We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy in the heart of the dales”
Review of Olley's

Olley's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is the best Italian at reasonable prices in the area. The atmosphere is great also!
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Italy in the heart of the dales”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

5.30 On Friday......had to go then to get a booking. Pateley Bridge does the Yorkshire market town thing brilliantly. Great High street....oldest sweet shop in Britain, delightful theatre, splendid church towering over the town, beautiful cricket ground and a wonderful Pateley Bridge community based primary school. Which why escapees from the Southern rat race wonder round Pateley in pink trousers braying "this town is just not real!!!!" much to the bemusement of the locals. Fish 'n chips, cream teas and Yorkshire pudding are the norm. So thank heavens for Olleys! High class food beautifully cooked and graciously served by our Oxbridge educated waitress Lisa........a lovely dining experience all-round. Booking is essential.....unless you really do want pie and peas (You'll have to go somewhere else).I've been several times....price and ambiance both top drawer as well. High class Italian dining in Pateley Bridge...who would have thought it?......And the locals go for it as well. Nobody was wearing pink trousers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 937DennisR937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    56
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't have been more helpful”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were a group of 8 ladies visiting the area who tried to book a table for a Saturday night on the same day. They managed to rearranged the tables to squeeze us in and help arrange taxis.

The food, atmosphere and service were excellent. We had a fabulous evening.

When we had a problem with the taxi, the owner even ran us home, making 2 trips and refusing to take payment. service above & beyond.

Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant food but had to wait a while between courses”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Visited on a Saturday night with some friends and had booked a table. Three out of the party had never been to Olleys before and thoroughly enjoyed it! We were told that all the bread was homemade and you can definitely tell! Will be bringing more friends to enjoy the lovely atmosphere soon! P.s. The waitresses are all so friendly and helpful too!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loubs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“satisfactory”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Olleys is a very good restaurant and I would recommend it if you like Italian food the only reason I won't give it full marks is because the toilets are horrible and it doesn't look like they had cleaned it for a little while. But the food was as good as it could get.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I popped in on the off-chance of an early evening meal on a Wed during half term(there were only 2 tables occupied). We were told the restaurant was fully booked, but after some humming & harring they found us a table at the back of the place - church pew and wooden seat, Hmm, comfy. The place did fill up later. Our waitress was friendly.
Our choice of red wine had run out so we chose another house red.
Starter to share - Olives (7!!!) Feta and sundried tomatoes (mean tiny portion) and bread to start. The slice of white bread was fine but the brown was leaden, soft, moist and stodgy and more like cake - we left it.
Mains - Tomato and Spinach sauce on pasta - overcooked and unpleasant tasting served with a tiny bowl of pre-grated and dry 'Parmesan-type' cheese..
Mrs J said "I didn't think it was possible to ruin pasta so badly." And it was pretty unpleasant. More like a 'First-go-at-cooking-at-Cub-camp-poor!
- King Prawn and Calamari pizza - I should have known better. Awful. The prawns were hard and tasteless and the calamari was like trying to eat a charity wrist band. The whole lot was rounded off with an over-supply of red onion. Ghastly.
We shared a side salad that was of size-zero mega-diet proportions. I left three quarters of my pizza. The waitress couldn't be bothered to ask why we had left so much of the meal.
We drank our plonk and paid the £40+ bill. We couldn't be bothered to wait for our 60p change.
The one plus was the 7 mint imperials - they helped mask and overcome the taste of ghastly & overpriced amateurish food sold in what can only be described as an insult to Italian restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank London2012LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olley's also viewed

Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Olley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing