We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Up The Creek Backpackers B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Roberts Creek B&B and Inns
Queensland
1 review
“What a fantastic place!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Up the creek is such a wonderful hidden gem in the quiet town of Roberts creek. It easily feels like a home away from home! The facilities are great and Martin the owner is so friendly and helpful, always keen for a chat and a laugh. We loved it so much we changed our stay from 2 nights to 6!
The best part - the doonas! The best I've ever had - so warm and fluffy, you won't find these in any other backpackers!!
Make sure you visit the Sunshine Coast and especially Up the Creek - you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
10
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed for a week with my wife and daughter while attending Inside Passage. The hostel was withing easy walking distance of the school and the town center of Robert's Creek. We had a room to ourselves in a beautiful, clean home in the woods with generous cooking facilities, internet access and bicycles if we needed them. Our host, Martin, was very accommodating and had many stories to tell of cycling adventures around the world as evidence by photographs throughout the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I got on the ferry from Vancouver to Langdale to get away from the city for a weekend and had been meaning to check out Up The Creek Backpackers for a while. It was the perfect getaway to relax and do 'nothing'. The local area is very quiet with just a few lovely shops and the Gumboot Cafe. The beach was also quiet and the water was nice and warm to swim in and the surrounding areas offer some beautiful hiking trails - from easy to more difficult. Martin is a great host and makes you feel right at home, in fact it felt more like a home than a hostel. I only spent a night there but it felt like I'd been away for a few days. I look forward to going back again to this lovely, little retreat away from the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It has been a long time since I stayed in a hostle and this was my best experience.
It seemed to attract a mature crowd of individuals interested in taking in what the Sunshine Coast has to offer. It was easy to take time to and for myself while there, as well as connect with others.
I found the hammock the best place to enjoy some space reading, writing or resting and be outside.
I would highly recommend this for anyone interested in a certain amount of community living in the hostle way. It is clean and rustic, not grungy or run down.
perfect for solo, friends, family or even a lovers getaway in the Cherry cabin. : )

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Up The Creek is an overall great place to stay as far as Hostile is concern. Luckily I was there with a large group of friends and were able to rent all the rooms. Been awhile since I got to rock some bunk beds.

Because of the location you won't be spending a lot of time there but if you have time to kill there is a limit of what to do. Great selection of board games but unfortunately most of them are missing essential pieces to play.

Also when were out for the night we decided to pop back in to pick something up and ended up walking in to a bit of a party that the B&B volunteers were having. Not a big deal but we did pay to rent the entire place and were a bit concerned for a belongings.

The did have a kitchen that was great but unfortunately never used since the food in town was great. As stated above great location close to trails to bike and morning runs.

Great place to stay but if I ever do end up in town again I would probably try another place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSnow117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for a weekend of mountain biking. The hostel is well situated for mountain biking trail access. We were a large private group and rented out the whole place. Martin the owner was very friendly and accommodating. It was a great place to call home for the weekend. It was really enjoyable.

For those that plan on cooking on site there is a smaller kitchen off the main one for guests. Very helpful to have kitchen access like a regular hostel.

Gumboot cafe and restaurant a kilometer away, for yummy eats! The beach is a short 5min walk further from here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I can't think of anything wrong with this place! We stayed in the private cabin, which was cozy and warm. We enjoyed the comforts of the main house including a great kitchen, herb garden, trampoline, many hammocks, and free loaner bicycles to get into town. The owner was very friendly, but not overbearing and had lots of local advice around hike and bike trips. The atmosphere was also very conducive to meeting other travellers. we were a bit disapointed that the hot tub was out of order, but hopefully, this will be remedied soon.

Makes a relaxing and affordable getaway from vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roberts Creek
5.9 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Artist and The Quiltmaker - Victorian B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shades of Jade Inn and Spa
Shades of Jade Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Roberts Creek
94 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
63 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fisherman's Wife B&B
The Fisherman's Wife B&B
#1 of 2 in Roberts Creek
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Up The Creek Backpackers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Up The Creek Backpackers B&B

Property: Up The Creek Backpackers B&B
Address: 1261 Roberts Creek Rd | Roberts Creek Road, Roberts Creek, British Columbia V0N 2W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Roberts Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Roberts Creek
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Up The Creek Backpackers B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up The Creek Backpackers B&B is 14km from the ferry terminal at Langdale. It is a charismatic, family-run cedar house nestled amongst many large cedar and fir trees, and is an easy 10-minute walk to the "Heart of the Roberts Creek". The lodge includes a guest kitchen, large sun-deck with hammocks and barbecue, friendly common areas, free loaner bikes, a seasonal hot tub, and a resource library and book swap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Up The Creek Backpackers B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing