We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exley House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nedlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Exley House B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Nedlands B&B and Inns
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

The proprietors, Nola & Jim, were superb hosts- charming, considerate, courteous and helpful.

The accomodation is first-class. We had a lovely bedroom with access to a veranda overlooking the well-maintained garden. There was exclusive access to a delightful and large siting room which was well equipped. Adjacent the sitting room was the bathroom, toilet and laundry room.

Breakfast was excellent with a choice of home cooked options. Any of the choices we made were delicious; in particular Nola's own-recipe porridge was fabulous.

Although Exley House is situated in Nedlands to the west of Perth, it is very easy to get to the city via public transport. The bus stop is a five-minute walk from the B&B.
We stayed here since we were visiting our daughter who was staying in Cottesloe. However, it would greatly suit anyone who was visiting Perth.
There are plenty of restaurants in the area.

Overall, this B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed at Exley House with a friend recently, and could not have been more happy with it. The location was excellent for us (just down from the University of Western Australia), with eating places nearby and good transport links. The tariff was very reasonable by Perth standards (which are unbelievably expensive). And most importantly, the accommodation was awesome.

Our host, Nola, was so accommodating and friendly - just one of those people who is born to be a host and thinks of all the little things that will make a visit that extra bit nice (right down to making us a cup of tea and serving us very good biscuits when we arrived bedraggled after a long flight). The rooms were delightful - beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and with all mod cons, including a fridge. The bathroom was lovely too (and yes, it does have a shower if you aren't sure from the advertising - although the clawfoot bath is well worth checking out!). The breakfasts were also fantastic - very high quality, and a really nice menu to choose from as well as an excellent continental breakfast to have instead of (or alongside) the cooked food.

Unfortunately, we arrived during some very unseasonable bad weather, but for better weather, there's also a lovely verandah to sit out on and enjoy the gardens.

It was just all round a brilliant stay, and really made our trip. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I ever return to Perth - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just a really wonderful place to stay the hosts Kim and Nola are just great, very very clean place, the living room is just so comfortable to sit back in and relax it would have to be popular with people coming in from the wheatbelt it is so close to so many things Cottesloe beach, The city, Fremantle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

When I travel to Perth I always stay at a B&B because the hotels are outrageously expensive. This is the first time I stayed at Exley House. I will definitely stay at Exley in the future. The home is adorable and in a peaceful setting. You walk out the door into their yard and lovely garden area. The rooms and bathroom are very clean. There is a living room area that you can share with other guests if there are any other guests. Exley has only 2 rooms they rent out. You share a large bathroom with other guests. However, the toilet is separate from the bath and shower area. This makes sharing pretty easy. The breakfasts are great. She will cook eggs for you if you let her know the night before. The location is perfect. Easy access to Perth and to the western neighborhoods. Also, there are numerous restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ern50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

I have just stayed at Exley House whilst at a conference in Perth - it is significantly cheaper than a hotel in Perth and is in a good location. The propreitor is very friendly and accommodating and really made me feel at home.
The place has internet, a very good size bathroom with shower and a huge bath and you get a lounge too. You have your own front door and access to sit out in their nice garden.
There were about 10 options for cooked breakfast plus cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, juice, etc! Breakfast was very beautifully presented and very yummy!
I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dave_london_ukLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nedlands
Sullivans Hotel
#31 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Captain Stirling Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nedlands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exley House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exley House B&B

Property: Exley House B&B
Address: 2 Bedford St, Nedlands, Western Australia 6009, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Nedlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nedlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, this lovely character home offers old world charm with every modern convenience for your total comfort.Offers a spacious guest wing with private entrance, beautiful queensize bedrooms with french doors leading onto the verandah and overlooking delightful gardens. One bedroom has it's own stunning spacious ensuite bathroom and the other bedroom has a beautiful large private bathroom with a claw foot bath and a shower.Both bathrooms are done in the traditional style.A large guest lounge with leather lounges and antique furniture adds to the warmth and charm of this boutique bed and breakfast.Very close to the city, public transport, shops, restaurants, movie theatre, The University of WA,the Swan River and fabulous beaches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing