We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place We Always Visit”
Review of Gumboot Garden

Gumboot Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Place We Always Visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Gumboot Restaurant is not quite for everyone: to really enjoy this place, you must be able to tolerate unpredictable service (sometimes super friendly, sometimes a bit distracted), a mix of clientele (quiet to exuberant locals), and be interested in unique ingredient combinations. Since leaving the west-coast for the east 12 years ago, I make it a point to visit the Gumboot on every trip to the Sunshine Coast, as it very much reflects life in this beautiful region - healthy, down-to-earth, relaxed and somewhat quirky.
Some memorable dishes: curried perogies, buddha bowl, breakfast burrito, Gumboot Hash.
Very vegetarian friendly as well, with a decent wine selection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ukrainian Fare on the Sunshine Coast”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great little restaurant tucked into a delightful garden. I opted for the curried pierogis. The dish was very big for just over $10 and the local beer selection was also delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonese136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in a quaint town.”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This restaurant boasts a great selection of food including all organic options, nestled in the bushes near one of the prettiest beaches on the Sunshine Coast BC, and in one of the funkiest towns where many generations of flower children still roam. Location location is a motto here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marmist454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stop for great food and fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The food, the service, and the atmosphere of this gem are the perfect complement to a day on the coast. Take a table outside and enjoy the restaurant's backyard. Enjoy a meal you will remember as the highlight of your day. Then drive down the the pier and take a gorgeous stroll. Make sure to grab some gelato from the funky gelato lady!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy eats!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

There is a cafe and a restaurant at this location, located a short distance from eachother. The two nights I was in Roberts Creek I ate at the Gumboot restaurant. It was delicious! Where possible they will provide a gluten free option. However I found many dishes had soy products like tempeh, tofu and miso which removed half of the menu from my consideration. Still the food I did have was excellent!

One thing I wished I could try was the curried perogies. Maybe one day they will offer a wheat free version of that!

Cafe has delicious treats! Definitely the place to go for your sweet fix!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank beccabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumboot Garden also viewed

Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gumboot Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing