We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Griffin mynydd Isa”
Review of Griffin Inn

Griffin Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Mynydd Isa
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Griffin in Mynydd Isa, we pride ourselves on being the very best local that caters for all your needs in a warm and relaxed environment. Our welcoming staff will make the Griffin Inn feel like your home from home - serving you with our fantastic selection of drinks and tasty food, whilst allowing you to enjoy our great range of offers and events. The Griffin is somewhere you're always welcome and relaxed, whether by yourself, or with friends or family. At the heart of the local area, it's everything a village pub should be. The warm welcome, the sense of community, the relaxing atmosphere. Come and visit us, drop in, feel at home…
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my family visit the Griffin a few times a year and we are always made very welcome by nikos and his team.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We went not knowing what to expect, but very glad we did go. The service wasn't that speedy but we weren't there for a quick meal. The décor is not all that much, but the food was excellent. proper greek food, reminds you of holidays in the greek islands. They were generous portions and piping hot and very tasty! Would have gone again and again but when we asked to book a table we were told they only served food on a Friday and Saturday. Great shame that as we were only in that area till the next Thursday. Would recommend it as they do English meals as well

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lizzie1jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This place was the pits for service. We waited half an hour for them to even bring us menus, then waited over an hour and a half for our main course. The excuse was we cook it from fresh, but we'd ordered grilled kebabs! The tztaziki that came with the kebab was off, when we complained the woman said 'no its fine'! Then when we complained to the manager he just shrugged his shoulders and walked off! In mitigation the food was just about ok (fizzy tzatziki notwithstanding), although pretty under-seasoned. But overall it was disaster, despite only being half full. When they asked if we wanted dessert I felt like shoving their menus where the sun don't shine! WILL NEVER COME BACK.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank therotter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A hidden gem in the area - looks like any other pub outside, but the Greek menu served is authentic, well-priced and excellent!
You don't get a modern, arty plate of food, but generous portions made in traditional Greek Style (they do serve British dishes too - very good for fussy children!). The prices are excellent (around £6-8 for a main course) and the service has always been of a very high standard.
The traditional Greek music adds to the charm - the decor is a little dated, but for a relaxed meal does this matter really??

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wilcox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Having Not been for a few months we have been 3 times in 2 weeks!!. Excellent place for either a selection of Greek or traditional meals both hosted by Nicos, Very relaxed & friendly environment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wrexplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Griffin Inn also viewed

 
Northop, Flintshire
Mold, Flintshire
 

Been to Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.