We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place,shame about the drive!”
Review of High Green Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Green Farm
Ranked #12 of 12 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2012

myself and my mother stayed here for one night,sharing a twin room,there are only two rooms,the other being a double.there was only three negatives so i will get them out of the way first,the drive up to the property is up quite a steep incline and the whole of the drive is covered with gravel,my car got halfway up then got stuck,so i had to reverse back down on to the narrow lane,and park on a verge much further down the wath road then walk with our baggage to the guest house,the other guests in the other room did manage to get up the drive in their vehicle though so might depend on skill or luck.the owners sue and alan are very house proud,not a bad thing!but you are ordered to remove your footwear at the front door and place them on the shoe rack,i can partly understand this as maybe they had guests who trampled mud into the house in the past,but it does feel a little unhomely to take your shoes off.the only other negative were the beds,although fairly comfy mattrasses,they were of metal old fashioned type build with bars at the bottoms,no use at all if you are tall!you might get away with it,if youre six foot tall,but im 6.7!so i didnt sleep a wink all night.The room was immaculate,the ensuite bathroom very good,great shower.theres tea/coffee making tray,and botted water,a few biscuits would be a nice touch!the breakfast was very tasty,quality food,well cooked.we paid £85.00 for the night for both of us,i think this is expensive,i think £60 to £70 would be ample.wouldnt stay here again,most people will no doubt love the place though.i suggest the owners get rid of the unfriendly gravel drive and tarmac it.i have given it a low sleep rating,this is only due to me personnally fitting in the beds thus not sleeping,think mum slept well,as it is so very quiet here.roger july12

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank big_rog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

I have been telling all my friends about the homely welcome, amazing Aga cooked breakfast and incredibly comfortable rooms. We only stayed for one night but I will be back. It is also walking distance to The Sportsman's Arms for dinner without having to worry about driving.

Room Tip: There are two rooms - one double and one twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedFlame6114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

High Green Farm is set in an idyllic location and is run by perfect hosts, who have restored a derelict farmhouse to a dwelling of great beauty and comfort. Faultless!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here last minute having abandoned camping on a very cold June night and were so pleased to have found it. The proprietors have renovated what was a wreck and it is clearly a labour of love. It has country charm whilst maintaining style and avoiding chintz. It is immaculate and there is attention to every detail. Sue and Alan are the lovely, sweet and unassuming owners who manage to run this professionally whilst retaining a real sense of home. It really felt like we were leaving family friends at the end of the stay! We will certainly return for another visit!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

An immaculate, beautiful bed and breakfast with everything you need to hand and with every little touch thought of. Sue and Alan will welcome you immediately to their lovely renovated farm house and give advice on the area. Breakfast is at your time choice - fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea, croissants, cereals, toast, English Breakfast cooked on the Aga. It kept us going all day (we certainly didn't need lunch!). We sat at the table and watched the birds on both sides of the house, and there were lambs in the fields from every view.
The large double bedroom wiith high ceilings and lovely beams was a gem. The bathroom with amazing double shower and elegant bath had everything. There were fresh flowers, Molton Brown toiletries, lovely white fluffy bath robes and towels provided. Tea/coffee/bottled water and biscuits provided in the bedroom and replenished every day.
We couldn't fault a thing! Sue and Alan are obviously very proud of their home, and it shows. There were no hidden dirty corners that you get in some places. It really felt like returning home each night after a day sightseeing the area or walking.
You can walk about 1/2 a mile down the quiet road to the Sportsmans Arm's in Wath - very good food, or easily pop to Pately Bridge for other choices. The views to the resevoir and across the dale over the Nidderdale Way are lovely.
We will definitely be returning. We loved this bed and breakfast, and the Nidderdale area was beautiful. We stayed 3 nights and it really wasn't long enough. We drove up to some of the other dales, and were very glad we'd chosen to stay in Nidderdale. Wath/Pateley Bridge are also in an excellent location for visiting Harrogate, Howe Stean Gorge, Black Sheep Brewery, Theakston Brewery, Brimham Rocks, Fountains Abbey. Loads of lovely walks from the doorstep. We drove up to and walked around the Scar House Resevoir.
We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fuggersfurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pateley Bridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#4 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grassfield Hall
Grassfield Hall
#2 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willow
The Willow
#7 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#8 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
49 reviews
2.6 mi away
East Wayside B&B
East Wayside B&B
#1 of 1 in Greenhow Hill
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Green Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Green Farm

Address: High Green Farm Wath Road, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Hotel Class:5 star — High Green Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
High Green Farm Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing