We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local cafe, local colour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gumboot Garden

Gumboot Garden
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Local cafe, local colour”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Veggie pizza slices, excellent home made soup but watery coffee. This back-packers rest stop is fun and impressive because its great to see young entrepreneurs make a go of it in the middle of nowhere

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Long wait & bad food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we went there for lunch yesterday,we had to wait 1 and half hr before we got the food. we were not shared the reason for delay so we just had to guess. it really messed our plan for that day. ate lunch around 3. i ordered the fish taco and it was terrible, stale taco, the taci wad almost falling apart,no flavor. i have never returned a meal at restautant but today was the exception since it so terrible(stale and no flavor) plus the waiting disnt help. Nearby table also waited the same time for a basic breakfast omellete and hash( unbelievable). we went there reading review online, i guess we are to blame for that.

Helpful?
Thank Soumyadeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Potential Is Everything”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Love this funky neighbourhood bistro in Roberts Creek on the Sunshine Coast for its pretty setting, artsy vibe and really good food. Chef and team will accommodate any and all allergies from no dairy, seafood to gluten-free with the meals being absolutely delish. Only issues are the level of service - needs ramping up to be a shining example of the fabulous hospitality one could experience in this setting, and cleanliness. A good dusting of floors and windows as well as all staff learning how to open same would allow not only fresh air flow, but the melodic sounds coming from the band shell to be experienced by inside diners as well as those fortunate to enjoy on the outside deck...especially during the idyllic summer evenings we're fortunate to have this year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not so fresh and don't call it fries if it isn't.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Given the health food vibe we were looking forward to a really fresh stir fry and a great salmon burger and yam fries. The bowl that my husband ordered included really dried out tofu and microwaved rice. My salmon burger was a good portion but baked soggy pieces of yam should not be listed as yam fries on the menu. We are locals and there are much better places on the coast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moonbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome snacks ”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I love that it's vegan and a healthy environment. I have only had the desert squares and they are so good. It's a must stop on your way threw.

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumboot Garden also viewed

Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 
Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gumboot Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing