We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family hotel”
Review of KinderHotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KinderHotel Post
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Unken
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fantastic family hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were looking for a family ski holiday that was a bit different from the usual chalets, and this hotel was recommended.

From the initial booking, every part of this holiday has been excellent. Sani at reception coordinated our booking and transport from Salzburg airport very efficiently. She gave us a fantastic, friendly welcome and made us feel very much at home.

Our room was absolutely huge and the beds were very comfy. The bathroom was huge with wired internet in the room and a good television with local, satellite stations.

Although it was cold outside, we didn't need to worry about the heating with the room and hotel being warm at all times.

The hotel is all inclusive and the food is amazing. There was a choice of cooked and continental breakfasts in the morning, with a truly staggering choice of locally sourced, organic foods. Lunch was equally varied and, if necessary, packed lunches could be provided or meals arranged at the ski resort directly. There's a mid-afternoon cake session, which is always acceptable, and dinner is exceptionally high quality. You have your own table for breakfast and dinner, with the same waitress. Our waitress, Jasmin was lovely and we all appreciated her help.

Our daughter was up every morning and desperate to get to kids club. They have a varied programme, including ski lessons on the hotel nursery slope from 9.15 to 7pm most days. Again, the staff were fantastic (Orla, Tunda, Yasmin, Detta and everyone else whose names my daughter can't remember at the moment!) and clearly very caring.

My wife enjoyed the spa and the pool is great.

The hotel runs free buses to Heutal and Lofer ski resorts. Heutal's quite small and good for absolute beginners but it's more for intermediate skiiers. We didn't get a chance to go to Lofer. There's a ski shop next to the hotel who can organise lessons, ski hire, etc.

Unken is a small village and there isn't a huge amount to do outwith the hotel but to be honest, everything is provided in the hotel so you don't need to leave.

Overall, this was a fantastic family holiday and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tendons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
232
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel really does have everything right! From the friendliest welcome, to the amazing facilities and great food, this hotel has really worked out what works for families and how to make it look seamless. When the sun shone (and it did most days!) we didn't need more than the beautiful private lake with great water slide, boats and inflatable. Usual thoughtful touches were two safe 'beach' areas for the younger non-swimmers with toys to keep them happy.
When it was grey we sampled the golf range, trampolines, archery and indoor pool and play area. We had pre-booked swimming lessons and horse-riding lessons for children and both were of a very high standard. The food deserves a mention too - while the children had a buffet with plainer offerings suited to their tastes; the four course adult menu served to the parents was fantastic. All this of course comes at a price, and this isn't a cheap holiday - my only slight quibble would be that the price includes full-time free childcare in the creche and as we didn't use this it felt a little annoyed that the pricing couldn't reflect whether childcare option is included or not. However, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to families with children from infants to pre-teens.

Room Tip: The room in the newer building overlooking the tennis courts were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filmfan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were recommended to this hotel by friends who had been before, they raved about it, they were not wrong.
We had the most fantastic holiday ( after a dreadful start, my son came down with chicken pox two days before we were due to fly. We could not fly, so decided to drive !!!!! ) It was well worth the hassle of travelling and we would drive again but plan it better with more overnight stops.
The hotel offers a fantastic welcome, wonderfully large rooms, we booked a room with separate sleeping area for our twins and they had their own room with built in bunk beds. They loved it and also a lounge area for us, for when they had gone to bed. The room was cleaned, beds and towels changed every day.
The food was amazing with a kids buffet a 6pm every day, which to be honest we would have been happy to eat from, with adult meals served from 6.30 onwards, so you get a hot meal. The breakfast was amazing as was lunch, try the bbq salmon, fab.
The kids club was great, you could drop them off all day or pick them up and drop them off again whenever you wanted, all included in the price. The girls were wonderful too, lovely and they all speak English.
There are bikes to take out if you wish, the tennis courts, the indoor pool, the lake outside, the golf driving range, archery, hikes, the spa, you name it, its there.
A fantastic holiday had by all, in the most beautiful of locations, we will be going back................

Room Tip: Does not matter where you are, all the rooms are larger than average with good size balcony for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M6frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

It was family trip: me, wife, 4 years old daughter and our friend with 2 children of and 12.
In short - it was terrific 1 week vacation for all of us! Great hotel for families with children located in the beautiful breath-taking area.
And now in details....
It was the 1st time our children would saw the snow and it was important to find a place with variety of activities. It was a good bet.
It is a small hotel with very intimate atmosphere, very clean and with beautiful apartments. Everything was built while thinking of the children: children room with furniture that meets the children size, every place that could be too high for the children is having special stairs to allow them to reach the desired: reception, lobby, restaurant, dining room, bathroom and so on...
Dinning hole is separate to a number of semi-closed rooms that makes it very much quieter and comfortable for the families with the children. And there is lot of children, regarding this fact it was never disturbing.
Food is somewhere between good and very good: always fresh, tasty and various.
Both children and adults can easily be satisfied on every meal, and there are four meals a day - it was very challenging 8-)
Soft drinks cold and hot are always available - coffee, tea and a vast variety of cold drinks is always there for you at no charge.
Wine room is free tasting is also available with sommelier Martin.
All personal is very kind, smile, always helping and is speaking English fluently...
Everybody is working years in the hotel and looks like they really like their job.
Apartments are spacious and are kept very clean. Special thanks to one of the cleaning ladies that was always doing something unusual with our blankets, pillows and other staff - it was really refreshing and fun.
Apartments are equipped with modern TV sets capable to playback video from USB or external RGB source. Just take RGB cable with you in the 2nd case. Wireless internet is available in the lobby only, in the rooms the internet is wired, and it is free of charge.
For the children hotel is suggesting vast number of activities: indoor swimming pool (one for the babies and for adults), quite big playground, playstation room, cinema, kinder garden for extra pay and the most important the huge outside yard with horse stables, it's own small ski slope with the t-bar, nice lake with small natural waterfall and different playgrounds... Hotel is offering a lot of equipment for family use for both inside and outside the hotel activities: sledges, baby carry, skates, hokey sticks and more...
Hotel is located in between the Alps Mountain and is facing beautiful view. There are 3 different ski areas: Lofer - 10 minutes from the hotel is the biggest ski resort in the area and is small and is not challenging for good skiers, yet is beautiful and it is fun spending there some time alone or with the children. Lofer town itself is worth spending some time on it as well. Heutal area we have used for hiking / sledges tours we undertake with our children - sledges can be taken from the hotel.
There is a ski bus you can use to go free between different ski areas and back to the hotel, but it is available only 2-3 times a day and is not very convenient, public transport is also available but next time I would consider renting the car.
For the winter holidays March is marginal - it was quite hot (-2 - +5) and the snow around the hotel was already wet and icy, higher in the mountains there were enough snow and it was great for the hiking tours but ski slopes condition was average.
That's it I think - other details you can find on the hotel's web site.
It is definitely family hotel - best for families with children. Others will have less chance to enjoy all amenities the hotel offers; actually I did not see there anybody without the children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgorL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

"Kinder hotel is a great place for kids. If you want to sit and read send your kids
 to the play area. There is a swimming pool ,two tennis courts, four trampolines,a play ground,a pond,horse riding and a farm." This was written by our daughter who was 6 when we visited this hotel, and it's pretty much sums it all.
Location: Hotel is in the small village of Unken, about 35 mins from Salzburg. Greats walks, biking in the surrounding mountains. The hotel staff arranged a car hire for us (30 eur per day) and we went to the lovely town of Zell am See and drove around all day. Hotel grounds are not extensive, but they have an animal farm, stables, loads of sport and their own lake (although it was fairly cold, with the first glimpse of sunshine all kids where on the slides or jumping into the lake from inflatable tower, wish I could join them...). Although hotel was full, it was very easy to book the court, play table tennis or go to the well equipped gym. The indoor swimming pool could get crowded in the afternoon if it was raining, but even this could not spoil the fun. Hotel also has a kids club, but because it was mainly German, our daughter preferred to stay with us of play with few English friends she made there (except for when we were going for a mountain walk then she gladly stayed all day in the club).
Rooms: We had a family room, with main adults bedroom and a separate kid-size room where our daughter loved to stay and even let us sleep undisturbed in the morning. Our room had a nice small balcony with spectacular mountain views and even though it was next to the main town road, it was always very quiet and peaceful. Rooms are good size and well appointed, in typical Austrian decor.
Food: We had AI plan and the quality of food was second to none. Freshly baked bread, organic juices and cireal for breakfast, good choice of quality food for buffet lunch, ice- cream, great selection of teas, well prepared and presented dinners. And you have snacks and cake that you can east sitting next to the fire if it rains, while your kids run around with other children or spend their time in the play area. Each family has own table for breakfast and dinner. Every morning hotel's newspaper was waiting on the table, with the details of daily activities, weather forecast, dinner menu and childrens story.
Staff and service: This is family run hotel, all the staff wore traditional dresses and were ready to help and address your every request. There is so much to do in the hotel, that you're spoiled for choice.
Overall, a great place to spend a week or too, much better than your regular beach break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vadim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed for 1 week at the Post in Unken and enjoyed a terrific family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggelsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed 5 days at this hotel and the overall impression is very good. The staff was very friendly, helpful and smiley. Checkin and Welcome by Irina were great. Despite our late arrival, they still kept food from the buffet for us very thoughtful. Also a plus in the service to Jasmin who took care of our table on one evening and was very friendly, open to discuss and had a special dessert for our kid, thank you for the attention.The room was very big with a view on the mountains and a balcony. it was not super fancy and modern but it was more than fine. there was free internet in the room, thank you ! No tea/coffee making facilities but you could get anytime you want from the restaurant by yourself. The facilities was of good quality and looked fresh and new. We enjoyed the warm swimming pool with our little one every day. the sauna/hammam area was, in my opinion, top notch, never too crowded and very clean. There was plenty of clean towels, fresh water and tea available in the quiet area, very enjoyable, keep it up! The sliding track and soft play area were enjoyed by our boy. However the staff from the kids club, was less than impressive. They did not look really motivated and did not make much effort to take the kids out despite the good weather, it seemed there was always a good reason to stay inside. So that is a minus. The clown show on the last day was nice and our boy told us this was his favourite part of the stay, so thumbs up for the clown. Now the food. Well you have 4 meals a day, but if you are not there at the beginning of the service window, you may not get what you want. Example: wafels and hazelnut breads at breakfast were gone fast and when asking for more, often got a "sorry, we don't have anymore" as reply.Same thing for the bretzels who were quickly gone at breakfast and lunch. The products served at breakfast were organic which was good, but still the quality was average+ and lacked finesse: wafels to heavy with too much butter, average pastries, unsophisticated soups and dishes at lunch and dinner. The coffee machine was very good though, and it would give you good cappuccino's and latte's. I will end up the review with the archery, which is a bit outdated and out of shape, but you can borrow an arc and arrows and practice, I enjoyed it.
A a conclusion, if it hab better kid's club staff/activities and improved cuisine quality, I could just not fault the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaBoyOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unken
17.5 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Riederalm
Hotel Riederalm
#1 of 16 in Leogang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
24.3 mi away
Kinderhotel Zell am See
Kinderhotel Zell am See
#4 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg
13.0 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KinderHotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KinderHotel Post

Property: KinderHotel Post
Address: Niederland 28, Unken 5091, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Unken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Unken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — KinderHotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your KinderHotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing