We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best option in Ende”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Wisata Hotel Ende
Ranked #4 of 8 Ende B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best option in Ende”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Some plus points and some minus...

Plus side:

1. Alvin Babo, probably the manager/owner, is very helpful and responsive when contacted by email. He even offered to help find a rental car for Maumere-Ende and gave me 20% discount on room rate without me asking.
2. Room is clean. Hotel has a decent size outdoor pool and sitting area by the pool.
3. Good location, easy to get around.
4. Friendly and helpful staff. Reception staff tried to help when I requested to move to another room (though failed due to full occupancy).
5. It's the newest and most decent hotel in Ende.

Room for improvement:

1. Bathroom is leaking slightly, so floor corners are always wet.
2. It's time to change bathroom curtain.
3. Water in the pool is very hazy, I couldn't see the bottom. Some chlorines may be useful.
4. Lighting in the room is very dim and cold. Maybe yellow light can bring more comfort.

Down side:
There's NO windows in the room, hence the air smells damp due to lack of air circulation.
I stayed in Superior Room 207.

Room Tip: do ask for a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MbokPadmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    48
    23
    24
See reviews for
11
39
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

some people have complained about aspects of this hotel, but believe me, it's the best you can find here. I come to Ende for business every year, and stay for 1 - 2 weeks. in the past I've stayed elsewhere, but not since the grand wisata opened up. standard rooms are small, with tiny bathrooms. superior is larger and thus better, worth the extra money. I've never shelled out for deluxe. But be warned, many of the rooms, even the superior, are interior rooms with no window at all, not even to a corridor. if you want a window, you need to request one, and book well in advance, especially for a longer stay. BTW, if you do need to stay longer in Ende, they give a long stay discount. breakfast is not exciting, but there's always rice, plain and/or fried, often fried noodles, and usually either fried chicken, fried fish or omelet. there's also often a veggie stir fry or soup. plus toast and fruit. compared to most places in Ende, this is a good breakfast. the staff are very friendly, and service is always with a smile. the location is convenient to the airport, less so to the center of town, such as it is. the pool is nice - a good size and not used a lot. the water could be clearer - it could use more frequent doses of chlorine - but I swim in it very day. the restaurant is quite pleasant, and it's also close to some other good places to eat.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window. spend the extra money for superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

All looking good till you are in room and starting to watch details everywhere. Cockroaches dirty bathroom.....
Worst of all was the unforgettable breakfast with white bread, banana butter and some jelly. really nothing more.
We stayed here after our flight got cancelled and we got day delayed. There is nothing much to do Ende other than have short walk.
In early morning the swim trainer waked us up at 6.30 with his whistle, training some kids in the hotels pool.
We didn't dare going in the pool after seeing lots and lots of white chlorine blocks in the water.
Don't expect much but it's probably your best chance of decent bed in Ende.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EV_CUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
567 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Considering that this hotel is in Ende, we found it average plus. Room is not big but have everything you may need (aircon, small fridge, TV with local channels), although its window is a glass wall facing the corridor - it smells mold and cigarettes. Room and bathroom are dirty, but less dirty than the average in the island. Bathroom has a good hot water shower, but it's awfully designed and is dark.
It was one of the best hotel we've stayed in our overland tour in Flores, although it's very expensive for what it offers, but it's better priced than some holes we found. Service is good and they have internet in the lobby, but not in the rooms - but they're going to say to you they have.
Breakfast is poor, but is buffet and better than other places. It's very near the airport and they have free shuttle, what is great. Also, the restaurant is good and well priced and there's another good restaurant just some meters away (to the right). They also have a big pool, but we didn't use it.
All in all, I think it's the best hotel in Ende!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Good place for tourists to stay in Ende. Costs more than good places to stay in other towns but there is not a lot of choice. Good restaurant close by. Swimming pool was cloudy so we didn't try that! Room was clean and bed comfortable. Staff were very helpful. Couldn't get connected to their wifi as it was very very slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intend2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Firstly foreigner get one price domestic tourist pay a lot less. The room was spacious and clean but the odour from the bathroom was unbelievably horrible and wafted through the room. The Wifi did not work and the breakfast was minimal considering the cost. it did however have hot water but the trickle from the shower made it hardly worthwhile. I had to keep filling up a glass to get the shampoo out of my hair or I would still be in the shower. Flores however is beautiful, I just am surprised how quickly and devoutly the shop and hotel owners rip the tourists.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunloverj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denpasar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

i think this hotel is the best hotel in town, i was surprised that there is a perfect hotel in flores, even if you just expect to get clean room and ordinary service. very clean and nice hotel and friendly staff. located near with the airport and also down town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misswandererDenpasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ende
124.2 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
48.0 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
44.9 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.5 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Maumere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
124.0 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#8 of 39 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
124.0 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#8 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wisata Hotel Ende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wisata Hotel Ende

Property: Grand Wisata Hotel Ende
Address: Jl. Kelimutu no 32, Ende, Flores 86317, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Ende
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Grand Wisata Hotel Ende Indonesia - Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing