We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DOUBLE BOOKED and let down”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hawarden B&B and Inns
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DOUBLE BOOKED and let down”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Having booked The Coach House 4 days before I was due to stay on a two day business trip, all was confirmed in writing. At 9.55pm the day before my stay, I had a text saying that they had double booked and that I would have to go elsewhere!!!! Really inconvenient when I had a 5am start the next morning for a full day of travel/meetings. Having to book other accommodation was totally inconvenient.
Why on earth do people do this? It is totally unacceptable and no way to run a business.
Having said all that, The Coach House looks good, just make sure they haven't double booked.
I did stay at Gladstone's Library in the end, £39 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast - fantastic value, basic, but very acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janirog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in this little gorgeous little ''gem'' (words used by previous trippers that i could not resist in reiterating). We stayed in the cottage which is a perfect home from home with the extra luxury of a magnificent roll top bath!! Three lovely bedrooms, living room, kitchen with all mod cons, obviously a great deal of thought has gone into the layout, outstanding. Perfectly clean with some lovely little touches my partner and our three girls fell in love with... we really didn't want to leave. The owner Claire is more than helpful and made us very welcome.. don't worry about a thing, this place is the bees-an-ees as far as we are concerned and there is no doubt we will return. Set in a beautiful village with the Gladstone Library two minutes walk away which is well worth visiting, all five of us were in awe at the history and amazing feeling we got in the stunning building. We ate in two of the pubs in the village The Glynne Arms and The Fox & Grapes, both delicious, all five of us were more than happy. 15 minute drive to Chester Zoo which was a wonderful day. All in all a little treasure of a place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyloo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed at in The Coach House at the beginning of December for Christmas shopping at Cheshire Oaks and to visit friends nearby. I found The Coach House on the net and we really weren't looking for anything other than a bed for the night.
Having travelled over from Leeds we were delayed shopping and arrived nearly 2 hrs later than the check-in time we have specified. There was no problem at all. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and we were throughly showed round the extensive accommodation. We were lucky that we had exclusive use of the communal areas. Essentially there are 3 rooms in the annex with a spiral staircase into the lounge with a separate large kitchen.
Everything is very tastefully & beautifully decorated thoughout. it is also immaculately clean with a well stocked kitchen for a self prepared breakfast. It was very quiet, very comfortable and we almost wished we could have stayed in the cosy lounge on the large leather sofas with Sky TV and cups of tea rather than go out!
I genuninely had no complaints at all. We will definitely be staying here again when we are in the area and we have already recomended The Coach House to our friends we were visiting.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

If your sat reading these reviews wondering weather or not to book it , don't waste any more time, just do it. Wonderful accommodation, wonderful hosts, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesandkayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Lovely accommodation in the heart of the village. Our room was very tastefully furnished but a bit cramped due to the attic celings. One item missing from the room - a mirror. The owner is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocarrollBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

All I want to say is wow! My husband and I have just come back from The Coach House after staying there for a week and we are already missing our 'home'! We were in the area for my husband's work training so while he was working I spent my days relaxing in the house and exploring the nearby area. The Coach House is attached to Claire & John's family home and has 3 double bedrooms, one with an ensuite, a large bathroom with a double shower and a massive claw footed bath tub, a very relaxing lounge with a library and tv with a full sky package and a fully equipped kitchen. It also has an outside dining area and free internet access. Claire provides food in the fridge and cupboards for a continental breakfast and you just help yourself when you're hungry. Breakfast foods/drinks provided are White & Brown Bread, Croissants, Butter & Jam, Yoghurts, Fresh Fruit, Fruit Juice, Milk, Tea, Coffee, Sugar and Biscuits :-) Lovely!! We spent the first couple of nights in the largest room with the ensuite and the last 3 nights in the smallest double room...we had booked the smallest room but as Claire didn't have anyone staying in the biggest room until our 3rd night she kindly let us stay in there. Both rooms were very comfortable and we decided that rather than using the shower in the ensuite we would use the bath as it was so relaxing and big enough for 2! Overall the house is relaxing, very clean, light and airy and the decor is traditional with a modern twist.
The village of Hawarden where the house is has a variety of amenities including a Brasserie, 2 Pubs, a Cafe, an Antique Homeware shop, a Chocolate and Ice Cream shop, a Grocery shop with a Post Office attached and down the road is a Farm Shop with lots of goodies. Hawarden also has a historical library with a cafe and a large country walk with ruins of the old Hawarden Castle. The village is also very close to an outlet centre with a Tesco superstore and shops like Next, BHS, WH Smith, Topshop, Thomas Cook, Asda Homeware and ideal for exploring places like Chester, Liverpool, Llandauno. Would love to come back here with my family and hire out the whole of the Coach House for a week.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmugMarrieds20_04_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The coach house is lovely.Stayed in many B & B's an hotels and this is up there with the best.It has been recently renovated so all the rooms are modern and tastefully decorated.Guests also have use of a small lounge and kitchen, and although we were only there for one night it would be an excellent place to stay for longer to expore north wales.Also its very reasonably priced for what you get.All in loved it and will definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie_ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawarden
2.5 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
2.3 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 28 The Highway, Hawarden CH5 3DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Hawarden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is situated in the heart of the historical village of Hawarden , which is only 7 miles (15 minutes) from Chester City centre. There are three double bedrooms. All are located on the first floor via a spiral staircase. One bedroom has an en-suite shower room whilst the other two share a luxury bathroom with roll top Victorian bath and large power shower. All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and all of them offer colour TV/Freeview, hairdryer. Guests also have use of their own private kitchen area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hawarden, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing