We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely New Year's get-away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First view up the driveway View from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
First view up the driveway
View from deck
Entrance to suite
High windows
Lots of art & architecture reading material
Bedroom
Relax in the garden
View out to garden
Late afternoon sun
Snow at Art House
view from the big deck
New door to shower!
Pond with lotus & mons bresia
View from your deck
Roberts Creek Pier
Ten minute walk to the beach
Complimentary flowers when in season
Pond in summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

RomoZeus
San Jose, California
1 review
“Lovely New Year's get-away”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Hailing from the San Francisco Bay-Area and it's moderate weather, adjusting to the beautiful, natural "unseasonally warm" weather was not a difficult adaptation (see: 30-40 degrees Fahrenheit).

As a runner, I appreciated the low number of cars on the road and easy access to Clif Gilker Park, despite running on the roads from the suite. Roberts Creeks' remote location along the beautiful Sunshine coast added to the suite's charm, though certainly not needed as the property is sprinkled with fantastic artistic features.

The owners of the house are artists by profession and very accommodating. They display samples of their art around the property both inside and out, and complement the natural beauty of the yard. I recommend chatting with the hosts about their work, they are very accomplished and pleasant to converse with. If you're lucky, the hostess will prepare you homemade muffins and affectionately refers to you, her guests as "muffin-eaters"!

In all, our journey was very appropriately paced and we enjoyed our New Year's adventure to the Sunshine Coast and the Suite. I would love to return in the summer months to explore more of the surrounding outdoor areas and appreciate the removed setting of Robert's Creek, kissed by the lingering sun.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Driving from Seattle, next time we'll fly directly into Vancouver.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Dear Zeus, It was wonderful having you and your sister as guests over New Year's! We hope to see you again in the spring! You're welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girlie C
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Caitlyn is a friendly host, we love the coast-style breakfast that she served.
The area is peaceful and close to nature and the beach, accessible from the ferry, easy to find. We especially love the driftwood beach at the heart of Roberts Creek. It is very romantic. Do not miss the community mandala!

The only downside is that there is only one sink and such a small one that you cant help but drip water around the counter when you use it. There are also cobwebs on the ceiling. I understand that the property must be fully booked, but will appreciate if the host dusted the suite or vacuum before the next guest. Rugs are also lacking.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I like best that the location is easily accessible from the ferry, Roberts Creek is a peaceful community, close to nature, close to the beach, close to sechelt and the owner is very friendly. The locals are friendly as well.
Liked least: The bathroom smells terrible, it can use some air freshener. The sink is too small and it is hard not to drip water all over when you use it. There is just one sink, no sink in the bathroom. There are cobwebs in the ceiling, dusty, no rugs provided.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
As the owner of this property, I do not recognize the identity of the person giving this review. We did not host a person named Girlie C from Surrey in the month of August 2015. And since this person has not identified the date she supposedly stayed at Art House, it is impossible to talk about her experience. But one thing I am sure of: we ask our guests to communicate any problems they have directly to us so that we can do whatever possible to mitigate any discomfort they may have during their stay. This person, if indeed she actually stayed at Art House, chose instead to write a review complaining about things that could have easily been altered for her comfort. It's very disheartening to meet people who are pleasant to your face, who are your guests, sharing food and shelter you have prepared lovingly and meticulously for them, only to be served up a 'review' such as this. Did she stay for a day, or five? Why didn't she point out her discomfort? How could this person have betrayed us with an unnecessary review such as this? We live in a rainforest. Over five days, small spiders can take up residence on our spacious, ten foot high ceilings, but we have a vacuum and can easily get rid of them - if we know they are there. We can vacuum any dirt they may track into the room on the soles of their feet. Between guests we dust , wipe and clean every surface of the Art House suite. We want our guests to live in a space we feel comfortable living in and we take pride in our clean and neat accommodation. We provide area rugs - it is just a matter of asking. It seems unfair and cowardly to me that my property, my name and my reputation is on the line -- at the same time it's so easy for anyone to hide behind a name that is not their own -- for anyone not to identify the dates they stayed at our place -- and fling complaints anonymously.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen466
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private, quiet suite in beautiful garden and art setting”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As advertised on Trip Advisor, this private, newly-designed and renovated one-room studio suite is in a quiet garden setting with its own private entrance. The suite had everything we needed for our 2 night stay including a good shower with towels, organic shampoo and soap, comfortable queen size bed, good size kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, kettle, tea pot, tea, plates, bowls, cutlery, knives, cutting board, mugs, etc., good space for 2 people, private outdoor deck and free WiFi. There is no TV or cooktop which suited us just fine. The breakfast included local granola, milk, local fresh fruit, a hard boiled egg each and locally roasted coffee the first morning. The second morning breakfast was the same except for home made zuchini muffins instead of the granola. Caitlin, our host, brought the breakfast to our door every morning at 9am. I am not sure if we could have asked for it earlier but something to consider when booking the breakfast if you want an earlier start. The location couldn’t have been better for us as it was central to the mountain bike trails we wanted to access in Gibson, Robson’s Creek and Sechelt. It was nice to have Robson's Creek within 1.5kms where we ate at the Gumboot restaurant with a free glass of wine complements of Art House and Gumboot. We really enjoyed a comfortable stay and the friendly, attentive host. We will be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private entrance, quiet, privacy, garden, host, art, deck
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Dear Ellen466,

So happy your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful setting that even host stated was not set up for longer stays.”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Art House Suite is in a beautiful, peaceful setting with wonderful art in garden and suite. Location perfect for Sunshine Coast experience. When we booked, we were not made aware we were getting 'a reduced price' that did not include breakfast. During our stay, we communicated mostly with host, Caitlin, who was pleasant. 2 of us stayed 7 nights. When we arrived, the suite was dusty with dishes not clean enough to use. One towel provided for each of us for the whole week; asked for extra towels and given one more for the week. Only one small sink in suite in kitchen to wash hands after toilet and wash dishes/prepare food. Yuck! Both dish soap and hand soap watered down. Delicious breakfast served first morning and then host told us it was a lot of work to prepare and advertised cost of $10 for 2 (on suite site when booked and up to that time) was not enough to cover actual cost but that that price would be honoured for breakfasts for our week there. Never offered breakfast again for next 6 mornings. Requested toaster (twice) that was stated as provided on suite blog, told it would be provided and did not ever arrive. No air conditioning, cooker or freezer as stated in details on tripadvisor site.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden setting and location
Liked least: Host entering suite uninvited when guests in and out of suite
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan k
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“organic breakfast and interesting host”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

a very calming place. Spacious room with a high ceiling. Wooden furniture gave the space a feeling of warmth and coziness. Yet modern and functional kitchenette and bathroom. Many flowers around the house. Many books about art and artwork literary everywhere you looked.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful Art Surroundings”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Art House for a quick getaway and thoroughly enjoyed it. The setting is peaceful and we were able to relax and enjoy the art in the room and grounds.

Caitlin was a thoughtful host and made us feel so welcome. Though we drove there, it was nice that we could have walked to Roberts Creek for dinner, lunch and/or the beach (it was a quick 5 min drive) and the location is also a good base if you are exploring the area.

The only thing I would point out is that if one has difficulty with stairs, it could be a bit tricky.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Richmond, Canada
1 review
“Would definitely stay here again”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The suite was just like in the photos - clean, tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. Katie and her husband were very friendly and accommodating; they even went out of their way to help us find sailing times, pick up our lunch and catch our bus in time. The next time we plan on coming to Roberts Creek we will definitely be staying here again!

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.