We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rippon's Safari Lodge
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We only spent 3 nights there, but I so wish we had stayed longer. The weather was a little unkind but this was more than compensated for by the people. The staff are fantastic and make you feel like a long lost friend. I cannot recommend the place highly enough. If you haven't been on safari, do it. If you are going to do it, then go to Rippon's lodge.

The word awesome is sadly overused these days, but in the context of Rippon's and Shamwari it is perfectly justified. Given the time and money I would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benger_beach_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Rippon's Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

From the moment of our arrival and the warm, friendly reception from Bryan, we fell under the spell of Rippons. We were shown our most attractive room with terrace overlooking the valley and told we could have a lunch platter and then join others on the afternoon safari. Our first experience with Chris, our Ranger, was incredibly wonderful and each time we were out we appreciated more and more how fortunate we were to have such a knowledgeable, pleasant, enthusiastic guide who was prepared to go that extra mile to ensure everyone had a fantastic time. The food prepared by the 2 chefs was excellent and varied. One evening after dinner the staff sang for us - such talent - and another reason for making Rippons such a unique experience. Many thanks to every one of the staff for making our time there so unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This really is a great place to stay and the overall experience is a very memorable one. The lodge is situated some way from the main road but worth the wait as you truly feel away from it all. There was a great welcome and we were all made to feel at home. The rooms were lovely (we were in a family suite) and all our needs catered for including a football and goal for our son. The food was lovely and well presented and the picnic provided on the lawn was outstanding. We travelled with our ten year old son and he was made to feel very special and Brian and his team really went out of their way to increase his knowledge of the wildlife and surroundings. The game drives were both exhilarating and great fun and despite being several hours long provided us some amazing experiences never to be forgotten. The time just flew! Back at the lodge the facilities allow you time to chill and admire the gardens and views. The staff are all extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the game and South Africa and are more than willing to share this with you. . Our son said the stay there was "awesome" and we agreed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

From the moment we arrived, Brian, Rosalyn, Chris and all the staff were warm, welcoming and incredibly helpful,insightful and courteous. The food was BEYOND belief. We ate like kings! Thank you to all....waiters,chefs,rangers,admin & housekeeping staff. U made our holiday so memorable! Claire,Karen,Sarah,Aoife (the Irish gals!)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

From the moment we arrived we experienced an excellent standard of service, game drive, food and hospitality. The staff went to any length to make you enjoy your stay. All were knowledgeable and displayed a genuine passion for the game reserve and a guest's ability to appreciate it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Beautiful locations. Wonderful hosts made out stay very memorable especially Elaine and Brian who went the extra mile.
Plenty to see, our guide Nofias was excellent and very passionate about his job. A true professional!
U would thoroughly recommend this safari and lodge to anybody who wants a bit of magic

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Famfour-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed here with my 2 children and we can't praise it highly enough! Our first safari and no idea what to expect. We were met by Elaine on arrival who was lovely & explained everything & showed us to our fabulous room. A platter of food was prepared for us, followed by afternoon tea and our first venture out! Francis our guide was a fantastic ranger, knowledgeable, unassuming, patient and knew his dung!!! We soon settled into the most amazing routine of a fantastic breakfast, exciting drive, morning coffee, lunch, pm tea, another drive, drinks and a stunning dinner. The last drive had a rather special touch at sunset when Francis finds a good spot and serves drinks as the sun goes down. Quite magical! On our return from the last drive we were met with a huge pot of welcoming hot chocolate from Elaine, Linda or Brian! One of our lunches we took as a picnic and sat on the bank overlooking the dam below with 2 hippo in it! The grounds are full of colourful birds (not to mention the 3 resident cats..my daughter Nicola adored them!) and we found lemon trees on our walks and a quiet spot on the grass or by the pool to soak up the sun before we ventured out again. Brian, Elaine & Linda were charming hosts (always remembering our names from the outset) and Brian is quite the raconteur,.. regailing us with stories in the bar before dinner... perfect! One of them always joined us in the bar and sometimes for dinner, Francis too so he patiently answered all our questions and we could tell them all our experiences on the drive. Francis had the most amazing extensive knowledge of every animal and knew every inch of the reserve inside out. He found us lions, hippos, elephants, giraffe, black rhino (!) cheetahs, Elande, springbok, warthog, Kudo and numerous other species. Brian, Linda & Elaine always managed to sound excited by what we saw despite having heard them millions of times before no doubt!

All the staff are extremely helpful and charming. The Lodge is spotlessly clean and comfortable and we can't believe how lucky we were to stay there. The food was superb. We cannot wait to go back and hoping we can do it all again next year. I can without hesitation recommend Rippons and Brian, Elaine & Linda made it special for us. They are passionate about the reserve and conservation and glad out little bit helped.

Go there! It's more than a holiday, it's a life experience never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunflowers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
12.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,087 reviews
19.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
227 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rippon's Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippon's Safari Lodge

Address: N2 Between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown | Eastern Cape, Sidbury, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sidbury
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rippon's Safari Lodge, a new and exciting landmark in the Eastern Cape, one of South Africa's top game viewing areas - a lodge where down-to-earth affordable luxury and a respect for the environment go hand in hand - right in the centre of some of the best game viewing regions around. Rippons Safari Lodge is situated ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rippon`s Safari Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve
Rippon's Safari Lodge South Africa/Sidbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing