We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special holiday experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of African Bush Sense

Main Building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Building
The veranda with dining table Zebra room with double bed and en suite bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Main Building
The veranda with dining table
Zebra room with double bed and en suite bathroom
Zebra room bathroom
Impala room with single beds en suite bathroom
Impala room bathroom
Lounge and kitchen area
Dinner in the Lapa
The Lapa
The vley with waterlilies
Horse Riding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mookgophong, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pwhv
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special holiday experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Staying here means adding an extra dimension to your stay in South Africa!
A warm family atmosphere is created by Deon and Betsy so that you can see what life is really like in the African bush. Wild animals & the pet dogs roam about freely around the farm house. Deon is quite a unique wildlife expert: he can tell you everything about the insects, trees, game animals, birds and whatever else is found in the region.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you Peter. It was truly a special visit from you. We thoroughly enjoyed your company!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasj v
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal! This is where the bush feeds your soul.”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

OMW! A life changing, beautiful experience. This family takes pride in everything they do and it's all done with so much love. We were treated as dear friends from the word go and nothing was ever too much effort. Betsie and Cindy treated us with an amazing breakfast every morning. Deon took us on the most informative game drives we've every been on. His knowledge, love and passion for plants, animals, and nature as a whole bubbles out of him. Watching and helping him work with the horses and being taught how to ride properly was priceless. There's no way words can do justice to what African Bush Sense has to offer... it simply has to be experienced. Deon, Betsie, Cindy and Johan, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts and we will definitely be back

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Thanks Tasj and Brian. Words can't describe our gratitude. It was only our pleasure and great to have met you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Although a bit out of the way, the journey was worth it. The accommodation was very good for 5 adults - indeed there is ample bedding for at least 10 people. The real bonus are the hosts. They allowed 3 of our party to do some horse riding and took us on a game drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Thanks Stuart and family. It was our pleasure to accommodate you. We loved to have met and spend time with you. Till your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“It was nothing less than amazing”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The place is so peaceful,clean and very lovely
Deon and Betsy are amazing, they took us on a game drive

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: +m'15\
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thanks Norma, it was a great pleasure to have met you all. Come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgros...
Pinckneyville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

When we first booked our stay here all we expected were comfortable accommodations, but what we gained was a new family in the African bushveld. Deon, Betsie, Cindy, Johanne, and their beautiful daughter Caylee (forgive me if the spelling is incorrect) greeted us with open arms and made our stay a trip we'll never forget. We used this as our base for a month-long visit with our daughter Erin (a Peace Corps. volunteer in Limpopo province) with extended excursions to Kruger Wildlife Sanctuary, St. Lucia, Pretoria and many day-trips to local towns and points of interest and were always warmly welcomed on our returns.

African Bush Sense is a working game farm where elands are bred and raised and Deon, a master naturalist, bush-craftsman, and horse and dog trainer of considerable reputation was able to answer any questions my wife Linda or I had for him. He possesses a wealth of knowledge on animals, birdlife, plants, the constellations, tracking, folklore and the general history and geography of the African bushveld. His wife Betsie is a gourmet wild game chef who also possesses a great amount of information about the area. She did our wash daily, always had a cup of coffee available and anytime we were invited to share their table with them we knew we were in for a treat. I'm looking forward to their combination cookbook/ memoir. My only regret is that I wasn't able to spend more time learning from them.

African Bush Sense offers big-game hunting, bird and photo safaris, wildlife drives, horseback riding and Betsie and Deon can plan, arrange or contract any other types of activities that you are interested in anywhere on the continent. Their farm is roughly 10,000 acres and full of wildlife; giraffes, elands (which we often encountered eating flower blossoms at our front door), zebras, impalas, bush buck, mongoose, wart hogs, wildebeest, jackals, caracals, the occasional leopard and more than 300 species of birds.

When I met Deon and Betsie's son-in-law Johanne we hit it off right away. He included me in their daily farm activities, took me on supply runs with him to nearby villages and generally served as my personal friend and guide to the people and the area. I'll never forget the night he asked me to join him and Deon as they fought to contain an out-of-control grass fire that threatened their neighbors African sable farm. I've already started a short-story about the experience.

I look forward to welcoming them when they visit the U.S. in the future and I'm already planning a return trip.

I miss my new African family and look forward to visiting with them soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The company and the seclusion.
Liked least: The heat and dust. (third year of a drought)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Hey there! Thank you so much David and Linda! We truly miss you guys too. No more.......good morning neighbour. It was just our pleasure and we thoroughly look forward to your next visit!!! All our love, Deon, Betsie, Johan, Cindy and Cayley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous gem in the bush!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Terrific rooms, food, plunge pool
Horseback riding, birding, photo safaris. Ridiculous service and a very warm hospitable spot with great privacy. Great for family or couples or friends getaway. Price is way better than Monate and they are adjacent properties.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thanks Dave, we missed you this year. Can't wait for all the stories to be told. Greetings
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing