We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE but ......”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hawarden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Immaculate presentation. I think there are four letting rooms, but I think only one has an en suite, the rest share a bathroom, albeit a large nice one. The en suite in one room is so tiny and narrow, it made picking up toiletries from the floor (no shelves) difficult without burning oneself on the towel rail, and getting dressed in there an impossibility! O.K. for the one night we were there, but inconvenient if longer. Single glazed windows, and as this property is on a busy road (although Harwarden itself is very quiet) and therefore rather noisy even through the night - where on earth are all the people going! It is not exactly a bed and breakfast as such - there is a sitting room for sharing with all the guests and a spiral staircase (awkward with heels or if carrying anything) to the rooms above. There is a shared kitchen where you prepare your own food - although the charming owner does supply juice/cereal/eggs/milk for you to cook, and then you clear up your own dishes. Bit uncomfortable if all the rooms are booked and everyone comes down to use the kettle/toaster/cooker!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patriciaberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for The Coach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We booked the whole of the Coach House (self catering) for a girls weekend away and it was perfect.

Beautifully finished and furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly want. The bedrooms are so cosy but stylish at the same time and the bathroom with the roll top bath is just gorgeous.

The owner - Clare - couldn't have been more accommodating. She told us about the great places to go in Hawarden.

The perfect spot to explore Chester, we booked a minibus into town for 8 of us and it was only £24.

Would highly recommend. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Many thanks for your review. So glad you had an enjoyable stay and a catch up with your friends. Hope you visit us again.

Kind regards, Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Having booked The Coach House 4 days before I was due to stay on a two day business trip, all was confirmed in writing. At 9.55pm the day before my stay, I had a text saying that they had double booked and that I would have to go elsewhere!!!! Really inconvenient when I had a 5am start the next morning for a full day of travel/meetings. Having to book other accommodation was totally inconvenient.
Why on earth do people do this? It is totally unacceptable and no way to run a business.
Having said all that, The Coach House looks good, just make sure they haven't double booked.
I did stay at Gladstone's Library in the end, £39 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast - fantastic value, basic, but very acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank janirog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in this little gorgeous little ''gem'' (words used by previous trippers that i could not resist in reiterating). We stayed in the cottage which is a perfect home from home with the extra luxury of a magnificent roll top bath!! Three lovely bedrooms, living room, kitchen with all mod cons, obviously a great deal of thought has gone into the layout, outstanding. Perfectly clean with some lovely little touches my partner and our three girls fell in love with... we really didn't want to leave. The owner Claire is more than helpful and made us very welcome.. don't worry about a thing, this place is the bees-an-ees as far as we are concerned and there is no doubt we will return. Set in a beautiful village with the Gladstone Library two minutes walk away which is well worth visiting, all five of us were in awe at the history and amazing feeling we got in the stunning building. We ate in two of the pubs in the village The Glynne Arms and The Fox & Grapes, both delicious, all five of us were more than happy. 15 minute drive to Chester Zoo which was a wonderful day. All in all a little treasure of a place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzyloo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed at in The Coach House at the beginning of December for Christmas shopping at Cheshire Oaks and to visit friends nearby. I found The Coach House on the net and we really weren't looking for anything other than a bed for the night.
Having travelled over from Leeds we were delayed shopping and arrived nearly 2 hrs later than the check-in time we have specified. There was no problem at all. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and we were throughly showed round the extensive accommodation. We were lucky that we had exclusive use of the communal areas. Essentially there are 3 rooms in the annex with a spiral staircase into the lounge with a separate large kitchen.
Everything is very tastefully & beautifully decorated thoughout. it is also immaculately clean with a well stocked kitchen for a self prepared breakfast. It was very quiet, very comfortable and we almost wished we could have stayed in the cosy lounge on the large leather sofas with Sky TV and cups of tea rather than go out!
I genuninely had no complaints at all. We will definitely be staying here again when we are in the area and we have already recomended The Coach House to our friends we were visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

If your sat reading these reviews wondering weather or not to book it , don't waste any more time, just do it. Wonderful accommodation, wonderful hosts, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesandkayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Lovely accommodation in the heart of the village. Our room was very tastefully furnished but a bit cramped due to the attic celings. One item missing from the room - a mirror. The owner is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mocarrollBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawarden
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.3 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
2.5 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 28 The Highway, Hawarden CH5 3DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Hawarden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawarden
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is situated in the heart of the historical village of Hawarden , which is only 7 miles (15 minutes) from Chester City centre. There are three double bedrooms. All are located on the first floor via a spiral staircase. One bedroom has an en-suite shower room whilst the other two share a luxury bathroom with roll top Victorian bath and large power shower. All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and all of them offer colour TV/Freeview, hairdryer. Guests also have use of their own private kitchen area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hawarden, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing