We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing 5 star family Getaway!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Sidbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing 5 star family Getaway!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

A mere hop and skip from Port Elizabeth,just off the N2,lies the Idyllic Kwantu Game Reserve. We decided to take the kids on a much needed weekend away, and WOW, were we blown away by our weekend sojourn at Kwantu!
On our arrival,we were received like royalty by the very hospitable,very professional Lucky and his team,who continued to cater to our every whim throughout our stay. After a tour of the Pollard's inn,we were whisked away to our rooms...beautifully laid out, very spacious and airy,with a lovely,modern bathroom and private balcony overlooking the reserve with a view to die for!

Kwantu is not just a Game reserve,there's so much more on offer...a little something for everyone! There are special breeding programmes for the larger cats with an emphasis on conservation...a definite learning experience for all of us. Kwantu boasts a lovely touch farm,where kids and adults alike can get 'up close and personal' to the smaller animals and birds. For warmer weather,the tennis courts and swimming pool are definite attractions!
An amazing,very conveniently located entertainment room is also available...kitted out with a flat screen tv,comfy couches with an array of magazines for light reading. The pool table and air hockey proved to be a fave with us,esp the kids! Bicycles for both the young and young at heart are available and is a fun way of cycling in an open,safe and very secure environment...the best way to acquaint one's self around the Pollard's Inn! Great conferencing as well as prayer facilities are also available.

Meal times were simply sumptuous...each one offering an array of delicious veg and halaal meat options to cater for every palate....with awesome desserts to round off a perfect meal! Needless to say,we were spoilt for choice! Thanks to the wonderfully attentive 'Moosa' in the dining room who ensured that we were well taken care of at meal times.

The absolute highlight of our trip was the 3 hr game drive with the wonderful,very knowledgeable Lucas,who made the drive a memorable one indeed. We were lucky to have great weather and were privy to a host of animals which the previous group hadn't seen...giraffe, zebras,elephants,hippo's,loads of waterbuck and lions,up close...what an amazing experience!

Kudo's to Shakir Jeeva and his amazing team for an unforgettable,breathtaking,oh-so-memorable,5 star experience, in beautiful tranquil surroundings,with excellent hospitality!!! What more can I say! Kwantu gave us exactly what we needed...an amazing treat for the body,mind and soul...total rejuvenation and wonderful unforgettable ,quality family time! We'll definitely be back in the near future...watch this space!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashida_M786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Front Office Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Rashida

We appreciate your comments of your visit and hope to have the pleasure of having you back again in the near future.

Regards
The Kwantu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    20
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
77
40
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in one of the luxury lodges - fantastic decore and a view to the waterhole and its resident hippo!! Staff were friendly and helpful - took care of everything beautifully!! Awesome animal sightings (thanks so much to our guide Densely - his professionalism and knowledge were impressive). Everything was fabulous: food, staff, animal sightings and accommodation..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 538Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Louise

Many thanks for your feedback.

You will be pleased to know that our resident hippo is still very much active in "his" watering hole.

Many thanks once again.

Regards
Kwantu Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Kwantu made an amazing trip to South Africa, the trip of a life time. We had the warmest welcome on arrival and having transferred our luggage to the safari jeep were transported to the luxury lodge actually in the game reserve. We were lucky enough to be the only ones staying at the lodge and Sam looked after us amazingly. Our accommodation was beautiful, spotlessly clean and we came back in the evening to a roaring log fire (not to mention the roaring in the night as the lions 'talked to each other'). In the morning monkeys peered through our windows and we could see the hippo in the watering hole below the lodge.

Our ranger, Densely was brilliant, he knew the best places to find the animals and we were not disappointed. We saw all the animals we had hoped to see - Lions, giraffe, zebra, elephants + babies etc - the best experience ever. We felt totally safe and Densely was hugely knowlegeable about the animals we saw, and he had a great sense of humour!

We loved the rehab/breeding centre with lions, tigers and cheetah and the young volunteers/ rangers were hugely knowledgeable and friendly. The girls loved the touch farm but the icing on the cake was being able to play with an orphaned white lion cub. Our eldest daughter has decided to return as a conservation volunteer when she finishes her degree!

Thanks to everyone at Kwantu for making this the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, General Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Sarah

We are delighted to hear that we made your visit so memorable.

You will be pleased to know that our orphaned cub is doing extremely well and will be transferred to our rewilding camp for ultimate release into the greater reserve.

We look forward to having your daughter on our volunteer program in the near future.

Warm regards
Kwantu Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

What an awesome experience form checking-in to checking-out. Accommodation is out of this world. Neat, tidy, spacious and relaxed. The ambiance in all aspects are tranquil. The staff members from various departments are very professional and customer satisfaction orientated. Definitely a recommendation for any type of getaway. Well done to management for managing this game reserve efficient and effectively. We pray that Kwantu get frequent visitors and grow from strength to strength. WELL DONE GUYS!!!! See you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbdullahE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Mr Abdullah

Thank you for your positive feedback of your stay at Kwantu Private Game Reserve.

Kwantu continuously strives for guest satisfaction and service excellent and are glad that this has come through during your visit.

Kind regards
The Kwantu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have just spent the best month of my life at Kwantu. The passionate, highly knowledgable staff made this happen along with all of the activities and wildlife. If you are keen to learn about conservation and watch it all happening in front of your eyes then Kwantu is the place to go.
Accommodation was perfect and the food was fresh, home cooked and delicious.
It is not just an amazing game reserve, it has breeding programs for big cats and a touch farm where you can get up close to the animals and birds.
There is always lots going on yet it is a beautiful peaceful retreat where the the sound of the monkeys, lions and birds wake you up as the sun rises.
Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was my best holiday ever,the service was 5 star' hospitality of the highest order,the staff were excellent and friendly, it is soo natural it calms a persons mind,tantalizing and a variety of meals offered ,haven't tasted such meals at any other resort before. The park was amazing saw majority of the animals, enjoyed it more than Kruger park . Rooms at hotel and lodge spacious and relaxing, waS impressed by Kwantu predator park as well, I RECComeNd it any day for. A holiday , also cheaper than other national parks , wELL DONE Kwantu you guys RoCK

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saloojee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Definitely one of my best holiday ever, having toured over 10 countries. Warm staff and highly professional. Great peaceful natural environment. Perfect for families, groups and singles.. Great conference facilities aswell .Terrific terrain. Enough animals to keep a person excited. Privacy is respected. Service is incredible. Pricing is reasonable: would love to do it again soon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mys888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
5.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
13.6 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
9.9 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwantu Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Property: Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Address: 1 Daniel Street, Sidbury 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sidbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kwantu Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwantu is situated near Port Elizabeth with its offering spanning everything from the big 5 to Kwantu's own elephant sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kwantu Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwantu Private Game Reserve Hotel Sidbury
Kwantu Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sidbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing