-long trip. Train journey was nice and very scenic.

I'm sure this hotel will be at its peak during winters; just that we were there in the wrong season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaydeep H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed for one week in May 2011 and we were lucky that it was snowing on our way from Kiruna Airport. The weather was so bad that we had to stay and wait in Björkliden to wait for the snowplough, However the day after were fantastic with lots of snow to go offpist in.

The hotel is quite spartan and the most annoying part is that you are quite trapped up here, no decent store and the pub and restaurant prices are high. The food is really good in the restaurant, though.

But if you are there only in hope of good offpist skiing, you may get lucky. The light conditions are mostly poor, but this is really one of my favourite places to be on a sunny day with lots of powder snow.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl-Einar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed for 4 days at the end of Feb 2012. Only one restaurant (that closed at 9) and one bar (that closed at 9). The bar staff told us we could drink in the lobby and the lobby told us you had to drink in your room. The night time staff there was extremely rude. The desk to arrange excursions was also very rude. I would only recommend this place for one or two days because there is nothing to do! Skiing is descent but nothing special (when they have the lifts open). I would recommend taking the train up to Narvik, Norway for the day or staying up there in general. If you are going with a family and small kids this place might be nice and quiet on the weekdays. During the weekend its just a bunch of rowdy kids. I dont recommend it unless you want to sit around reading books and drink $10 beers. PS....bring your own beverages, you save A LOT of money! It is a beautiful place for hiking and scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorj32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A perfect place for people looking for a winter getaways at Arctic Circle. Situated next to the train station, Riskgränsen is one of the best place for intermediate-advance downhill and cross country skiing. The nearest chairlift is just within 100m walking distance.They provide various winter activities including snow walk, snowmobile safari and dogs sledding... Its facilities include ski shop, after ski bar, restaurants, pub, indoor swimming pool and sauna, outdoor hot tubs... The staffs are very friendly and able to assist you whenever you need helps. What's more, you could also have a chance to watch the amazing northern lights during the night! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGtravelnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one week to go skiing. Our room was a big disappointment. It was called "simple apartment sleeps 1-2 people" That meant not renovated like the rest of the hotel which is annoying when they advertise the hotel as newly renovated. The pipes in the shower were rusty, there was a hole in the wardrobe door and the paint was peeling off the wall. The "bed" was a sofabed and a pullmanbed, not a bed for two which the description made it seem like. Also the tap was dripping and when we told the reception about this they answered "it has always been that way". The cleaning inspection which was made a big fuss about upon arrival never showed up. If we would have known about the standard of the apartments before we would have taken the smaller simpler skiers room which was cheaper. The food available is very limited. There were no vegetables seen in the store or any of the resturants. Forget about eating healthy. We chose the apartment partly because we wanted to cook our own food but the groceries available were very limited and of poor quality. The whole hotel is a bit shabby and needs a facelift. We wanted to go in the outdoor hot tob which was priced 150SEK on the homepage but when we got there we realised you had to pay the entry to the spa as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bookydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We arrived on June 26, just after midsummer, with the regional bus 91 (see www.ltnbd.se). The bus, which took us there directly from Kiruna Airport, was cheap and very comfortable. It also matched the incoming flight from Stockholm perfectly. Worth mentioning is the half price on flights vs own cabin on the train if you travel with someone and book a month or so in advance. You also reach Riksgränsen in only 3h instead of 16h by train. Our studio was small, but clean, modern and well-equipped with tv, fridge, drying cupboard and a proper pentry. For us, this was a good start of a mini-holiday with a one-day hike in the nearby beautifully green valley Kärkevagge. You get there easily, 3 stations by train (www.sj.se) to Låktatjåkka, from the train station just outside the hotel. With a good map you do not need expensive guides to go there over the day. Tickets are bought on board the train. Beware the trains only go once per day and may not stop at the station unless you specifically ask the conductor ! There is a good supermarket in the area, selling outdoor equipment as well. The studio pentry was perfect to prepare all meals and a lunch for a small backpack on the day trip. After the hike, back at the hotel around 5 pm, it was a pleasure to relax in the arctic spa before we tried the joyful bar at Meterologen. For my part, I lift my hat for the generous staff at Riksgränsen. Their friendliness and attention to detail really made us feel welcome an valued as visitors ! A spectacular view of the midnight sun panorama from our studio flat qualifies this venue for nature lovers who seek a city break with some outdoor adventure. Remember to bring Swedish cash as there were no ATM machines here and bus drivers did not accept any cards...

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank style_uncompromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotell Riksgransen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Riksgransen

Address: Riksgransen 981 94, Sweden (Formerly Riksgränsen)
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Riksgransen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Riksgransen
Price Range: £334 - £1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotell Riksgransen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing