We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rippon's Safari Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

From the moment we arrived we experienced an excellent standard of service, game drive, food and hospitality. The staff went to any length to make you enjoy your stay. All were knowledgeable and displayed a genuine passion for the game reserve and a guest's ability to appreciate it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    25
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
56
164
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Beautiful locations. Wonderful hosts made out stay very memorable especially Elaine and Brian who went the extra mile.
Plenty to see, our guide Nofias was excellent and very passionate about his job. A true professional!
U would thoroughly recommend this safari and lodge to anybody who wants a bit of magic

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famfour-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed here with my 2 children and we can't praise it highly enough! Our first safari and no idea what to expect. We were met by Elaine on arrival who was lovely & explained everything & showed us to our fabulous room. A platter of food was prepared for us, followed by afternoon tea and our first venture out! Francis our guide was a fantastic ranger, knowledgeable, unassuming, patient and knew his dung!!! We soon settled into the most amazing routine of a fantastic breakfast, exciting drive, morning coffee, lunch, pm tea, another drive, drinks and a stunning dinner. The last drive had a rather special touch at sunset when Francis finds a good spot and serves drinks as the sun goes down. Quite magical! On our return from the last drive we were met with a huge pot of welcoming hot chocolate from Elaine, Linda or Brian! One of our lunches we took as a picnic and sat on the bank overlooking the dam below with 2 hippo in it! The grounds are full of colourful birds (not to mention the 3 resident cats..my daughter Nicola adored them!) and we found lemon trees on our walks and a quiet spot on the grass or by the pool to soak up the sun before we ventured out again. Brian, Elaine & Linda were charming hosts (always remembering our names from the outset) and Brian is quite the raconteur,.. regailing us with stories in the bar before dinner... perfect! One of them always joined us in the bar and sometimes for dinner, Francis too so he patiently answered all our questions and we could tell them all our experiences on the drive. Francis had the most amazing extensive knowledge of every animal and knew every inch of the reserve inside out. He found us lions, hippos, elephants, giraffe, black rhino (!) cheetahs, Elande, springbok, warthog, Kudo and numerous other species. Brian, Linda & Elaine always managed to sound excited by what we saw despite having heard them millions of times before no doubt!

All the staff are extremely helpful and charming. The Lodge is spotlessly clean and comfortable and we can't believe how lucky we were to stay there. The food was superb. We cannot wait to go back and hoping we can do it all again next year. I can without hesitation recommend Rippons and Brian, Elaine & Linda made it special for us. They are passionate about the reserve and conservation and glad out little bit helped.

Go there! It's more than a holiday, it's a life experience never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunflowers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Wow, absolutely amazing!!!! We stayed for 2 nights while on our honeymoon in June. We loved every minute. June is low season so we were lucky enough to have our own private game drives. Francis our driver was brilliant, he was very knowledgeable and did his absolute best to ensure we saw the big 5! Would definitely recommend Rippons.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitaker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We visited RIppon's in June 2011 and cannot recommend it enough. The food was plentiful and delicious, all of the staff without exception were helpful and friendly and the safari was all that we expected and more - we saw the big 5 as well as a cheetah kill.
When we arrived we were informed that we were to be the only guests for our 5 night stay. The manager, Brian, was apologetic for this but as this was our honeymoon we were not disappointed at all and in fact it made the whole experience even more special and it meant that all of our game drives were just us and our ranger. Our ranger, Francis, was a godsend! So unbelieveably knowledgeable and even when the animals were playing hard to get, Francis was able to give interesting information about the flora and fauna.
All in all we were treated like very special guests and no effort was spared despite the fact that we were there alone. We would recommend Rippons to anyone travelling to the Eastern Cape - we just wish we could come with you!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgiaMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We had an excellent two night stay in June:
It was low season and quiet so we almost had the place to ourselves. We had been pleasantly upgraded to a lovely room in the long barn overlooking one of the pools and the lovely gardens.
Food was excellent and very plentiful, drink selection was good and fantastic value.
We managed to see lions, elephants, rhino, giraffe, zebras, hippos and lots of other small game and birds, ably led by our ranger, Chris, impressive with his wildlife knowledge and driving skills (after some pretty heavy rain).
Thanks to all the staff for a great experience!
Rob & Hugh

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ral32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My wife, myself and another couple visited Rippons in Apr 2011 for 3 nights. We had the most fantasitc time. We had rooms in long barn & the patio doors lead right out to gardens, relaxing pool & patio. Rooms were lovely, clean ,spacious & tastefully decorated. You are up early for the Safari's but the quality of the drives were great & well worth the early rise. Our ranger Chris was brilliant & very knowlegeable about Shamwari & South Africa in general. We all enjoyed excellent meals with our ranger Chris & the friends we made in our jeep. Portions are great & dont be afraid to try different meats, every one we tried was delicious. We saw all big 5 and many, many, many more animals. We were lucky enough to see a large group of elephants from our sunloungers by the pool between drives. A good camera with a large zoom lense gave some great photos. I also used a monopod which gave a good stable base in the jeep as long as we were not moving. The staff choir should be professional as they stunned us with their singing & dancing.
On check in my wife happended to mentioned that she could not eat bread as she is Coeliac. The chef cooked gluten free bread, muffins, pizza base, etc @ every meal, which totally gave us the WOW factor. I will end as i started saying that I cant fault Rippons in any way. I have stayed in supposed 5 star hotels that come no where near to Rippons. "Well Done" to you all.

Room Tip: Long Barn is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigRiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
2.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.3 mi away
Founders Lodge by Mantis
Founders Lodge by Mantis
#2 of 4 in Paterson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
22.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
4.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rippon's Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippon's Safari Lodge

Property: Rippon's Safari Lodge
Address: N2 Between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown | Eastern Cape, Sidbury, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sidbury
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rippon's Safari Lodge, a new and exciting landmark in the Eastern Cape, one of South Africa's top game viewing areas - a lodge where down-to-earth affordable luxury and a respect for the environment go hand in hand - right in the centre of some of the best game viewing regions around. Rippons Safari Lodge is situated ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rippon`s Safari Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve
Rippon's Safari Lodge South Africa/Sidbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing