We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem of a place to stay and relax”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hawarden, Flintshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
theresauk...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gem of a place to stay and relax”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Feel fortunate to have been able to have a three night stay here. It was the perfect location for us while visiting friends. There has been a lot of thought to include everything you may need during your stay, and much more. The hot pool was divine, especially with it being under cover in October!! They had a thoughtful welcome pack with Welsh cakes, and a few other goodies to make you feel special. The bed was SO comfortable, made it hard to get up in the morning Thank you for being the perfect hosts, I would definitely recommend this place

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clueingfo...
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just came home from a wonderful four night stay in this beautiful cottage. There are so many personal touches from the dressing gowns left on the bed to the welcome basket providing tea, coffee and milk along with some welsh cakes and a tv magazine, all of which were greatly appreciated! The hot tub was an added bonus and was perfect to relax in of an evening, along with now being undercover which isn't shown on the photographs. The cottage also contains all the utensils and crockery needed as we were able to prepare freshly homemade meals each night.

However, some things to mention are the heating appeared to go off or return to a lower temperature regardless of what time we turned it on or which temperature we set, so this can't of been the boilers timer. When we googled the heating unit on the wall it appears you can have an app on your phone to adjust the heating, which may have been why the temperature would drop whenever we set it, or why the heating would turn itself off at random times of the day. The wifi connection was very slow with us only getting connection in the kitchen or the bedroom. The tv would lose sound every now and again, but could be resolved by turning on and off again. None of the doors upstairs would close properly and there isn't a lock on the bathroom door, but this didn't cause any problems.

There is also a 5am wake up call every morning with deliveries being made to the post office which is to the gate right outside the front door, but this shouldn't be too bad if you're a heavy sleeper.

Regardless of the cons to our stay we have had a perfect time in this cottage as nothing was too inconvenient, and we would definitely recommend this cottage to any couple wanting a relaxing break away as this cottage is perfect to relax and unwind in.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be returning but in the warmer months so we don't need to use the heating!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Heating which appeared to go off and drop to a lower temperature at various times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann G
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Spent a week in this lovely cottage which is very cozy. With the hot tub and roll top bath it is an addrd bit of luxury. The welcome basket with tea, coffee, sugar and cakes and a pint of milk in the fridge was a really nice touch. Hawarden is a nice village but unfortunately 2 of it 3 pubs have closed leaving only the Glynne Arms but we did have a very nice meal and the beer prices are good too. We cooked a couple of times and the dish washer was a life saver after a big fry up breakfast.

If I have to be crytical, there are two small things that could be addressed. A nest of small tables in the lounge area would be useful. Also in the bathroom (which is huge) there is a very small shower which almost looks like an after thought, that said it did work perfectly well, it just would have been nice to have a shower that is a little bit more special to be i keeping with the rest of the property.

We would highly recommend this cottage and we will be returning next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teithiwr1...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Old Sorting Office was perfectly situated for a visitor to Hawarden. It was a short walk Gladstone's Library where I was pursuing postgraduate Welsh history research. It was also a very short walk to the Glynne Arms on the occasions I didn't feel like cooking at the end of the day. The post office and shop next door was extremely convenient. The property was quiet, and very clean and tidy. Plenty of tea, coffee and sugar was very thoughtfully provided along with milk and bara brith. The sofa is not well lit and a reading lamp would be a great advantage. The bathroom was huge but the shower itself was rather small and poky tucked away in one corner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hearing the church bells in the distance
Liked least: The poor light for reading on the sofa
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolute perfection”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just back from a two night stay at The Old Sorting Office. Everything was absolutley perfect, from the directions to the car park, the welcome basket and the useful book of places to go/eat.

Instantly felt at home when staying here, the bed is one of the comfiest we have slept in, the dressing gowns on the bed are an added touch of luxury. The bath was amazing also, absolute heaven.

With the weather being off this weekend we were concerend about the hot tub (not being able to use it) but it was a lovely surprise to see that it is under a shelter, which the pictures do not show so again an added bonus. We ate across the road at the Fox & Grapes and the food was gorgeous and so reasonably priced. Also ate at the Glynne Arms, again this was nice more of a bar atmoshphere than village pub and i didnt think the menu was as good as the Foz & Grapes, but still lovely.

would definatley be back and would highly recomend.

The only minor thing was that the grill didnt seem to work when we tried to cook something.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub/bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a couple”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in an ideal location! Very nice village with a couple of pubs/restaurants, we ate at The Fox and Grapes which had a very homely feel and lovely pub food. Also at ate at the Glynne Arms, which was slightly more expensive. Bus stop very close to the cottage (short ride to Chester). The cottage itself was perfect for a couple. The hot tub was brilliant, spent lots of time in there! It was covered so felt very private. The bed was very comfy and the bath was a nice touch. Plenty of room for two people. Kitchen utensils were very basic, so if you were planning on staying in and cooking that might be a little difficult. Other than that it was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanloon
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is comfortable and very clean. the bed is very good, slept well. Hot tub is very private and great after a long walk. would recommend this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing