We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place and great food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawarden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gladstone's Library
Ranked #1 of 2 Hawarden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Sunday lunch is excellent and very good value in pleasant surroundings. Everything is home made with fresh vegetables and lovely puddings. Had a guided tour of the library afterwards and spend several hours just looking at the books. The guide was excellent and very knowledgeable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my third visit to Gladstone's Library for a course. Peace and tranquillity are assured. The food is excellent, fresh ingredients and expertly cooked, no waiter service but a very pleasant coffee shop/restaurant. It is nice to sit outside in fine weather with pots of marigolds on the picnic tables. No televisions in the bedrooms but radios and good reading lamps. If you need to exercise Hawarden Woods are just over the road and a library pass gains bonus access to Gladstone's Estate. Very friendly place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited the Library to do the 1 hour tour which is run once a month. The guide was excellent and we learnt lot about Gladstone's life as well as how the Library came to exist. This is a charming place with friendly staff and lots of areas to sit and read. When we n=booked the tour we were asked whether we wanted a table reserved for lunch. This ensured that a table was ready and waiting for us when the tour finished. The food was good with a range of hot and cold options. Afterwards, we walked to the ruins of Howarden Castle nearby which was very pleasant. We recommend Gladstone's Library as it really is a unique place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tourists3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was fortunate to be able to visit Gladstone's Library in 2009 as part of my sabbatical that year. My wife and I stayed there for about 5 days and were part of the anniversary celebration held that year. We heard some wonderful speakers and took part in some special activities planned for the celebration but we enjoyed very much simply relaxing on the grounds, walking the trails in the area, dining and getting to know others over meals, and touring historical places that were within walking distance. We worshiped on the Sunday we were there in the historic church adjacent to the Library and felt very much at home. We were impressed with how many professors, clergy and their spouses were there with whom we were able to talk and get to know personally. One man even invited us to his home to meet his wife and we had a wonderful time getting to know them resulting in a friendship that we continue through cards at Christmas.

The grounds are well kept and the housing there is first rate. We stayed in a room without bath and took a shower down the hallway but that did not bother us at all. We have stayed at hotels in the UK with similar arrangements and it is always an adventure for us. I highly recommend Gladstone's Library for those who are seeking tranquility and intellectual stimulation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Visited this library for lunch, and was not disappointed. What a charming place and a very nice lunch, but you cannot go into the library without a pass. If you have time its worth going for a walk on the Gladstone Estate just a few yards down the road, which has a ruined castle and water mill in the grounds.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jackson074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladstonesLibrary, Public Relations Manager at Gladstone's Library, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for the positive review! Just wanted to clarify the position regarding the Library. Anyone can go in and have a look around, but we always ask people to register as a Reader if they want to use the facilities and access the collections. This is completely free.

i hope we can welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes
jane.dawson@gladlib.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful place to relax, study, reflect and pray in a library/house build as a gift for such activities by the Victorian Prime Minister W E Gladstone. Excellent library, friendly staff, good food, comfortable rooms, beautiful setting and all at excellent value. A unique, rare and very traditional English experience. Do remember to ask at reception for pass to walk through part of the grounds of the Gladstone family estate (where descendants still live)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Three nights at Gladstone's Library was lovely to be in this quiet and beautiful location for a reading and reflection retreat. Excellent boutique style warm ensuite room (amazing water pressure!), very comfy bed, tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Good food (stayed dinner, bed and breakfast) and interesting/engaging other guests. Supporting by Sion College, London to come so thank you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Father Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawarden
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
4.2 mi away
Soughton Hall
Soughton Hall
#1 of 3 in Northop
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#33 of 45 in Chester
503 reviews
2.6 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
12.9 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone's Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone's Library

Address: Church Lane, Hawarden CH5 3DF, Wales (Formerly St Deiniol's Library)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Hawarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawarden
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone's Library 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gladstone's Library is the UK's finest residential library and one of the top small conference destinations in North Wales. Our comfortable accommodation includes 26 newly refurbished rooms (singles, twin and doubles), some with en-suite facilities. All rooms come with phones and ISDN connections and tea/coffee making facilities. Gladstone's Library has recently been awarded a four-star grading by Visit Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gladstone's Library Hawarden, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing