We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in suburbia”
Review of Exley House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nedlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Exley House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Nedlands B&B and Inns
Aussie in OZ
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An oasis in suburbia”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I have just spent 4 nights at Exley House and it is so much more than a B n B. We were very lucky in that we were the only visitors and it may be different if sharing with strangers. We basically had a spotless character home with sweeping verandahs to ourselves as the entrance is completely private. When we arrived I was surprised at how close it was to a major highway but once inside the traffic noise was not at all intrusive. The location meant that it was very handy to the shops and the local cinema with the gorgeous Swan River not too far away. The gardens are glorious and made a perfect place to sit and read in the sunshine. Purely at a personal level, I found the bed to be very firm but others may love it. The bath towels were thick and luxurious and toiletries plentiful. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious and Nola was the perfect non intrusive host.

Room Tip: If you want an ensuite you need to ask for it. The bathroom for the other room was splendid with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esperance, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I chose Exley House because it was close to the medical centre I had to go to and I wasn't looking forward to that trip to the city, but as soon as I arrived at the B&B I completely relaxed. The house is beautiful, spacious, very private, and so quiet. The bathroom looks like something out of a luxurious castle. The breakfast is amazing, there's plenty and it's delicious! And it's so close to shops and restaurants. If I have to go to Perth again I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefcarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pingelly
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

WOW..... What a find - I only wish we had found this accommodation years ago! A lovely and very comfortable B & B accommodation in Nedlands. All of the required needs when you are away from home - wonderful hosts, great bed and privacy galore. Close to a delicious Indian restaurant. It really was a terrific experience - in fact our first B&B experience - will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank beambine6308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Exley House on a quick business trip to Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital. I chose to stay because it was walking distance from the hospital, but I'll be back because it is the best accommodation I have stayed in in Perth by a long shot!

Nola and Kim are kind and professional hosts. They respect your privacy and after running the B&B for over 10 years, they have thought of everything a guest could need (except an iPhone dock... hint hint :p). The beds are comfy, and there is a TV, fridge, and tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom. The huge separate lounge room is perfect for relaxing when it's cold, while the veranda is there for warmer weather. There is a big bathroom with a luxurious bathtub and unlimited bubbles!

Breakfast is huge and delicious. It includes juice, cereal, yoghurt, toast and preserves, as well as a hot course cooked to order.

At the moment Exley House only accommodates one guest/couple at a time as they are renovating an en-suite on the second room. If you get in quick you're guaranteed a very luxurious and private stay with the entire guest wing of the house to yourself!

I could go on and on about this place, but I guess the best review I can give is to say that I will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed for 3 nights.Welcoming hosts.Lovely home with great perod pieces.Substantial breakfast.Private garden to sit out and relax.Close to shops and transport.Would not hesitate to reccomend to friends.

Room Tip: Wen we stayed we were the only ones.I would recommend you check before hand if you wish privacy.As y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

The proprietors, Nola & Jim, were superb hosts- charming, considerate, courteous and helpful.

The accomodation is first-class. We had a lovely bedroom with access to a veranda overlooking the well-maintained garden. There was exclusive access to a delightful and large siting room which was well equipped. Adjacent the sitting room was the bathroom, toilet and laundry room.

Breakfast was excellent with a choice of home cooked options. Any of the choices we made were delicious; in particular Nola's own-recipe porridge was fabulous.

Although Exley House is situated in Nedlands to the west of Perth, it is very easy to get to the city via public transport. The bus stop is a five-minute walk from the B&B.
We stayed here since we were visiting our daughter who was staying in Cottesloe. However, it would greatly suit anyone who was visiting Perth.
There are plenty of restaurants in the area.

Overall, this B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed at Exley House with a friend recently, and could not have been more happy with it. The location was excellent for us (just down from the University of Western Australia), with eating places nearby and good transport links. The tariff was very reasonable by Perth standards (which are unbelievably expensive). And most importantly, the accommodation was awesome.

Our host, Nola, was so accommodating and friendly - just one of those people who is born to be a host and thinks of all the little things that will make a visit that extra bit nice (right down to making us a cup of tea and serving us very good biscuits when we arrived bedraggled after a long flight). The rooms were delightful - beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and with all mod cons, including a fridge. The bathroom was lovely too (and yes, it does have a shower if you aren't sure from the advertising - although the clawfoot bath is well worth checking out!). The breakfasts were also fantastic - very high quality, and a really nice menu to choose from as well as an excellent continental breakfast to have instead of (or alongside) the cooked food.

Unfortunately, we arrived during some very unseasonable bad weather, but for better weather, there's also a lovely verandah to sit out on and enjoy the gardens.

It was just all round a brilliant stay, and really made our trip. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I ever return to Perth - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nedlands
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 65 in Perth
305 reviews
Sullivans Hotel
#29 of 65 in Perth
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Captain Stirling Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nedlands
24 reviews
Kings Park Motel
#1 of 1 in Shenton Park
70 reviews
Trinity on Hampden
#9 of 14 in Perth
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exley House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exley House B&B

Property: Exley House B&B
Address: 2 Bedford St, Nedlands, Western Australia 6009, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Nedlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nedlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, this lovely character home offers old world charm with every modern convenience for your total comfort.Offers a spacious guest wing with private entrance, beautiful queensize bedrooms with french doors leading onto the verandah and overlooking delightful gardens. One bedroom has it's own stunning spacious ensuite bathroom and the other bedroom has a beautiful large private bathroom with a claw foot bath and a shower.Both bathrooms are done in the traditional style.A large guest lounge with leather lounges and antique furniture adds to the warmth and charm of this boutique bed and breakfast.Very close to the city, public transport, shops, restaurants, movie theatre, The University of WA,the Swan River and fabulous beaches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing