We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay, Bad Safari Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Sidbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The resort is amazing with great rooms and good food. We had been to the safari but were disappointed with the quality of the experiences as there are limited animals and you feel as if you are visiting a zoo rather than a safari.

If you know other options, I would rather explore those.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Darshan

Thank you for your visit as well as sharing your experience on Trip Advisor as guidance for other potential travelers.

We are happy that you had a great overall experience, but would like to remind you that Kwantu is a big 5 game reserve where all of the big 5 are free roaming (6000 hectare reserve). Thus, the game experience and sightings are dependent on various external factors which are out of our control.

Therefore, we are not sure why you perceived the game activity to mimic that of a zoo, but as stated above, in a big 5 game reserve, no game viewing is guaranteed, and it is that fact that actually sets us apart from a zoo, where sightings and animals are guaranteed.

Kwantu is proud to advise that we have, free roaming on our property, all of the indigenous animals naturally found in our area, in addition to the big 5. Therefore, no other game reserve will be able to offer a wider variety of animals than Kwantu, in our area.

We once again thank you for your 1 night spent at Kwantu, and hope to have you back for a longer period so that you are able to have more game activities and see the abundance and variety of animals which Kwantu offers.

Regards
Kwantu Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our family of twenty-five visited Kwantu for a long weekend. The youngest in our group being two and the oldest seventy. We were delighted that our family time turned into a lifetime of memories. Each and every member of staff went out of their way to accommodate us and cater to our needs. They were friendly, kind and eager to assist. The rooms were extremely comfortable, food fantastic and the setting quite remarkable. To be at such close range to the Big Five is truly phenomenal and to wake to to the sounds of animals at the nearby waterhole is somewhat magical. Kwantu should also be commended on their extensive rehabilitation program, especially with regards to Lions and Elephants. Highly Recommended and absolutely unforgettable, we all came home with memories to last a lifetime!

Room Tip: Family Rooms are spacious if you choose the Hotel, and the bungalows have magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALLEE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Front Office Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Family

We are extremely honored to have contributed to such wonderful memories during your recent family visit to Kwantu Private Game Reserve.

We would like to thank you for choosing us as a destination for your holiday as well as sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to having you and your family back with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
The Kwantu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Service, staff, food, facilities, activities and overall stay was fantastic. From arrival until departure staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay at the lodge (bungalow opposite the water hole - beautiful! We fell asleep and woke up to the sounds of different animals). the game drive, predator camp, cub interaction and touch farm were nothing short of enjoyable, fun and memorable. We ended our second day of with massages under candles followed by a scrumptious meal. Perfect for families and groups as well, so will be visiting again soon with a larger group.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Saffiyya630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Saffiyya

Thanks for your review and we are happy to have had you as a guest.

I am sure that you will be pleased to hear that our full spa should be completed shortly and we hope to have you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kwantu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

From the moment my wife and I arrived we were blown away! The staff are absolutely helpful and friendly and so accommodating, the food was divine and the lodge that we stayed in was beyond my wildest dreams. Waking up in the middle of the night to a pride of lions was such a thrill!
The game drives did not disappoint at all, we were so lucky to see the big 5 up close.
The facilities such as the predator camp ensured that we never had a moment of boredom.
This has been by far the most amazing outdoor experience I have ever had and will certainly be back in the near future!
To the staff and management of kwantu
Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sameer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Sameer

Thank you for the great feedback of your stay. It is much appreciated.

We hope that you will have time on your next visit to explore our Kwantu Elephant Sanctuary where you can have an up close and personal experience with our "gentle giants".

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Kwantu Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I visited a while ago, but since developing a profile on trip advisor this is definitely a place which deserves a review!!!

I was lucky enough to stay in both the lodge and the main hotel. Both of which were beautiful.
The staff were helpful and the food divine.

The drives around the reserve were informative and it was great to see the animals being so well looked after.

The evenings entertainment is also certainly a treat!!!

I also had the opportunity to view the volunteer accommodation which is by far the best I've ever seen.

Whilst I was there new facilities were being built (this was over 2 years ago) so I'm assuming they are now completed to the same magnificent standard as the rest of the resort.

I hope that I'm lucky enough to visit again one day. Thank you for some great memories of a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Jones

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Our new facilities have been completed since you visited us, and these include swimming pools, restaurants and conference facilities.

We hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this reserve for three nights from 27-29 December 2013.

The rooms were large and spacious and the view from the room was wonderful. Our only complaints of the room are that the pillows are very hard & uncomfortable to sleep on, but luckily there were two other pillows available in the cupboard and the channels listed as available on the TV did not correspond to what was actually on the TV.

The food was excellent and all staff were attentive despite there seeming to be a lack of staff for the lunch and evening meals.

The game drives were great and a particular highlight for us was the predator camp. The game rangers were knowledgeable and tried to cater to what we wanted to see on our drives as we went in small groups and were not packed into a large car. Although we did not manage to spot any lions or leopards on our game drives our ranger did make an attempt to spot these animals for us and we were at least able to see the lions at the predator camp.

The place is ideal for families and people wanting some quiet rest and relaxation as the place is very peaceful and laid-back. Each group receives an individual itinerary on arrival and this lists what activities the group is booked on each day. The groups are kept small and there is plenty of time to relax between planned game drives and other activities such as the elephant sanctuary and predator camp.

All staff at the reserve were very helpful and friendly and made an effort to give us the best experience possible. Our overall experience of the reserve was excellent and we would definitely recommend it to others in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Sabrina

Thank you for the extensive review of your stay at Kwantu.

We appreciate the recommendation and positive comments.

Many thanks once again.

Kind regards
Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing experience for any family, young and old. Service, Accomodation, food, game drives and the whole experience is world class!!! Must try the game drives, petting zoo, predator camp and elephant sanctuary. An unforgettable 2 nights!!! We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank sublime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
5.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
Bushman Sands Golf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alicedale
121 reviews
13.5 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Inzolo Exclusive Game Lodge
8.5 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,132 reviews
4 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwantu Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Address: 1 Daniel Street, Sidbury 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sidbury
Price Range: £247 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kwantu Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwantu is situated near Port Elizabeth with its offering spanning everything from the big 5 to Kwantu's own elephant sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kwantu Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwantu Private Game Reserve Hotel Sidbury
Kwantu Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sidbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing